Bowery Residents Committee Reviews | Glassdoor

Bowery Residents Committee Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Muzzy Rosenblatt
22 Ratings
  1. "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Case Manager 

    I have been working at Bowery Residents Committee full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is an excellent benefit package

    Cons

    Management is very bias.

    Bowery Residents Committee2019-07-05
  2. "Wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Aide 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bowery Residents Committee full-time

    Pros

    There are no pros when it comes to this company

    Cons

    no room for growth harassment from supervisors and staff

    Bowery Residents Committee2019-04-30
  3. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Bowery Residents Committee full-time

    Pros

    learn to work in a faced-paced environment with unique population, self directed work, work closely with doctor

    Cons

    new management is not open to ideas, throw work that should be done by others on the nurses, no team meetings or team morale, management does not pay attention to what nurses believe will improve outcome for the patients, management rarely interacts with patients yet acts like what they are doing is best, management will talk behind your back, throw you under the bus and take NO responsibility for their actions

    Bowery Residents Committee2019-04-09
  4. "Great Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Direct Practice 

    I worked at Bowery Residents Committee part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helpful and wonderful staff! Interesting work!

    Cons

    None that I can think of at this time.

    Bowery Residents Committee2019-02-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Working in admin was a delight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant to the Chief Executive Officer & President 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bowery Residents Committee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Spectacular benefits and managers/HR employees that are willing to work with you when situations arise -Structured hours, the ability to leave work at work -Compassionate, hardworking, and caring employees -Working for a good cause -Hardworking and wonderful colleagues, always willing to lend a hand -Chance to learn about different facets of a nonprofit -CEO and other members of the leadership team are incredibly...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Not many opportunities for continuing ed. or growth -Can be stressful to meet changing expectations

    Advice to Management

    While I was in a position where I could see the effects of my work firsthand, consider morale boosting efforts for members of admin/HR/finance staff, or opportunities to visit programs firsthand so they can see the great work they help achieve.

    Bowery Residents Committee2018-12-07
  6. "Front Desk Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bowery Residents Committee part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to help people.

    Cons

    Probably the most corrupt place you can find yourself in. HR won't hesitate to fire people in GROUPS who complain against upper management. And if you're a resident good luck dealing with the constant violence and drug use. If you're assaulted outside the residence don't expect this place to cooperate with the police. Upper management trains their staff to not answer or even assist police in their investigation if one...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do your job and protect people who reach out to you for help out to you. Don't build a case against them.

    Bowery Residents Committee2018-12-28
  7. "50/50"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Technician in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bowery Residents Committee full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits Great Pay Nice Facilities Excellent Human Resources

    Cons

    Working with the bottom of the barrel clients. Who has a severe mental illnesses. I only departed because I no longer found it fulfilling working with the population . It was mentally draining

    Advice to Management

    nothing at all keep up the great work

    Bowery Residents Committee2018-10-04
  8. "Program Aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bowery Residents Committee for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job and decent money

    Cons

    Management sucks overall. The company is very bias and very misleading.

    Bowery Residents Committee2018-07-26
  9. "Human Resources Department is a Joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bowery Residents Committee full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Giving back to society.Helping people in need of shelter and financial assistance.

    Cons

    Toxic environment hiring management is unprofessional and petty

    Advice to Management

    Try hiring people based on work history

    Bowery Residents Committee2018-08-10
  10. "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager 

    I have been working at Bowery Residents Committee full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for growth from within. Perceptive, insight, Skills and knowledge gained from working with the community.

    Cons

    Unfair employment promotion practices due to union issues that discourages qualified and well deserving candidates

    Bowery Residents Committee2018-02-05
Found 45 reviews