Boston Store Sales Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Boston Store Sales Associate Reviews

Updated Mar 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Boston Store CEO Kathy Bufano
Kathy Bufano
2 Ratings
  1. "Management okay. Other associates? Not so good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Racine, WI
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Boston Store part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Management is understanding of personal schedules.

      Cons

      Other associates are rude, do not do their jobs, and blame others for their own work.

      Boston Store2018-05-22
    • "Not the best place to work."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Milwaukee, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Boston Store full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Constant work to be done. Always kept busy.

      Cons

      If good at job, constantly moved to other departments. Didn't really keep to availability hours. Always at least one malfunctioning register in each department. Management had poor communication, had multiple managers ask me to perform task, even if in the middle of one.

      Advice to Management

      Keep to employees hours of availability. Try to keep employees hired in one department in specified departments, not have them work all over store.

      Boston Store2019-03-25
    • "Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Madison, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Boston Store full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      the close nit relationship with your fellow associates.

      Cons

      Long hours, rude customers and they change your hours with out notice and at the last minute.

      Advice to Management

      If you are going to make rules and and exclusion you have to support your associates when they enforce them.

      Boston Store2018-10-08
    • "Worst company !"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cosmetics Sales Associate in Brookfield, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Boston Store full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Discounts are nice but not worth it when you dread going to work

      Cons

      WORST COMPANY EVER !! Didn’t give information when stuff was going on. Make changes every other day on schedule and don’t inform you about the changes. By far the worst company I’ve ever worked for

      Advice to Management

      Fix your cosmetics manager- the company is not a safe work environment to be at

      Boston Store2018-01-25
    • "It’s a good job if you like to feel occupied."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Associate in Racine, WI
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Boston Store part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Lots of flexibility and hours, management isn’t as bad as people think, people just need to communicate better and do they’re job.

      Cons

      The management isn’t so bad as people think, the coworkers just like to do the “minimum” amount of work possible.

      Boston Store2017-11-10
    • "Sales Associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Janesville, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Boston Store part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Employee discount, upbeat atmosphere, good managers who are very helpful. A good place for a high school student or someone who didn't need to pay rent, bills etc. Pay is extremely low compared to other retailers.

      Cons

      Pay is horrible, very hard work for the pay, no benefits or paid time off, very strict attendance

      Advice to Management

      Don't schedule people for hours they never agreed to work. If they miss time for this reason you should admit your mistake and not write them up.

      Boston Store2017-10-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Boston store sales associate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 

      I worked at Boston Store part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The discount is great and the co-workers can be amazing.

      Cons

      management was not always consistent with its policies.

      Boston Store2017-01-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Boston Store

      Pros

      pay was decent. hourly plus commission in some departments

      Cons

      too much to do, too little time. not enough employees. management can be unreasonable

      Boston Store2016-08-03
    • "It Was Okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Milwaukee, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Boston Store for less than a year

      Pros

      I worked at the location in Downtown Milwaukee as a flex associate. I had retail experience before and I do my job well so I was given no less than 20 hours a week even though I was supposed to be scheduled 0-19 hours a week. I was happy with this since I was not employed elsewhere. My co-workers were nice. Some tension. The managers were always nice and laidback. Due to personal reasons, I decided to leave. I...

      Show More

      Cons

      The work was regular retail work which I was fine with, peak hours and lots of recovery. But it was not very balanced with workload to associate ratio. I didn't like this part. They need more associates since the sales team also does truck duties, set sales and other duties that support/stock team could do. They just need more employees throughout the store so that sales people can focus on sales and not on a whole...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      More associates. More stock/support team associates. More coverage of departments. NOT one associate at each register.

      Boston Store2016-07-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "Takes time to get use to..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Wauwatosa, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Boston Store part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Workers are diverse between younger and older people. The employee discount, usually lunch is provided, the managers are very friendly most of the time

      Cons

      Hours, scheduling, co-workers, work load

      Advice to Management

      Learn how to multi-task and make a schedule according to everyone availablility

      Boston Store2016-06-10
    Found 23 reviews