Bouchard Transportation Reviews | Glassdoor

Bouchard Transportation Reviews

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
28%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Bouchard Transportation President & CEO Morton S. Bouchard III (no image)
Morton S. Bouchard III
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay, Great fleet and equipment(in 5 reviews)

  • "The pay is very good for Long Island, very little overtime(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 6 reviews)

  • "Toxic environment, outrageous CEO who disrespects and puts down everyone(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Dispatcher in Melville"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispatcher in Melville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bouchard Transportation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Bouchard is a great company to work for. The owner is very nice and honestly always willing to help you in any way. I would recommend working at Bouchard to anyone, as long as you work hard and pay attention to detail, you will be fine.

    Cons

    Very stressful, but that’s why it’s work I guess.

    Bouchard Transportation2019-03-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Will Not Disclose in Melville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bouchard Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Experience wearing lots of hats

    Cons

    You will get gaslighted, berated, and your ethics will be compromised everyday.

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company to another tug company.

    Bouchard Transportation2019-12-04
  3. "Good company if you do your job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bouchard Transportation full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay, equipment and good people

    Cons

    Long hitches, big egos, and people not doing their job

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing

    Bouchard Transportation2019-10-11
  4. Helpful (7)

    "horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Melville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bouchard Transportation full-time

    Pros

    salary was good but benefits do not start for awhile.

    Cons

    everything else. all of the reviews on glassdoor, they are all pretty much what I have seen. You need to sign in and out to go to the bathroom, step away etc

    Bouchard Transportation2019-10-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall it could be worse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Bouchard Transportation full-time

    Pros

    The pay is really good.

    Cons

    The office does not manage well.

    Bouchard Transportation2019-08-29
  6. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marine Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bouchard Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hands on. Able to learn a great deal if you put you mind to it. Enjoyed the work

    Cons

    Your vessel is run entirely on the attitude of your captain. Some suck and the moral is broken down within the crew.

    Advice to Management

    Crew Change was always up in the air and never reliable. Dont make solid plans..

    Bouchard Transportation2019-08-02
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Chaotic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Able Seaman 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bouchard Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and that’s about it

    Cons

    Unpredictable schedule and chaotic office

    Bouchard Transportation2019-07-30
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Just Don't!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Administrator in Melville, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bouchard Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no Pros at all.

    Cons

    You will be traumatized as long as you are working there.

    Bouchard Transportation2019-07-30
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Honestly would rather be jobless"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Marine Engineer in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bouchard Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The one and only "pro" is the pay is decent. But in all reality you have to pay your own travel so sometimes in the end the pay isn't that great. ( AKA stuck with a $1200 launch bill or buying a flight the day of from Corpus Christi to Boston $800) The tax-free stipend for travel can be nice if you work in the northeast and can rent a car to get home, but if you are traveling to Texas its not ideal.

    Cons

    The 6 hour shift on/off should be banned. There is no doubt about it, you are never rested and cannot perform up to your potential. Personally I was never rested and I became complacent numerous times throughout my two years with Bouchard. Extremely toxic environment, there are few people who enjoy their time at Bouchard, its a paycheck. The CEO is accurately portrayed in the negative reviews above, he is extremely unpredictable. I have been on a tug where we were not allowed to go to the dock to get food or water. I have seen countless safety violations and environmental violations, and when I tried to address them they were met with resistance and fear of retribution.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have a multi-million dollar company and you choose to run it like a dictatorship. Pay for the travel, get rid of the stipend and assign people in the office to set-up and manage crew travel. It will solve many issues and you will probably save money. If you're going to give someone the title of Captain or Chief Engineer, trust them to do their job. If they tell you that one of the main engines needs a routine service because it is unsafe, don't fight them and ask them to limp it along for a few more months. Try treating the people who work for you with a little more respect and trust and this company will thrive. It has the potential but the owner is cutting it down right at the knees.

    Show More
    Bouchard Transportation2019-07-18
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Incompetent and unprofessional administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deckhand 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bouchard Transportation full-time

    Pros

    Wages are high by industry standards to make up for the stressful work environment.

    Cons

    No job security. Can be let go without notice or explanation. Reliefs for mates and captains are hard to come by. Boat guys are expendable and treated as such by the office. You have to organize your relief and transportation yourself, so you never know when you'll be going home or going back to work.

    Advice to Management

    Just end it all.

    Bouchard Transportation2019-05-02
Found 69 reviews