Bowers & Wilkins Reviews | Glassdoor

Bowers & Wilkins Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Bowers & Wilkins CEO Gregory Lee
Gregory Lee
3 Ratings
  1. "A dying audiophile company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Expert in audiophile technology, i.e., acoustic material science. Well recognised global audiophile brand from UK. Produced two of the top 25 all-time audiophile loudspeakers.

    Cons

    In 2016, B&W was acquired by a US tech-fund who is a total stranger to the audio industry, not to mention audiophile. Totally lost direction is inevitable. The whole company is in intensive care unit but may not be so to newly joined staffs.

    Advice to Management

    For the sake of all employee, sell the company ASAP.

    Bowers & Wilkins2019-06-11
  2. "Interesting work, brilliant engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Always challenging work to be done - Room for growth if you're a self starter - Ability to drive products from start to finish

    Cons

    - Management can be opaque - Compensation not valley best - Won't always get the best fruits for your labor

    Advice to Management

    Recognize those who matter to the company and those who care about the company

    Bowers & Wilkins2019-05-06
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Lots of potential, but poor management and bad hiring has crushed progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time

    Pros

    - Unlimited pto - Free lunch - Nice office - Test out new audio products.

    Cons

    - Tons of micro-management - Small talent pool for hiring = many incompetent employees - Team vs team or individual vs individual attitude. Lacks a unified vision.

    Advice to Management

    - C-Suite is invisible. No management or vision from that front. - Middle management plays favorites, which often clouds the decision-making process. - No transparency.

    Bowers & Wilkins2019-01-27
  4. "Amazing Experience, learnt loads about Speaker Technology."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Media Support in Worthing, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bowers & Wilkins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Hours, weekends off, great discount.

    Cons

    Not much room for progression.

    Advice to Management

    Create a feedback culture and learn from each other

    Bowers & Wilkins2019-01-25
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Bad management. No leadership. Lost their way."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bowers & Wilkins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Had great potential to make game-changing products. Nice office. Free lunch + snacks / drinks. Unlimited PTO.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership. Just titles. Most in leadership have never held such high-level roles before resulting in lack of direction and strategy. Too many inexperienced and incompetent employees causing inefficiency. 2 to 3 B to C players hired to fill the role of one A player. Products lack vision. Company is no longer willing to take risks. More expensive ’me too’ products. No one will want to buy products that are twice...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let go of the dead weight who aren’t leading, especially many at the top. Stop micro-managing and empower your people. Re-develop a clear vision, strategy, and roadmap that isn’t just safe.

    Bowers & Wilkins2019-01-18
  6. "Great Product, Great people, Great external perception."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time

    Pros

    What B&W make is superb. Best of breed. People with it know they have bought a reassuringly expensive product.

    Cons

    Modernization is needed, at a busy time as the next beautiful thing is about to be launched.

    Advice to Management

    Allow people the time , resource and control to make the necessary changes. This would only make a good thing even better.

    Bowers & Wilkins2019-01-17
  7. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bowers & Wilkins full-time

    Pros

    Good for you career start

    Cons

    Bad for your career end

    Bowers & Wilkins2019-01-04
  8. "The AV Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great products, great people, great mission. - It's so much fun to work on software AND hardware. - Every day I'm working towards creating amazing listening experiences for customers who love music as much as I do. We don't steal their data, we don't turn them into narcissistic lunatics. We just try to keep it real.

    Cons

    Growing pains, like at any medium-sized company.

    Bowers & Wilkins2018-11-05
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great culture, everyone is awesome to work with. - Wonderful perks including company paid health benefits, unlimited PTO, free lunch, lots of free snacks and drinks, gym reimbursement etc). - Good work-life balance

    Cons

    - No 401k match

    Bowers & Wilkins2018-10-30
  10. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bowers & Wilkins full-time

    Pros

    Cutting Edge. Brilliant People, amazing products

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Bowers & Wilkins2018-09-11
Found 20 reviews