Box "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor

Box Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Box Co-founder & CEO Aaron Levie
Aaron Levie
358 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, great learning opportunity(in 41 reviews)

  • "Free food *if* you work in Redwood city(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is no 401k match and honestly Box can do better with making an initiative to do that(in 22 reviews)

  • "(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great low stress environment, disorganization in some (not all) orgs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box

    Pros

    - great work/life balance - free food, flexible hours - unlimited vacation (can be pro or con depending on your manager) - solid vision, company will grow - friendly people, great culture - very competitive pay - least stressful job I've read

    Cons

    - company is becoming more corporatey - no 401k matching - different organizations vary greatly. Some are run super well, have no politics, GSD. Others are super disorganized. - bar for hiring engineers has been dropping. - sales and product have a lot of politics, engineering it varies but much less so - lots of tech debt, will take years to overcome at current rate

    Box2019-02-27
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Don't believe the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food *if* you work in Redwood city

    Cons

    The company values are aspirational. Once you peel back the layers the company reveals itself as a passive aggressive organization. Rumors and conjecture rule where fact are irrelevant. I needed to take the company to court to get reimbursed for T&E. Box is so anti-Microsoft there appears to be no future for their product line outside of those that don't use OneDrive or Teams. The product doesn't hold up and will not result in company longevity.

    Box2019-08-21
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Great people, poor leadership and management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Box

    Pros

    - Box truly hires some of the best and brightest people, hands down. - Perks are great: free food and snacks, mobile and gym reimbursements, wellness program, maternity leave, in office activities, fun office deco, electric car charging stations - Flexible work environment for some teams

    Cons

    - Typical Silicon Valley startup that went public and has its fair share of growing pains. When I started, 4 years ago, there was a lot more flexibility in terms of development and growth, and the work was more challenging and open to collaboration and innovation. That culture has slowly died given new management and just the pressures of Wall Street, which is understandable. However, upper management has seemed to let a few folks at the top make most of the decisions and they don’t always lead to ones that make employees feels as though we’re doing what we’re preaching. - The company gets caught up in its own politics and puts red tape where there shouldn’t be. If we want to remain innovative, forward thinking, and empower our employees, we must make it easier for them to do their best work. - Allow employees to actually do their best work. - politics and favoritism is real. If you know who has the “power,” depending on department and teams, if you align yourself correctly, you can get promoted really quickly and without having all the relevant experience. As the company grows, this is the worst thing you can do for the future and longevity of the company. Too many senior leadership with the same, boring ideas and experience is bad for a company, but having a bunch of folks who have no experience in their roles and are given management titles, does not instill confidence nor good morale in those that work for them. - Pay is obviously not the greatest for those who have been around for awhile. You will most likely be underpaid in a year compared to the market. Those who are new, coming in with the same title or even less, will start at a pay that surpasses yours. Make sure to negotiate a salary you’re comfortable with at the start, cause you won’t be making much more than that throughout your tenure, unless you get a title change and true promotion. But even then, you’ll be underpaid.

    Continue reading
    Box2019-06-20
  4. Helpful (16)

    "Box is FULL OF ITSELF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Box

    Pros

    The product works as advertised. Free food. Free t-shirts. Good employee stock purchase plan. Great HQ facility to take clients.

    Cons

    For new employees, managers are pushed to hire from a list of “elite” colleges. The CEO didn’t graduate from college. Is this not a double standard? The best candidate for the job is not always hired. Diversity is pushed beyond belief and then used in marketing, both internally and externally. Box is not a company where the majority of employees stay and have a true career. No true leadership in sales. Backstabbing is encouraged and tolerated.

    Continue reading
    Box2018-05-11

    Box Response

    May 14, 2018Chief Operating Officer

    It sounds like you have some useful feedback I'd like to hear more about - if you'd be willing to connect, please reach out to me directly. Thank you. - Stephanie Carullo, COO

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work.!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Box full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Transparent execs Good work Tons to learn here Amazing peeps all around u Good location Free food Unlimited time off

    Cons

    Not significant in terms of culture No 401k matching U will gain weight with all the food Health care is not 100% covered

    Continue reading
    Box2018-03-20
  6. "Generally Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Box for less than a year

    Pros

    +free food +good team environment +awesome culture

    Cons

    -no 401k match -code push process

    Box2018-02-26
  7. "Best Work Culture & People Ever !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked in more than 6 companies and Box is the best place to work for mainly for it's culture and people you work with. Since the company size is not that big , you get a lot of visibility on the work you do. It's far easy here to initiate ,test and productionalize any of your valuable ideas. FREE FOOD !!! and Lot of other Benefits. Box as a company is the leader in the market in CCM area and expected to grow more without a question. The whole company is data driven ! BEST CEO EVER !

    Cons

    If you are working on Data side,Infrastructure is OK but not the Best, still to improve on that.

    Box2018-01-22
  8. Helpful (5)

    "I'm happy, paid well, and have everything I need to succeed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Box is a "Goldilocks" company. Not too big, not too small... Just right. It's leadership and organization is nimble enough to move fast, make quick changes and always position itself ahead of the competition: Google, Microsoft, Amazon and Dropbox. It also has the perks of a larger tech company: stability, high salaries, free food and snacks, gym and cell phone reimbursement, as well as endless trainings and professional development opportunities. Plus: the culture is unique, one of a kind. Boxers are extremely extroverted and quirky. You have full permission to be your authentic self here.

    Cons

    I'm in sales. I feel that marketing isn't where it should be. We have very few inbound leads. This requires me to run full sales cycls. The competition is fierce. This is an increasingly commoditized space. However, I believe in Aaron.

    Continue reading
    Box2017-06-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great perks, below average pay, confused direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Box full-time

    Pros

    Perks are awesome, free food is wonderful, there is always a quiet place to work in the office, and the location right next to caltrain is amazing. Aaron is a visionary leader who is fully committed to every piece of the company, and his drive and character are inspiring to everyone here.

    Cons

    No 401k matching (which is time limiting, especially during early career when contributions or lack thereof compound the most) Pay is below average, there are no bonuses, no refresher grants for stock Not a whole lot of room for growth, unless you're in sales/marketing (which makes up most of the company) or in a rotational program Sometimes feels like we're trying to do too many things at once, and not quite succeeding at any of them by not committing.

    Continue reading
    Box2017-01-11
  10. Helpful (15)

    "Box is a cozy poppy field. (But slumber at your own peril.)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Box for more than a year

    Pros

    Posh new office space, free food and snacks. Good industry buzz about the product, overall.

    Cons

    I've seen this happen to good companies before. As the size of the company grows, C-level players get busy and management begins to slip. At Box, this is a very serious problem. After nothing was done in the face of a mass exodus of disgruntled or unfulfilled talent, the powers that be opted, instead, to bring in sub-par, seemingly unvetted management who in turn, opted to lean on cronyism by bringing in their friends from their past employ. (I didn't see many "good fits" being brought in, as much as "old friends".) During my time there, I witnessed a complete fumbling of a potentially epic brand. While they claim to support and promote from within, this was rarely the case, as I saw it. It seems many Boxers struggle with the pros and cons, yearning for a better work life. But as with Dorothy on her way to Oz, it's easy to settle instead to doze their days away in the poppy field that is Box.

    Continue reading
    Box2016-06-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 33 reviews
</>Embed