Boyd Gaming Reviews | Glassdoor

Boyd Gaming Reviews

Updated April 18, 2018
269 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
115 Ratings

269 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Boyd while not an industry leader in compensation has the best work-life balance of any gaming company in Las Vegas (in 7 reviews)

  • Hourly team members were good people (in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • upper management was not very knowledgable (in 10 reviews)

  • Also, I wish I was a full time employee versus on call (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Loved their fast hiring process!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Going to start work soon as a full time employee - Quite impressed with their fast hiring process. Right from interview to hire everything was fast & efficient. Awesome HR!!!

    Cons

    None at all so far.

    Advice to Management

    So far I liked everything. Thank you!!

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Oct 18, 2017 – HR Specialist

    Thank you for applying at Boyd Gaming. We are happy the recruiting process worked well for you. Welcome to the Boyd Gaming Team!


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Current Corporate Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Analyst in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Working with great, passionate, innovative people.

    Cons

    Payment is low and not necessarily competitive

    Advice to Management

    Don't restrict compensation for internal transfers or talented employees will leave.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Apr 14, 2018 – Human Resources Team Member

    Hello,

    Thank you for your review. Sounds like you received a new role or promotion since you mentioned the internal transfer process. If so, congratulations! It is wonderful to hear that you have... More

  3. "Temp cardroom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - On Call Dealer in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - On Call Dealer in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I just get hired as a temp position. There is room for advancement

    Cons

    Dont know about the company just yet

    Advice to Management

    Still learning about the company


  4. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company culture with friendly people. I was given the tools to and training to master the position.

    Cons

    I do feel the salary was below market for my area.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Apr 14, 2018 – Human Resources Team Member

    Hello!

    Thank you for providing a review on Glassdoor about Boyd Gaming. We are constantly reviewing our wage programs to ensure that we remain competitive within the markets that we serve... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Does not live up to the reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Some of the people who work here are really great. They mean well, have lots of positive energy, and are team players.

    Cons

    It's amazing how 1-2 toxic people at very high levels in a company can spread so much poison through their mean-spirited and manipulative behavior. I was recently asked if I would be interested in returning and you know, the thought had never once crossed my mind. If Sam Boyd knew how these folks behave, it would probably be enough to make him turn over in his grave.

    Advice to Management

    Stop behaving like children with all of the backbiting, name-calling, finger-pointing, and other counter-productive behaviors. The game playing should be left to the customers.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Food and Beverage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food and B in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Food and B in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    For the past 3 years, within the Food and Beverage department your Supervisors are flexible with your schedule. There are many opportunities to change departments for a better paying position. My colleagues were very friendly from the beginning and continue to be great to work with.

    Cons

    Benefits are met at minimum by the Hospitality Industry Standards. They seem to have a medium to high turnover rate with Supervisors within the Food and Beverage Department. Their employee dining could be greatly improved as I have been sick a couple of times within 3 years.


  7. "Friendly co-workers, great supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    People are friendly and willing to help.

    Cons

    Pretty basic benefits.
    Have to pay for health insurance.

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Mar 26, 2018 – Human Resources Team Member

    Wonderful to hear that you are having a positive experience at Boyd Gaming in regards to your co-workers and supervisor.

  8. "My Dream Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It has been a few weeks since I got hired and everything keeps getting better and better!
    This organization truly cares and I am impressed with the attention and focus given to employees and customers.
    So far I have been provided with all the resources, tools and support I need to succeed. I am truly happy to work for this organization.

    Cons

    I do not have any so far.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to care and support your team!

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Mar 26, 2018 – Corporate Director of Human Resources - Talent

    Thank you for the response and positive feedback! We are grateful to have you on the team.


  9. "Not just a job but a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Everyday is different, always learning new things. Room to grow and advance in your career.

    Cons

    Limited on choices to eat outside TDR

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Mar 26, 2018 – Human Resources Team Member

    Appreciate your insight into the career potential opportunities within Boyd Gaming. Your feedback is great to hear in regards to consistently learning and growing in your role.


  10. "Arena Usher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time

    Pros

    Boyd Gaming continues to promote growth within the employment center and is a very family oriented company. Boyd Gaming is a welcoming, established and secure company to work for.

    Cons

    I would like to promote within the Boyd Gaming Corporation to a full-time position and explore all that Boyd Gaming has to offer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! Your Group/Panel interview was a great and interactive experience. The engagement with all of the other new hires was a motivator for me to get excited and meet new people!

    Boyd Gaming Response

    Jan 29, 2018 – HR Specialist

    Congratulations!! Welcome to the Boyd Gaming Family. Boyd Gaming is known for promoting from within. Please share your career goals with your immediate supervisors.


Showing 269 of 274 reviews
Reset Filters