Bottomline Technologies Reviews

Updated Apr 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Bottomline Technologies President and CEO Rob Eberle (no image)
Rob Eberle
246 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, good benefits, personal development and growth, leader in the industry and office location is great(in 25 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and office location(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance can be difficult sometimes(in 38 reviews)

  • "There are periods of time when people work very long hours which negatively affects work their life balance and well being(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Good company, in a good space, in a trying time"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bottomline Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bottomline has stayed true to its roots - business payments - and that commitment has served its customers and employees well. It also keeps Bottomline well-positioned to weather the current uncertainty. The company has aggressively up-leveled talent for the last two years and the product suite continues to expand, while maintaining its focus.

    Cons

    Too few to focus on right now - it's rapidly growing and evolving and with that come typical growing pains, but for people that want to be a part of an organization quickly headed in the right direction, the headaches are worth it.

    Continue reading
    Bottomline Technologies2020-04-02
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Amazing and Caring Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bottomline Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working with executives that truly care for the team members. With the COVID-19 challenges our CEO considered the safety of the teams and their families first and put WFH into effect immediately! Our Guiding Principles are not just words, everyone lives and breathes them every single day. We believe in our business and we are proud to work in such an amazing culture of giving and caring.

    Cons

    Hard work isn’t for everyone. If you aren’t the type to roll up your sleeves and work hard to make the company the best place possible then Bottomline may not be for you.

    Continue reading
    Bottomline Technologies2020-03-24
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Good Place to learn skills"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bottomline Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    New technology for some projects.

    Cons

    Very complex stack used for main product.

    Bottomline Technologies2020-04-10
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Run away as fast as you can"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Portsmouth, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bottomline Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people as far as staff goes

    Cons

    Part of the herd, they hire and fire them faster than anyone can keep count. Your job isn't what you are told it is going to be. They keep hiring high-pay management positions and firing the low-life workers and expect the remaining low-life workers to carry the extra load. Management are bullies and play favorites. Hard workers who don't kiss up and act fake are always in the line of fire.

    Continue reading
    Bottomline Technologies2020-04-21
  5. Helpful (3)

    "OK"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bottomline Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great worker staff. Everyone was helpful

    Cons

    No many - too few to remember

    Continue reading
    Bottomline Technologies2020-01-17
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Company that is trying"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bottomline Technologies full-time

    Pros

    great people, good benefits, leader in the industry

    Cons

    many employees work remote and it makes it hard to have a cohesive environment

    Continue reading
    Bottomline Technologies2020-01-14
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Strong leadership, amazing culture and opportunity for growth"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bottomline Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've only been at Bottomline for a few months and the experience has exceeded my expectations. Leadership is very supportive and people work 'work with and for each other' to delight the customer. The people are authentic and challenge you to do great work.

    Cons

    This is a great place for individuals who want to make an impact and this means it's a "work hard, play hard" environment with high expectations. It works for me but not for all.

    Continue reading
    Bottomline Technologies2019-11-25
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Exceptional Leadership and Vision"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bottomline Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Location is ideal, always easy to access and incredible atmosphere where everyone is here to work hard. -a Core Value is to work "With and for each-other" this can be seen daily at team standing meetings, 1 v 1 conversations and weekly meetings with our leaders - As I interviewed with the company they showed me not only areas they are successful at like being the best places to work for 5 consecutive years but also that they had areas they wanted to work on. - I am able to work remotely on a schedule and as needed

    Cons

    - If you don't like open concept the office is very talkative and open for constant communication. - dogs are not allowed in the office

    Continue reading
    Bottomline Technologies2019-10-21
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Great technical company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in South Portland, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bottomline Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty much everything. Working at Bottomline has been everything I hoped it would be--from the big things to the small things. - The work is interesting and engaging. - The people are very knowledgable and very talented. - The compensation is fair. - The hours are reasonable. Sure, there may be times when you work extra, but it has never been an expectation that you are required to work X number of extra hours. The motivated people will do it on their own initiative when they aren't sacrificing other life commitments. - Flexible work arrangements (getting your work done and doing it well are most important). - Developer laptops (Macs and PCs) are adequately spec'd. - Executive leadership listens to employees. Numerous HR policies and workplace updates have come directly from employee feedback.

    Cons

    The only real con worth mentioning is the small amount of PTO offered. Other than that, the only cons are if you don't like to work. Yes, the work can be demanding at times, but so can life.

    Continue reading
    Bottomline Technologies2019-10-17
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Great Agile Business"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UI Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bottomline Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is constantly striving to become more Agile every month and the difference is really showing. There are lots of resources available and I've found a happy work/life balance.

    Cons

    There are some legacy and black box magics involved at times that can be a hassle.

    Continue reading
    Bottomline Technologies2019-10-02
Found 352 reviews