Bowers & Wilkins Reviews | Glassdoor

Bowers & Wilkins Reviews

Updated 10 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Bowers & Wilkins CEO Gregory Lee
Gregory Lee
3 Ratings
  1. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Bowers & Wilkins full-time

      Pros

      Good for you career start

      Cons

      Bad for your career end

      Bowers & Wilkins2019-01-04
    • "Interesting work, brilliant engineers"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Menlo Park, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Always challenging work to be done - Room for growth if you're a self starter - Ability to drive products from start to finish

      Cons

      - Management can be opaque - Compensation not valley best - Won't always get the best fruits for your labor

      Advice to Management

      Recognize those who matter to the company and those who care about the company

      Bowers & Wilkins2019-05-06
    • Helpful (4)

      "Lots of potential, but poor management and bad hiring has crushed progress"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time

      Pros

      - Unlimited pto - Free lunch - Nice office - Test out new audio products.

      Cons

      - Tons of micro-management - Small talent pool for hiring = many incompetent employees - Team vs team or individual vs individual attitude. Lacks a unified vision.

      Advice to Management

      - C-Suite is invisible. No management or vision from that front. - Middle management plays favorites, which often clouds the decision-making process. - No transparency.

      Bowers & Wilkins2019-01-27
    • Helpful (5)

      "Bad management. No leadership. Lost their way."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Bowers & Wilkins full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Had great potential to make game-changing products. Nice office. Free lunch + snacks / drinks. Unlimited PTO.

      Cons

      Lack of leadership. Just titles. Most in leadership have never held such high-level roles before resulting in lack of direction and strategy. Too many inexperienced and incompetent employees causing inefficiency. 2 to 3 B to C players hired to fill the role of one A player. Products lack vision. Company is no longer willing to take risks. More expensive ’me too’ products. No one will want to buy products that are twice...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Let go of the dead weight who aren’t leading, especially many at the top. Stop micro-managing and empower your people. Re-develop a clear vision, strategy, and roadmap that isn’t just safe.

      Bowers & Wilkins2019-01-18
    • "The AV Club"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Designer in Redwood City, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      - Great products, great people, great mission. - It's so much fun to work on software AND hardware. - Every day I'm working towards creating amazing listening experiences for customers who love music as much as I do. We don't steal their data, we don't turn them into narcissistic lunatics. We just try to keep it real.

      Cons

      Growing pains, like at any medium-sized company.

      Bowers & Wilkins2018-11-05
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        - Great culture, everyone is awesome to work with. - Wonderful perks including company paid health benefits, unlimited PTO, free lunch, lots of free snacks and drinks, gym reimbursement etc). - Good work-life balance

        Cons

        - No 401k match

        Bowers & Wilkins2018-10-30
      • "Awesome"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time

        Pros

        Cutting Edge. Brilliant People, amazing products

        Cons

        I do not have any cons

        Bowers & Wilkins2018-09-11
      • Helpful (2)

        "SERVICE TECHNICIAN"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time

        Pros

        Great company to work for, everyone is very friendly. The employees always attempts to make each other feel comfortable and welcome. The management is really good and they try not to apply pressure to make you feel tense. Once your day job is over, everything work related usually just stays at the job. You don't bring any of the work home.

        Cons

        May need a few more employees to get extra work done. Can provide extra time to work on things that may smooth out the work process.

        Advice to Management

        None.

        Bowers & Wilkins2018-08-28
      • "Great place to work!!!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time

        Pros

        Benefits, people, flexibility, growth potential

        Cons

        Commute from my house is long but worth it.

        Bowers & Wilkins2018-08-28
      • "New employee - first impressions"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - HW QA Engineer in Redwood City, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great team of people, fabulous support from the HR team, great work environment.

        Cons

        Use of personal credit cards for supplies and for traveling.

        Advice to Management

        Although most people enjoy getting points or other travel perk using personal credit cards for supplies under $1000 and hotels / meals. It would be better to have a company card for these expenses.

        Bowers & Wilkins2018-08-28
      Found 20 reviews