KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Bottomline Technologies

Part of Thoma Bravo
Engaged Employer

Bottomline Technologies

Add a Review

Bottomline Technologies Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 520 of over 556 reviews

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Bottomline Technologies CEO Craig Saks
Craig Saks
5 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The team and the people i worked with were great and you get support in your role from your team colleagues.(in 73 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and Employee Stock Purchase Program(in 55 reviews)
  • "Great Culture and Values(in 20 reviews)
  • "Flexible, good managers, focused on getting products to market(in 13 reviews)
  • "•All the senior team leaders are friendly and always ready to help when it's needed(in 13 reviews)
Cons
  • "Too many VP's and not strong enough middle management.(in 28 reviews)
  • "There is no work/life balance unless you are one of the chosen few.(in 24 reviews)
  • "the low salary, and a place of office(in 17 reviews)
  • "Pay is low(in 15 reviews)
  • "Annual layoffs caused stress throughout the organization whether you had a reason to be concerned or not.(in 13 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Bottomline Technologies and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Culture

    May 26, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture Great employee appreciation

    Cons

    None I can think of

    3 people found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to work and great people!

    Jul 1, 2022 - Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People, Tech Stack are great here and motivated folks are encouraged.

    Cons

    As is the case with some other larger organizations; things can be a bit slow to move.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Going somewhere

    Jun 12, 2022 - Administration 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, Pay Equity, Advancement Opportunities, and Recognition Awards Benefits are great!

    Cons

    You must be a male to receive the pros listed!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Character Building

    Apr 20, 2022 - Multiple Roles 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exposure to multiple, industry standard technologies Ability to learn and apply technical skills on the job Learning opportunities in general are abundant Mostly pleasant co-workers and mgmt Good for early career, entry level folks who are trying to upskill

    Cons

    Feels like every position has a wide enough berth it could be 2-3 positions. Work/Life balance is bad, workdays are scheduled for 8hr/day but you're expected to be available and paying attention/replying to emails etc for 10+ hrs daily. Hard to juggle anything outside work M-F. Administrative bloat, too many VPs, Directors, whatever; lots of talking heads. Excess bad documentation, data, etc can be overwhelming; hard to find what you are looking for, or clarity on any particular subject. You are expected to absorb a lot of information all of time and it can be quite disparate information. Pay is low Feels like the only way up is via MGMT roles

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Best Company I've had the opportunity to work for

    Nov 10, 2021 - Account Manager, Vendor Enrollment in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My Hiring Manager about 6 years ago said they were always waiting for the other shoe to drop about Bottomline & I can confirm it never has. As a career sales person the trust I have in my Teammates & Supervisors here is unrivaled and they are truly on your side to help you succeed. Paymode-X Product offers a real value and feels less like making a sale and more about helping some one. Great benefits & time off to help with the work life balance. The company has remained strong since the COVID Pandemic and has only grown since my tenure began. The stability of Bottomline and support from the teams during these times was huge in helping us to continue working and hitting goals without skipping a beat.

    Cons

    Once work from home started we no longer got free ice cream on Fridays during the summer from the ice cream truck. I also really miss the Espresso & Latte Machines in the office... simpler times :)

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    May 24, 2022 - Data Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bottomline has been a great company to work for since day 1. They continue to impress me with leadership at all levels of the organization.

    Cons

    non at this point fortunately

    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to work

    Dec 20, 2021 - Interactive Developer in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture. BT encourages us to have a great life-work balance. I have found that this is true. I never receive push back when I want to take time off. I have never had a teammate that I could not resolve differences with. Great benefits. Even through Covid BT worked hard to get us our bonues. We only missed out on one and that was back when the pandemic first started.

    Cons

    I have worked on two different products and four different teams here and a continuing problem has been scheduling. Client-facing team members make promises to the client regarding features as well as when they will be available without consulting the rest of the team. Then we are expected to meet those targets. It is improving but it will take some time to get everyone on board.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Bottomline

    Jun 3, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly and highly technical peers.

    Cons

    Way too many meeting for my comfort

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great growth potential

    Jun 1, 2022 - Marketing Specialist in Portsmouth, NH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval