Boyd Gaming "team members" Reviews | Glassdoor

Boyd Gaming Employee Reviews about "team members"

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
43%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Boyd Gaming CEO and President Keith E. Smith
Keith E. Smith
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Nice people, relaxed environment for a casino company compared to other places I've worked; decent work/life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • "Benefits(once I start receiving them) and the team members dinning room(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "The stress of getting yelled at day after day by ridiculously rude casino guests really takes a toll on your body(in 22 reviews)

  • "No one wanted to make it right including upper management(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "team members"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Really love what I am doing in slot marketing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Slot Marketing in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits(once I start receiving them) and the team members dinning room.

    Cons

    Some of the challenges have been getting comfortable with the people that I work with. Some of them not very nice, tattle tales, and don't even show up for work.

    Continue reading
    Boyd Gaming2014-12-17

    Boyd Gaming Response

    December 22, 2014Company Administrator

    We appreciate your feedback and we're glad to have you on our team!!! As you know, we strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to improve. Assuming you have not done so already, we encourage you to take advantage of our Open Door policy, and express your concerns directly to Human Resources or a member of our management team. If you’re willing to talk, we’re listening. Thank you for your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  2. "Easy to work for, honest company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Coordinator in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is maintained, happy environment, company makes the effort to see that team members treat guests and each other well.

    Cons

    Corporate layers, so everything requires approval. Cost-control makes budgets tough to exercise, limited raise potential.

    Boyd Gaming2019-06-27
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Not appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scheduling Specialist in Florence, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Monday-Friday. Nothing other than that.

    Cons

    Pay is way below the industry. Management runs the finance department like a high school. A pointless job that no one thinks is necessary except for one person. Ruin team members live by putting them in unnecessary bid lines for a company that’s not even union. Forced to take your pto on holidays because “it’s cheaper for the company” Forget getting a yearly review and raise.

    Continue reading
    Boyd Gaming2019-03-08
  4. Helpful (9)

    "A failed downtown culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Table Games Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    PTO plan was good. Hourly team members were good people.

    Cons

    Failed culture that promoted ignorant white men Bonuses paid for poor performance due to managers longevity Hourly team members excluded from bonus pool Health premiums that triple while having to jump through health coach’s to get lowest premium Long term managers that violated the harassment and retaliation policy Employee survey scores in the 75 percentile year after year with no brain power to fix it Few blacks,Asians or women in management but claiming diversity Hourly turn over that’s 100% Management intentionally runs off smart talented team members for fear of being exposed for their lack of creativity and fear of change. This is done through retaliation and bogus write ups. They ant compliance to build consensus. This is group think.

    Continue reading
    Boyd Gaming2018-01-05

    Boyd Gaming Response

    March 26, 2018Human Resources Team Member

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings regarding the treatment of team members at Boyd Gaming's downtown properties. Boyd Gaming prides itself on its corporate culture and our Boyd Style. The four components of Boyd Style are Valuing Relationships, Integrity, Exceeding Expectations, and Working Smart. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your team members and the relationships that you cultivated. In regards to your comments regarding Boyd Gaming compensation and benefits program. We designed compensation and benefit programs that meets the needs of many. Unfortunately, this does not always meet the needs of all. Boyd Gaming also takes allegation of harassment and retaliation very seriously. If you would like to discuss a specific incident please email boydcareers@boydcareers.com and someone will be in touch with you. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. "Guest Service Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in East Peoria, IL

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Team members are the best.

    Cons

    No place to move up to. Promotions never seemed to be giving on merit and hard work.

    Boyd Gaming2017-07-19

    Boyd Gaming Response

    July 28, 2017HR Specialist

    Sorry to hear that you were not able to stay within the Boyd family while progressing your career. Please continue to watch for future opportunities that may fit your career path.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Information Technology Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming

    Pros

    Excellent Management. Reasonable Budgeting. Smart Project Implementation with a lot of thought put into pre-planning and logistics. 98% of the staff are excellent to work with.

    Cons

    None other then compensation is a little low compared to market and the few team members who will always be negative (but unfortunately, those type of individuals exist in every company).

    Continue reading
    Boyd Gaming2016-06-30

    Boyd Gaming Response

    September 26, 2016Senior Recruiting Manager

    Thanks for your feedback – we’re glad to have you on the Boyd Gaming team! We’re proud to offer more opportunities for learning via our LAB learning center, and will continue to work on suggestions like yours using results from our Team Member Opinion Survey. Please reach out to your property’s Human Resources department to find out more.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cage Manager in Suwanee, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Boyd Gaming is a good place to start a career. The team members are great. A super place to meet people from all over the country.

    Cons

    Long hours. Little time for family. You become a number instead of a valuable member of the company.

    Continue reading
    Boyd Gaming2016-04-30
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Politics of a typical Cooperation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time

    Pros

    The team members and most mid-line Managers are awesome to work with and down to earth.

    Cons

    Pay sucks unless you are a "good ol boy or girl" for years ago. THEN you can guarantee positions will be created for you even if you do absolutely nothing. The Boyd family themselves are awesome, the corporation I believe has ruined what they worked so hard to build. Employees are not paid what they are worth and the Managers are worked to the bone, expected to work two properties for the same pay as one. No questions asked. Again unless you have been friends or are a special kind of friendly to get those extra perks.

