KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Boyd Gaming

Is this your company?

Boyd Gaming

Add a Review

Boyd Gaming Employee Reviews about "team members"

Updated Nov 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 of over 444 reviews

3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
184 Ratings
Pros
  • "Small company feel for a casino(in 18 reviews)

  • "Hourly team members were good people(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "This is to be expected in most casino jobs(in 24 reviews)

  • "Low pay and some management looks down on workers(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Disability

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Boyd Gaming and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "team members"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Love this company

      Nov 12, 2020 - Director of Marketing in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Treat team members like family

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good conpany

      Aug 19, 2020 - Casino Host 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of room for growth

      Cons

      Salary team members work 9 hour shifts

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Easy to work for, honest company

      Jun 26, 2019 - Event Coordinator in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-life balance is maintained, happy environment, company makes the effort to see that team members treat guests and each other well.

      Cons

      Corporate layers, so everything requires approval. Cost-control makes budgets tough to exercise, limited raise potential.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not appreciated

      Mar 8, 2019 - Scheduling Specialist in Florence, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Monday-Friday. Nothing other than that.

      Cons

      Pay is way below the industry. Management runs the finance department like a high school. A pointless job that no one thinks is necessary except for one person. Ruin team members live by putting them in unnecessary bid lines for a company that’s not even union. Forced to take your pto on holidays because “it’s cheaper for the company” Forget getting a yearly review and raise.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Security

      Mar 1, 2016 - Armed Security Officer in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good things about working for Boyd was the PTO and the Benefits were decent.

      Cons

      Where to start? Firstly, the property I worked at had Zero respect for the employees. They did not provide them with the materials needed to perform their jobs efficiently, their senior management was not open to suggestions from Team members. They had "Everyone Everyday" meetings where they used scare tactics on employees in an attempt to get better customer service from them. They promote favoritism (or so it seems), and my property had guests working in an unsafe work environment as they had NO panic alarms. Along with that, there is no incentive to do anything outside the basic elements of your job (no raises) armed security gets paid the same as unarmed which is completely asinine and when they get a good employee the overload their plate and run them into the ground. Boyd cut corners everywhere to cut costs and it really created a hostile, and uncomfortable work environment. Especially with the big wigs breathing down your back.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      A failed downtown culture

      Jan 4, 2018 - Table Games Manager in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PTO plan was good. Hourly team members were good people.

      Cons

      Failed culture that promoted ignorant white men Bonuses paid for poor performance due to managers longevity Hourly team members excluded from bonus pool Health premiums that triple while having to jump through health coach’s to get lowest premium Long term managers that violated the harassment and retaliation policy Employee survey scores in the 75 percentile year after year with no brain power to fix it Few blacks,Asians or women in management but claiming diversity Hourly turn over that’s 100% Management intentionally runs off smart talented team members for fear of being exposed for their lack of creativity and fear of change. This is done through retaliation and bogus write ups. They ant compliance to build consensus. This is group think.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Boyd Gaming Response

      Human Resources Team Member

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings regarding the treatment of team members at Boyd Gaming's downtown properties. Boyd Gaming prides itself on its corporate culture and our Boyd Style. The four components of Boyd Style are Valuing Relationships, Integrity, Exceeding Expectations, and Working Smart. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your team members and the relationships that you cultivated. In regards to your comments regarding Boyd Gaming compensation and benefits program. We designed compensation and benefit programs that meets the needs of many. Unfortunately, this does not always meet the needs of all. Boyd Gaming also takes allegation of harassment and retaliation very seriously. If you would like to discuss a specific incident please email boydcareers@boydcareers.com and someone will be in touch with you. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Information Technology Department

      Jun 30, 2016 -  in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent Management. Reasonable Budgeting. Smart Project Implementation with a lot of thought put into pre-planning and logistics. 98% of the staff are excellent to work with.

      Cons

      None other then compensation is a little low compared to market and the few team members who will always be negative (but unfortunately, those type of individuals exist in every company).

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Boyd Gaming Response

      Senior Recruiting Manager

      Thanks for your feedback – we’re glad to have you on the Boyd Gaming team! We’re proud to offer more opportunities for learning via our LAB learning center, and will continue to work on suggestions like yours using results from our Team Member Opinion Survey. Please reach out to your property’s Human Resources department to find out more.

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Manager

      Apr 30, 2016 - Cage Manager in Suwanee, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Boyd Gaming is a good place to start a career. The team members are great. A super place to meet people from all over the country.

      Cons

      Long hours. Little time for family. You become a number instead of a valuable member of the company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      I was sold a bag of tricks!

      Jan 10, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-life balance (for now, but management is pushing people to expect longer days), some team members, the Boyd family

      Cons

      Negative work environment, no recognition, top-heavy, no one seems to really care what the lower level employees feel.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Constantly taking away benefits.

      Jun 30, 2014 - Security Officer in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really enjoy my coworkers and lower level management. They make you feel appreciated if you put in the work. Good communication between team members and management.

      Cons

      Constantly taking away benefits. Taking away paid time off, can't request extra (unpaid) days off, took away early outs for when it's slow, randomly making new blackout periods for time off, and in my department they just try to make you not want to work here anymore. They are constantly taking away any happiness from employees. Also considered "late" if you clock in when your shift starts. Required to work more than 8 hours and only get paid for 8.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Boyd Gaming Response

      Company Administrator

      We appreciate your honest and frank feedback. As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to improve. Assuming you have not done so already, we encourage you to take advantage of our Open Door policy, and express your concerns directly to Human Resources or to your property General Manager. Additionally, we are concerned about one of the situations you indicated above where you are working more than 8 hours and only getting paid for 8. We encourage you to call our ethics hotline – 1-866-4U2-TELL – and provide some more details on what you encountered in the workplace. This number is operated by an independent vendor, and you can remain anonymous if you’d like. The hotline operator will pass along a report on your call to the appropriate person at the Company, and we’ll be able to fully investigate and make immediate corrections if necessary. If you’re willing to talk, we’re listening. Thank you again for your thoughts.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 19 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Boyd Gaming Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Boyd Gaming? Share Your Experiences

    or