Boulder County Reviews | Glassdoor

Boulder County Reviews

Updated Dec 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
83%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Boulder County Commissioners Elise Jones, Matt Jones, and Deb Gardner (no image)
Elise Jones, Matt Jones, and Deb Gardner
8 Ratings
  1. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Income Maintenance Caseworker in Boulder, CO
    Recommends

    I worked at Boulder County full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall, I enjoyed my experience as a eligibility technician in Boulder County. Great work environment, causal office setting, great benefits and higher pay than some counties.

    Cons

    Training was fairly non existent, however, I came in with previous experience and their training program was just getting up and running.

    Boulder County2018-09-20

    Boulder County Response

    September 27, 2018Human Resources Technician

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are happy you enjoyed your time working for the county.

    Continue reading
  2. "Human Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boulder County full-time

    Pros

    Innovative, constituent and client-oriented environment

    Cons

    Too far to continue to commute

    Boulder County2018-08-22

    Boulder County Response

    September 27, 2018Human Resources Technician

    Thanks for writing a review! We are proud of the client-oriented environment we have built for residents of Boulder County.

    Continue reading
  3. "Wonderful place to work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boulder County full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exceptionally friendly work environment, supports a healthy work/life balance, supportive of families, supportive of self-efficacy in the work place ... you feel like you matter as a person, as a professional, and as an employee! Also, excellent benefits and professional development is highly encouraged and supported.

    Cons

    The pay could be higher but - it is government and overall, the pay is not bad.

    Boulder County2018-06-20

    Boulder County Response

    June 25, 2018Human Resources Technician

    Hello, and thank you for your review! We do strive to create a work environment that is conducive of learning and professional development, while also being family-friendly. I'm glad that your experience has been positive!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Best Place I've Ever Worked!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boulder County full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They take great care of their employees here. I've never worked for a place that treats the staff so well. There is little to no drama. Management talks to you like an equal instead of someone beneath them. Even the County Commissioners will stop in the hallway and say hello. It's refreshing to work in a place that actually walk's the talk. Respect is demonstrated each and every day with management and staff alike. I've never been happier in a work environment in my entire life, and working for Boulder County has been a truly rewarding experience. They actually promote from within and invest in the career growth and development of each individual within the organization.

    Cons

    The only con is they don't pay the staff a livable wage for the area. Myself and most of my coworkers live in area's south of Denver and commute up. I did the math and figured out that as an employee starting out in 2017 at an entry level position I earn 35% less than an employee starting out in 1985 did in the same position when inflation is factored in. With the cost of living increasing so drastically, wages need to be increased dramatically if Boulder County intends on recruiting competitively in the current job market. A 2% cost of living raise doesn't go very far when the cost of living goes up 30%. If Boulder County increased their employee pay at the same rate of inflation within the housing market, they'd attract A LOT more quality employees. Benefits are GREAT, but pay is way too low.

    Continue reading
    Boulder County2018-06-20

    Boulder County Response

    July 3, 2018Human Resources Technician

    Thank you for your review! We are proud of our drama-free workplace, and while the cost of living has increased in the Denver Metropolitan Area over the past few years, we are proud that we offer great benefits and competitive salary.

    Continue reading
  5. "Hard work but worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Boulder County full-time

    Pros

    Local food passion is palpable in everything they do. Great coworkers, community oriented

    Cons

    Working in all weather conditions, long days

    Boulder County2018-06-13

    Boulder County Response

    July 3, 2018Human Resources Technician

    Hello, and thank you for your review!

    Continue reading
  6. "Boulder County is hard to beat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant County Attorney in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boulder County full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent local government to work for. Progressive, well-resourced, top notch staff.

    Cons

    Expensive place to work and raise a family.

    Boulder County2018-03-10

    Boulder County Response

    July 3, 2018Human Resources Technician

    Thank you for your review, and your eight years of service to Boulder County residents!

    Continue reading
  7. "Laid back and fun work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boulder County full-time

    Pros

    Low stress. Often able to work outside in beautiful places

    Cons

    Set hours, non-flexible work schedule

    Boulder County2017-12-27

    Boulder County Response

    January 2, 2018Human Resources Technician

    Thank you for providing feedback on your experience! We're glad you found Boulder County to be a low stress work environment that allowed you to work outside.

    Continue reading
  8. "3 Months in and still happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Operations Technician in Longmont, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boulder County full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I started with Boulder County in September and found that all my fellow employees and teammates are very helpful and positive people. I find that I am looking forward to a long career with Boulder County.

    Cons

    I have yet to find a con.

    Boulder County2017-12-26

    Boulder County Response

    January 2, 2018Human Resources Technician

    Thank you for taking the time to review Boulder County! We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you're enjoying your experience here.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great values!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boulder County full-time

    Pros

    Cares about its employees and the community It has great values Family-friendly environment We do important work

    Cons

    If we had a county manager, we'd be much more efficient.

    Continue reading
    Boulder County2017-12-22

    Boulder County Response

    January 2, 2018Human Resources Technician

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! Boulder County prides itself on being a family-friendly work environment with a dedication to being the best in public service.

    Continue reading
  10. "Trans. Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boulder, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boulder County full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Ethic, committed employees, like a family run business.

    Cons

    Not many cons...expensive place to live.

    Boulder County2017-12-22

    Boulder County Response

    January 2, 2018Human Resources Technician

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on working for Boulder County. We are glad to hear you're enjoying your experience here!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 57 reviews