Box "401k match" Reviews | Glassdoor

Box Reviews

Updated Mar 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
65%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Box Co-founder & CEO Aaron Levie
Aaron Levie
370 Ratings
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Pretty great but a lot of room to improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time

    Pros

    -The people hands down. I have really enjoyed being here and have a learned a lot from some really kind, smart and humble people. -The perks are always nice, especially lunch as the kitchen staff is amazing. -There's some transparency but I've noticed it start to slip away a lot more as Box has grown. -A lot of opportunity for side projects and cross functionality, but mainly driven by you. - I think a lot of work life balance depends on the team you're on but there doesn't seem to be a lot of people pulling crazy hours a lot.

    Cons

    -There are a lot of people who have been at Box for a while and have become managers because of tenure, not experience, which makes for a lot of disjointed management as people are "Figuring it out" and given a lot of faith to do well without help even though they're newer managers. -Top heavy company, not a lot of roles for younger people to start out in. -A lot of experienced managers leaving lately. -People team is a mess even with a new CPO, she doesn't seem to care to spend time with her teams that need direction and her focus seems mainly on exec. - Also, 401K match ya'll, get with it!

    Continue reading
    Box2018-10-26
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, amazing coworkers, good benefits and a close-knit community. Everyone is very helpful and team focused. A great environment to work in!

    Cons

    The company doesn’t seem to be able to manage compensation and benefits in an organized or professional manner. There is also no 401k match.

    Continue reading
    Box2018-04-14
  3. Helpful (3)

    "So far so good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the culture here compared to previous tech companies I've worked at. The CEO is a good guy. Love his energy and passion. The perks are really great, as mentioned in all the reviews. Sweet deal if you're pregnant. Maternity leave is almost 5 months off full pay and 12 weeks for new dads. Smart hard working people. Great work life balance, depending on your team. Compensation is similar to most good tech companies in Silicon Valley. Also depends on your position. If you are a manager, most likely you will be making six figures. Love the new froyo machine! Please do not take your away. :)

    Cons

    Yearly compensation raise is confusing now. I was told pay changes happen 1st of April every year, but this year it has changed. Also it's not up to HR, but your team and when they get around to it. This is not a good idea. There should be a set deadline across the company. There should also be be more talk of promotion considerations after 2 years at the company. I'm looking to move up the ladder and I think I'm being held back bc of budget cuts on my team. :( 401k matching would be nice too, but I heard it's in the works.

    Continue reading
    Box2018-04-01

    Box Response

    April 9, 2018Chief People Officer

    Hi there - glad you're enjoying the new froyo machine as much as I am! We're also really proud of our parental leave policies - giving families time to connect is really important! I was concerned to see your comment about the annual compensation review - we DO have an annual process with increases effective February 1st for sales and April 1st for non-sales Boxers. It's a company-wide process with an aligned timeline and active manager involvement. We also have a semi-annual promotion process to evaluate Boxers ready for progression. I'd encourage you to reach out to your manager or People Partner if you have any questions. Thanks - Christy

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work.!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Box full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Transparent execs Good work Tons to learn here Amazing peeps all around u Good location Free food Unlimited time off

    Cons

    Not significant in terms of culture No 401k matching U will gain weight with all the food Health care is not 100% covered

    Continue reading
    Box2018-03-20
  5. "Generally Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Box for less than a year

    Pros

    +free food +good team environment +awesome culture

    Cons

    -no 401k match -code push process

    Box2018-02-26
  6. "Cant picture myself anywhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time

    Pros

    A culture that encourages you to take risks and acknowledges that failures are a part of growth. The most amazing and supportive people to work with. Also, the opportunities are endless!

    Cons

    No 401K matching but awesome ESPP plan

    Box2018-02-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Be an owner mentality, at the center of lots of what's happening in enterprise and 'work'. Inspirational and execution focused leadership team. Great culture.

    Cons

    Still some gaps in resourcing as we chase big hairy goals which means there is risk of burn out. No 401k matching.

    Box2018-01-26
  8. "Smart People, Well Managed, Supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Reliability Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is supportive and cares about personal goals and development. Smart teams that look for ways to help each other out and help each other learn. Right mix of time to get stuff done vs. spending time in meetings. Great pay, benefits, and perks. The food, kitchens on every floor, and in-house cafe with barista are great. Very happy with the company culture, you're able to be as engaged as you want to be outside of work responsibilities, and not feel pressured to if it's not your thing. Really couldn't be happier & enjoy coming into work every day. This is a company I feel like I can grow with.

    Cons

    401k matching would be nice.

    Box2017-12-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company values your work and good compensation

    Cons

    There is no 401k match

    Box2017-05-19
  10. "Amazing work environment - even better product!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The biggest pro is the work culture and the people you get to work with - everyone is brilliant and open to new ideas/innovation. The product itself is constantly innovating with the ever-changing tech environment. The benefits and perks are top notch.

    Cons

    No 401k match at this point in time since Box is still a young and growing company.

    Continue reading
    Box2017-04-26
Found 23 reviews
</>Embed