    Continue reading
    Boyd Gaming2016-05-05
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Armed Security Officer in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boyd Gaming full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some good things about working for Boyd was the PTO and the Benefits were decent.

    Cons

    Where to start? Firstly, the property I worked at had Zero respect for the employees. They did not provide them with the materials needed to perform their jobs efficiently, their senior management was not open to suggestions from Team members. They had "Everyone Everyday" meetings where they used scare tactics on employees in an attempt to get better customer service from them. They promote favoritism (or so it seems), and my property had guests working in an unsafe work environment as they had NO panic alarms. Along with that, there is no incentive to do anything outside the basic elements of your job (no raises) armed security gets paid the same as unarmed which is completely asinine and when they get a good employee the overload their plate and run them into the ground. Boyd cut corners everywhere to cut costs and it really created a hostile, and uncomfortable work environment. Especially with the big wigs breathing down your back.

    Continue reading
    Boyd Gaming2016-03-01
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Been with Boyd for years but the lawn is getting brown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Boyd Gaming full-time

    Pros

    I have been with Boyd for years, Boyd was my first white collar job. I have worked at several properties, and have advanced into newer positions several times. Despite being a large corporation, some of the values from before they went "corporate" still thrive. Need to leave early to take care of a sick family member - go, family first. Also I have personally seen many people move up and advance. Some people will say that there isn't any advancement, but I digress. Also, Boyd prides itself on integrity, which is something I cherish. I have seen many a decision made on the basis of integrity, even if that path may not be the easiest or cheapest. In light of all the uncertainty we faced in the recession, and overall, I do believe Boyd offers more job security than many other companies. Despite recent layoffs in the last couple years, I still think Boyd does a better than average job at avoiding layoffs. Most coworkers and executives are nice people. I won't say I've never experienced a hostile work environment here, but it definitely isn't the norm. Boyd definitely has some cultural perks, but culture has been slowly changing to the stereotypical you're just a number environment.

    Cons

    The longer I have been with Boyd, the more I begin to wonder why I stay. I get it, really I do, Boyd is a large corporation and following suit in what had become normal operating procedures for the corporate world. Yes, there is advancement opportunities, but the raise you get as part of your promotion is capped at a percentage. So if you're promoted, and the minimum range of your next job exceeds that cap, guess what? Too bad. You are hired under your salary range. I've had this happen many times. So my feathers are ruffling. I must be an extremely high achieving employee, enough to have been promoted several times in less than 10 years, but I'm not worth being put into range? And each time, I often had to help with transition and training in my former role. If Boyd hired from outside, you'd probably pay more than minimum range and had I left the company no one would have been there for ALL THOSE QUESTIONS the new person ALWAYS has. It feels like I am being punished for being hired internally, and that a company that I love so much does not believe I am worth the investment. Plus the transition usually equals more work for me. And the saddest part? I am not the only one who feels this way, so if you join Boyd, don't expect a fair salary to be considered a line item under their practice of integrity. Somehow that piece is constantly disregarded, because the less you pay the more costs are kept down. Don't expect decent raises. The last few years the average raise has been 1%. For the average employee, especially the lower wage ones, it's laughable. The benefits aren't bad, but those are constantly being slashed with Boyd paying a smaller percentage ever year. Usually your yearly raise doesn't even offset the increase in benefits. Just something to look forward to if you work at Boyd. What really irks me in reference to my benefits, is that plans change every year, especially with elective benefit offerings. And every year I am electing into voluntary benefits and choosing between my old or new without ever seeing a policy or the fine print. I ASOLUTELY CANNOT make an informed decision on which policy is right for me without knowing the fine print or parameters of the policy. Sometimes it is obvious that Boyd is large, communication across chain can take a while or gets lost. Boyd prefers a top down approach in communication, but that route doesn't always work. Some policies are outdated (ex. salary team members can't have visible tattoos, and no beards), and sometimes important decisions never occur because it requires input from too many people. Also reorganization of executives and departments is fairly frequent. I'm sure these are done on the assumption that the benefits outweigh the costs, but productivity and efficiency can be impacted in frequent shifts (the new boss in the chain always has their preferences and adaption on all sides of the chain has to occur). Everyone is super busy and overworked. (Well many are anyway). Be prepared to be stretched thin, have a giant list of to dos, and assist and help with things not in your job description. And getting help ftom others? They try, but when all the plates are overflowing, it's easy to get lost in the shuffle. Now I hear rumors going around that hours are changing, break/lunch will no longer be paid since we will be required to work more than 8 hours. After losing a week vacation time a couple years ago, this is another cut that directly affects employees. It has been one thing like this after another. I don't foresee things getting better. I am seriously debating looking for another job in the near future.

    Continue reading
    Boyd Gaming2016-02-05

    Boyd Gaming Response

    March 22, 2016Company Administrator

    We appreciate your honest feedback. We strive to be an employer of choice in our industry. When we fall short of that standard, we want to know about it, so we can work to improve. We will pass along your information to senior management for review. Thanks again for your review.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews