Boyd Gaming Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Nov 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
46%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
185 Ratings
Pros
  • "Small company feel for a casino(in 18 reviews)

  • "Hourly team members were good people(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "This is to be expected in most casino jobs(in 24 reviews)

  • "Low pay and some management looks down on workers(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Disability

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Boyd Gaming and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "low pay"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee

      It’s okay

      Nov 28, 2020 - Housekeeping 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free lunch and nice people

      Cons

      Low pay and some management looks down on workers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Culture, Low Pay

      Oct 18, 2020 - Financial Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work culture with a huge emphasis on employee development.

      Cons

      Low pay and slow to promote.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good place to work

      Oct 10, 2020 - Accountant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent hours and good work environment

      Cons

      Low pay for work required

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to learn and grow then move on!

      Aug 4, 2020 - Assistant Restaurant Manager in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      benefits, room for growth, tuition reimbursement.

      Cons

      low pay, horrible work hours, zero work/life balance

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Culture and Relationships Built

      Feb 8, 2020 - Compliance Analyst in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Great Corporate Culture 2. Build long lasting relationships 3. Upward movement/Internal hiring

      Cons

      My biggest and probably only con about working for Boyd would have to be salary. When talking to many of my co-workers and past co-workers, a lot of the reasons they would or have moved out of Boyd is because of the low pay rate.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Boyd Gaming Response

      Executive Recruiter

      Thank you for your positive rating! Boyd Gaming has a great work culture and it is wonderful to see our internal team members grow within the organization! We appreciate your feedback and encourage you to speak with your leader working through the open door policy.

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place, but pay is on the low side

      Mar 30, 2020 - Slot Technician in Michigan City, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed work environment, interesting work

      Cons

      Reasonable but also low pay

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Boyd Gaming Response

      Executive Recruiter

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Boyd Gaming offers a unique family culture in a dynamic environment that provides opportunities to expand one's skill set .

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Boyd Gaming to layoff all Las Vegas IT staff and go with contractors

      May 20, 2020 - IT Support in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Okay work environment and decent benefits

      Cons

      No real chance for advancement and low pay

      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A Losing Bet

      Feb 28, 2019 - Graphic Designer in Dubuque, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free soda in the break room.

      Cons

      Management doesn't listen to employees. Low pay and virtually no raises. Most of the work goes to a few of the employees, other employees lounge around all day. No one listens to suggestions. Prepare to be stressed and depressed because of this job and then be accused of not representing "Boyd Style" because you are unhappy with your job.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place for Opportunity

      Aug 1, 2019 - N/A 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, atmosphere, meet lifelong friends that you won't find anywhere else. Everyday is something new.

      Cons

      Outdated technology, very conservative environment. low pay

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worst JOB ever Amelia BELLE CASINO

      Apr 19, 2016 - Technical in Amelia, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only pros is the free food.

      Cons

      Lies, Deceit, low pay, empty promises, and hide incentive programs from people so they cannot further their education. Put in my full two weeks notice and was suppose to get paid of it. Made a separation letter and was told by my supervisor in the corporate office to make a detail summary for a boss that has been their for 10 years on how to complete his job duties. I complete it called the corporate boss and he told me I could leave on tuesday to start my new career because like always I did what he asked. Then I never was paid for the last week of work.Even though I made a step by step guide with pictures made a detailed summary for backing up the system. They said I didn't complete my two weeks. I called 1800 4u2 tell and call the corporate office and was not compensated or at least the two weeks was fulfilled . This company are not truthful and does not follow the BOYD Standard. I really hope bill boyd see this and cleans house with these people from IOWA running the Amelia Belle casino.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Boyd Gaming Job Seekers

    Casino Host
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Boyd Gaming? Share Your Experiences

    or