Boulder County Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Boulder County Reviews

Updated Dec 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
83%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Boulder County Commissioners Elise Jones, Matt Jones, and Deb Gardner (no image)
Elise Jones, Matt Jones, and Deb Gardner
8 Ratings
  1. "Employment at Boulder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boulder County full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Typical government employment, flexible hours

    Cons

    Poor pay, poor middle management, no upward mobility

    Boulder County2019-12-17
  2. "One impulsive supervisor can spoil a team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Real Estate Appraiser in Boulder, CO

    I worked at Boulder County full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many good team members. Some good managers.

    Cons

    At least one of the supervisors is less than a good leader - inexperienced and impulsive. In some cases training is lacking.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management should get to the root of the problem, instead of relying solely on the recommendation of one impulsive supervisor.

    Boulder County2019-10-30
  3. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boulder County full-time

    Pros

    The people are very nice!

    Cons

    The management is just OK

    Boulder County2019-10-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place Bad evaluation/promotion raise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Caseworker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Boulder County full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible time, accommodating, friendly, innovative, but old school

    Cons

    The merit system is bad. Supervisors rate really good workers high (1-5) scale w5 being the best. Upper management makes supervisors change the score because nobody gets a 5 and a 4 depends on the money that is available and if the managers like you. Good luck because suck ups don't do their job well but for some odd reason get paid more.

    Advice to Management

    See above get a clue!!!! Glad I left because I make what I am able to demonstrate in my job.

    Boulder County2019-08-21
  5. "Great Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boulder County full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Emphasis on work/life balance, wide variety of work and opportunities, competitive salary to private practice, yearly increase based on merit, paid family leave for 6 weeks and great values.

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be a bit bureaucratic, not always recognized for work (publicly or professionally), may have to work with long term employees who have forgotten how easy they have it, not a lot of opportunity to move around within the County (depending on the departments).

    Advice to Management

    Full Paid Family Leave would make transitioning back to work easier.

    Boulder County2019-06-18
  6. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Engineering Technician in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boulder County full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Awesome roads to take care of

    Cons

    Too much work and not enough time

    Advice to Management

    More technicians and less consultants

    Boulder County2019-05-24
  7. "Great purpose, little support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boulder County full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Important and meaningful work focused on the local community. Easy to accumulate vacation hours, flexible work hours, great co-workers who are passionate.

    Cons

    Leadership is not held accountable. High turn-over due to low morale in some departments. Inadequate resources to do what's needed. Lots of red tape to get things done. Run down buildings and work environments.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to staff, address core reasons for turn-over, make it easier to get things done. Create a safe way to give feedback about leadership - and hold them accountable.

    Boulder County2019-05-18
  8. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planner II in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boulder County full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of my coworkers are smart and take pride in their work There is room to innovate if you have a boss that is receptive to it Flexible work hours

    Cons

    Some people are just there for a paycheck and it shows in their work

    Advice to Management

    be open and transparent in your decision making

    Boulder County2019-05-15
  9. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Caseworker in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boulder County full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, beautiful setting in Boulder

    Cons

    Funding, cuts, not enough remote options

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring mature, engaged people who care.

    Boulder County2019-04-05
  10. "Dumpster fire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boulder County full-time

    Pros

    There are some good people who work in the county and try their best. I was always impressed with the elected officials positive attitude and there are many examples of them trying to make sure the people get a chance to speak. The bring your dog to work policy. The bring your baby to work police. The mentoring programs available. There is a lot to be supportive of with Boulder County overall.

    Cons

    If you Google why good people leave, Finance checks every box and Admin Services is not far behind. The turnover of staff who are not management is near 90% within the past 18 mo. HR is aware but their policy of blindly supporting management only ensures more turnover.

    Advice to Management

    nothing, they don't listen or communicate with others anyway, including other managers.

    Boulder County2019-02-27
Found 57 reviews