Boston University School of Medicine Reviews | Glassdoor

Boston University School of Medicine Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 87 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Boston University School of Medicine CEO Robert A Brown
Robert A Brown
3 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay for internship over the summer(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low salary and very little opportunity to advance(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to get a PhD in Biomedical Sciences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Graduate Student in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boston University School of Medicine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    World's best research for infectious disease especially with the NEIDL PI's always willing to help

    Cons

    Stipend can be tough in Boston, but health care is paid for

    Boston University School of Medicine2019-06-11
  2. "Overall mostly positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 

      I have been working at Boston University School of Medicine full-time

      Pros

      Good solid labs. Great mentor!

      Cons

      It can take a while to get paperwork and request processed at BU.

      Boston University School of Medicine2019-07-02
    • "Overall, a good place for a graduate degree."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - PhD Student 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Boston University School of Medicine full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Small program, can get to know people, PIs very willing to foster meaningful collaborations and help.

      Cons

      There is a lack of resources and latest technology instruments, mouse facility costs run very high, and this has a big impact on the types of experiments one can do.

      Boston University School of Medicine2019-06-09
    • "PhD Student Stipend Salary"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - PhD Student 

        I have been working at Boston University School of Medicine full-time

        Pros

        Very supportive and allows to have good work life balance

        Cons

        Hard work, very busy but very rewarding

        Boston University School of Medicine2019-05-31
      • "Great place to work for biomedical research during gap years"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Laboratory Research Technician in Boston, MA

        I have been working at Boston University School of Medicine full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Strong research institution with a lot fo NIH funding. I work in a laboratory associated with the pulmonary center at BUMC and there are many opportunities for hearing outside speakers from academia or industry.

        Cons

        Salary as a technician in academic research is always low. This is no different.

        Advice to Management

        none

        Boston University School of Medicine2019-05-22
      • "Loved every single thing except my boss"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Clinical Research Coordinator in Boston, MA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Boston University School of Medicine full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        The people are here for the right reasons. Lots of flexibility with my schedule. Amazing patients

        Cons

        Worst boss ever. Multiple formal complaints filed against her and she still works there. Also the pay was low

        Advice to Management

        If someone has horrible reviews from their staff, it doesn't matter if they've been there forever. Three people quit cause my boss was so terrible. She should have been fired

        Boston University School of Medicine2019-05-12
      • "Make sure to have a solid thesis committee"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Graduate Student 
        Recommends

        I worked at Boston University School of Medicine full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Make sure to have a solid thesis committee. Good professional development available.

        Cons

        Be critical in choosing a lab.

        Boston University School of Medicine2019-03-26
      • "Wonderful experience with multiple opportunities for personal growth"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - PhD Graduate Student 

          I worked at Boston University School of Medicine full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          BU put me in the position to succeed, however, it was dependent on the student to seek out collaborations and help if necessary.

          Cons

          To provide better placement for graduate students.

          Boston University School of Medicine2019-03-04
        • "PostDoc research associate"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Boston University School of Medicine full-time

          Pros

          Close to public transport, good research atmosphere

          Cons

          Can get lost in the area

          Boston University School of Medicine2018-11-05
        • "Research Assistant"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I have been working at Boston University School of Medicine

            Pros

            Great researching environment, peoples are reachable and willing to help

            Cons

            It is located in a high-crime rate area while it is safe as a lot of polices are aroung.

            Boston University School of Medicine2018-10-09
          Found 87 reviews