Boyd Gaming Employee Reviews about "casino"

Updated Jan 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
46%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
185 Ratings
Pros
  • "Small company feel for a casino(in 18 reviews)

  • "Hourly team members were good people(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "This is to be expected in most casino jobs(in 24 reviews)

  • "Low pay and some management looks down on workers(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Disability

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Boyd Gaming and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "casino"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work

      Jun 2, 2020 - Financial Analyst in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Career growth opportunities. Leadership is top-notch.

      Cons

      Lots of moving parts to a casino, communication can sometimes be lost.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A learning experience

      Jan 17, 2021 - Digital Marketing Specialist in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Boyd Gaming has a cool history and a respected name in the casino entertainment industry. Orientation was top notch and it was fun to meet all the casino workers at the different Vegas properties. This was the first "big" company I've worked at, and there's so much to learn from both inside and outside of your role. When you get a chance to break out of your day-to-day and explore other areas, it really gives you perspective on the mass scale of the organization. Family-friendly environment. There's a good number of working parents and if you have little ones, they'll be welcomed at Boyd. The role I had was a good starting point for someone interested in pursuing a career in digital marketing. The Marketing teams at the properties I was assigned were very friendly and easy to work with. My teammates have never hesitated to jump in and help me when I needed them.

      Cons

      Tough times and uncertainty during COVID. Teams were restructured and many people including myself were furloughed last Spring. I was able to return to the company but many others were not. Salary doesn't commensurate with the amount of time and type of work required of the job. Management tends to be overly accommodating to other teams and volunteer specialists' already limited bandwidth to nonessential projects/tasks without talking to them. You'll have a hand in different areas of the business, which can be a great learning experience but if you don't push back when you need to, you'll be held accountable for work other people in the org were hired for and should be doing themselves. Save for a few blockers I encountered along the way, I still really value my time spent at Boyd. I gained useful skills and met great people. The experience carved a stepping stone for me to pursue the next iteration of my career and I'm thankful for that.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Sam's Town Live

      Jan 17, 2021 - Beverage Server in Shreveport, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Small company feel for a casino.

      Cons

      They are always short staffed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst place to work

      Oct 14, 2020 - Count Team Member in North Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Starbucks in casino and that’s about it!

      Cons

      Unprofessional employees, bad management, employee cafeteria was horrible, discrimination, workplace bullying, working 6 days in a row 10+ hour shifts, no work/life balance, you are just a number!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good Company

      Oct 2, 2020 - Casino Manager in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits. A lot of room for advancing your career.

      Cons

      Smoking and drinking environment. This is to be expected in most casino jobs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Low Morale, Terrible Management

      Jun 10, 2019 - Graphic Designer in Dubuque, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice coworkers, casual environment, free soda/coffee

      Cons

      This was by far the worst management I have ever seen. The creative department in Dubuque is a sweatshop. The few good employees are worked to death; the rest of the staff gossip with each other for hours on end, every day. There are no repercussions for the poor employees, because the office struggles so hard to stay fully staffed. Turnover is high, and the only reason people stay is because of the lack of creative jobs in Dubuque. People who are not qualified are hired anyway, because Boyd's pay & benefits are so bad that they can't get good candidates. These same unqualified people get promoted within their first 3 months, because again, high turnover and they refuse to pay someone with better qualifications. On top of all this, the corporate marketing department is an atrocious mess, full of power-hungry females who refuse to compromise on creative strategy, demanding 1 day turnaround on something that should take a week. Raises are a joke. Expect less than 2%, even when corporate tells you how the company had such an amazing year, and was able to afford to buy more casinos. Also enjoy your $75 "bonus" each year - but don't spend it too fast - the taxes from your bonus will be coming out of your next paycheck. Corporate knows the people in this department are miserable, so they try to implement "Boyd Style" activities. An office scavenger hunt for a $3 candy bar isn't going to improve your employees' morale.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Too Stressful...

      Jul 12, 2019 - Guest Service Agent in Saint Charles, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free meals 50 minute lunch break, plus extra 10 minute break Pleasant/friendly co-workers Lots of company events/volunteer opportunities for employees Decent pay grade (depends on your perspective though) Lots of good benefits

      Cons

      The stress of getting yelled at day after day by ridiculously rude casino guests really takes a toll on your body. Ameristar has the nastiest guests I have ever had to serve. The managers just tell you to suck it up and get used to it. For me, I don't think anyone deserves to be treated as poorly as we are at the front desk. No amount of money is worth that.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      I am not #BoydStyle

      Jul 15, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay Low tip compliance Benefits are decent but they are ridiculously expensive and you have to jump through hoops to get the affordable version. See below.

      Cons

      Where do I start? PTO is impossible to get, and you have to use PTO for everything. Want an early out? They use your PTO. Managers cut the employees because it is slow and they ask you if you want to leave, even though they don't want to pay you to be there? They use your PTO. A breaker wants to stay and finish out your shift for you? They use your PTO. You called out sick? They use your PTO without telling you. Switch shifts with someone? Yep, they use your PTO for that too. Your scheduled shift is 5 hours but you requested it off? They use 8 hours of your PTO. I was sexually harassed by a customer (had my butt grabbed) in front of a supervisor and I was written up for telling him off. They did nothing about him and he was allowed to continue coming into the casino. The pumping room for mothers at my property is in a bathroom, which is illegal, federal law prohibits it. HR doesn't seem to care about breast milk being pumped in a bathroom, but have food in your work area and you will get written up, possibly suspended, and of course, they will use your PTO. Incessant training and meetings that cut into my scheduled shifts are a pain because I work for tips, so if I am in a meeting that could have been a memo or doing training on a computer for three hours when I could be doing my job and making tips it is annoying. Also, I still have to pay tip compliance when I am at these meetings and doing training, so I am being taxed on money that I am not making because I am not doing my job. The food in the EDR is terrible. I have gotten sick several times from eating in there, perhaps the coworker that got juiced in because she is married to a chef could hook me up with the amazing food that the kitchen makes for her, while the rest of the peasants get slop. My supervisor is rude, dry, and abrasive. He doesn't realize that I understand what he is saying when he insults me in Spanish to my face, which is actually kinda funny. Blatant favoritism is rampant in my department. The PTO stuff I mentioned does not apply to a select few "favorites". Benefits are decent but they are ridiculously expensive and you have to jump through hoops to get the affordable version. I did all the required stuff to get the affordable benefits and they "lost" my records so I ended up having to pay for the more expensive version.

      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company. Feels like family.

      Feb 13, 2019 - Server in Vinton, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The management really does care about the employees. The company has such a caring family type feel. If you have an issue they really do care and work hard to help.

      Cons

      It is a casino so the hours (for food and beverage anyway) are tough. Late nights and holidays but that's just server life, not a reflection of the company itself.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Boyd Gaming Response

      Director, Digital Media & Social Engagement

      Thank you for your review! We're so happy to learn that your time at Delta Downs was pleasant, and that you enjoyed the team. Best of luck in your future endeavors!

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a bad place but can use improvement

      Jun 11, 2019 - IT Project Manager in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people, relaxed environment for a casino company compared to other places I've worked; decent work/life balance.

      Cons

      Lack of career path; bad upper management that doesn't really care about their employees; growing too fast to keep up with the competition; mediocre benefits compared to similar companies

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Boyd Gaming Job Seekers

    Casino Host
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Boyd Gaming? Share Your Experiences

    or