Bottle Rocket Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Bottle Rocket Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Bottle Rocket CEO Calvin Carter (no image)
Calvin Carter
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Unlimited vacation and they are very flexible for vacation requests(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great work environment, cool office vibe, smart people, encouraging colleagues, problem solvers(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "That being said, there is a defined timeline to move into a larger office space(in 5 reviews)

  • "I have only been here a week and it does seem like some people work some long hours(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Quality Assurance Engineer in Addison, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bottle Rocket full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Self-managed vacation Opportunity to WFH Open work spaces Great Morale Open Door Policy LIFT committee which ensures team building and celebrates diversity and health and wellness

    Cons

    Lower salary that some other companies

    Advice to Management

    Provide breakfast for the employees as part of the job :)

    Bottle Rocket2019-06-03
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bottle Rocket full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good engineering team. Lots of learning.

    Cons

    Management need to listen more to tech team

    Bottle Rocket2019-09-09
  3. "Awesome place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Bottle Rocket

    Pros

    Helpful and friendly people Great place to learn Everyone seems pretty knowledgeable in their respective roles

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    Bottle Rocket2019-03-30
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bottle Rocket full-time

    Pros

    Lot of learning, great people

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of

    Bottle Rocket2019-02-16
  5. "Doesn't get better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategy in Addison, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bottle Rocket full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Surrounded by super smart, nice, passionate people -Self managed vacation -Never an issue if need to take care of personal matters randomly -Great brands to work with -Invested and passionate C suite

    Cons

    -Reimbursement system is bad. Probably because it's handled by the parent company? Unclear. But continues to be a pain in the butt

    Advice to Management

    Continue to inspire like you do!

    Bottle Rocket2019-01-16
  6. "I feel good about getting up to go to work in the morning."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer I (Mobile) in Addison, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bottle Rocket full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I feel like I can be myself in this environment. My director is incredibly supportive. It feels that everyone here wants to have a good time but do some serious work (that they actually enjoy.) I really enjoy the people I work with, PMs, QAs, Devs, everyone wants to work together and perform well. I have opportunities to learn and I have opportunities to teach. I have opportunities to meet and get to know... people I otherwise wouldn't have met.

    Show More

    Cons

    As a consulting company - it can be a pain to deal with clients sometimes. But that is to be expected.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Bottle Rocket2018-11-08
  7. Helpful (8)

    "This is not the place I once loved working at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bottle Rocket full-time

    Pros

    -Great place to grow your career -Smart and wonderful coworkers -Schedule flexibility -Unlimited vacation -Fun work events -Focus Fridays

    Cons

    -Unpaid training -Poor raises -No holiday bonus in years -Not everyone in the company gets to enjoy the so-called "culture" benefits -Benefits are ok, but get better every year -Management is not as transparent as they were in previous years -Sketchy layoffs have been happening in secret -Leadership is out to save their own skin -Veteran Rocketeers who have not been laid off are leaving -Morale has fallen... and those who still care are scraping at nothing trying to save it -Respect there used to be for employees is dwindling

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leadership has a habit of only trusting a select group of people's insight while making big decisions. Instead, listen to your loyal employees. They're good sources of truth. Stop stepping on them and start relying on them.

    Bottle Rocket2018-03-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bottle Rocket full-time

    Pros

    Company culture, unlimited vacation if you can cut them into fewer weeks, working on latest technology, best for entry level engineers.

    Cons

    Little stressful as we work on cutting edge technologies. No proper career path definition.

    Bottle Rocket2018-03-06
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Great company for getting started in Dev"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Android Developer in Addison, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bottle Rocket for more than a year

    Pros

    Ability to work on a lot of different things and get a ton of exposure and experience Ton's of training and education to help you grow as a dev Great people who love their jobs Relaxed work environment WFH one day a week Unlimited vacation and they are very flexible for vacation requests

    Cons

    Low pay and benefits compared to the market average They've had a rough past year business wise - but appear to be on the rise again Their focus is shifting to a more Strategy oriented business model, devs taking back seat Not a lot of options for career growth internally as far as promotions and pay raises It's all client work, some clients are terrible - but most are good. Just luck of the draw You work on a... ton of different things, so if owning a project/app is your thing then this may not be your gig

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think the struggle with getting business affected pay, benefits, pay raises, and promotions - but if you want to continue being one of the best places to work in Dallas and get and retain talent then you will need to be more competitive. As I looked around more I found that Bottle Rocket was 30% - 50% below market average for pay / benefits.

    Bottle Rocket2017-11-09
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great start to career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bottle Rocket full-time

    Pros

    Bottle Rocket hires passionate people who don't have a lot of experience, being one of the rare companies to provide an opportunity to build an impressive portfolio with big-name clients. Laid back and casual, the people here are great.

    Cons

    The overall attitude of the company can get a little "self-important" at times, especially with the management. Also, the pay and benefits aren't great, but that's the compromise of getting hired with no experience.

    Bottle Rocket2017-10-25
Found 63 reviews