Boys Town Reviews

Updated May 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Boys Town President and National Executive Director ​​​​​​​​​​Father Steven E. Boes (no image)
​​​​​​​​​​Father Steven E. Boes
73 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Be willing to make a bit less at a non-profit for the cause(in 9 reviews)

  • "Slow to embrace flexibility for work/life balance(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Family Teacher in Boys Town, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys Town full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    coworkers, values, youth, benefits, insurance

    Cons

    hours, work-life balance, difficult job

    Boys Town2020-02-27

    Boys Town Response

    February 28, 2020Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for your review and for providing support and the foundation to grow for our youth!

  2. "Loved my time there"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Paralegal in Boys Town, NE
    Recommends

    I worked at Boys Town full-time

    Pros

    Excellent Benefits and our Family Teachers are

    Cons

    Position was eliminated. Was a good ride.

    Boys Town2019-10-07

    Boys Town Response

    October 9, 2019Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed not only our benefits, but giving back to our mission as an employee at Boys Town.

  3. "Good"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Family Consultant in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys Town full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They had wonderful benefit for self and families

    Cons

    Lack of support From management and lack on integrity when taking responsibility for errors they made

    Continue reading
    Boys Town2020-05-03

    Boys Town Response

    May 4, 2020Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for leaving a review. We are proud to offer employees great benefits as a thank you for all the work they do for youth, families and communities. If you have additional feedback on how we can continue to take care of our employees, please message us privately at feedback@boystown.org.

  4. "You Can't Go Wrong"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Youth Care Worker in Oviedo, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys Town full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, room for growth Training in Omaha is great Lots of Feedback Meals at Work

    Cons

    Inconsistent feedback The different tolerances of staff/management Communication sucks

    Continue reading
    Boys Town2020-04-14

    Boys Town Response

    April 21, 2020Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are proud to offer our employees a great training program! We would love to improve our feedback and communication. Please contact us at feedback@boystown.org to provide more details or recommendations on how we can improve.

  5. "Great place to do good."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Foster Care Specialist in Boys Town, NE
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boys Town full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -common goal across campus -helping the vulnerable -health benefits are great for non-profit -team structure

    Cons

    -salary -often work more than 40 hours a week -work life balance

    Continue reading
    Boys Town2020-04-06

    Boys Town Response

    April 7, 2020Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for your review. We are proud to offer excellent benefits to our employees as a thank you for the work they do for our mission! As a nonprofit, we continue to monitor our wages to ensure we are being competitive. We do recognize that as the Foster Family Services team you are a huge part of our mission, and would love to get additional feedback on how we can better recognize all of our employees. Feel free to reach out to our team privately at feedback@boystown.org.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great mission, poor communication"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys Town full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong mission, strong leadership.

    Cons

    While the mission is great, and majority of the people working there believe in it - the organization's communication is lacking. With so many departments and focuses within each, the organization as a whole struggles with the "community" feel they promote.

    Boys Town2019-12-07

    Boys Town Response

    December 9, 2019Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Through our 12th initiative for our Strategic Plan, we are working to improve those communication pains by aligning support service structures and processes to support the strategic direction of our organization. We thank you for your patience throughout, and if you have any additional feedback please private us privately at feedback@boystown.org.

  7. "An experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boys Town

    Pros

    -great mission -love the cognitive behavioral model -excellent benefits -felt like a work family for several years -positive atmosphere for several years -development opportunities if there is a food supervisor

    Cons

    -leadership changed. Positive atmosphere changed quickly to negative and toxic. Leader thrived on gossip. -long hours with little work/life balance -Transparency was lost.

    Continue reading
    Boys Town2019-12-20

    Boys Town Response

    December 23, 2019Recruiting Outreach Partner

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are saddened to see that you had a negative experience and would like to hear your feedback further when it comes to leadership and transparency. Please reach out to us privately at feedback@boystown.org.

  8. "Review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 

    I have been working at Boys Town full-time

    Pros

    A great mission and cause to work towards

    Cons

    Non profit, high turnover, company wide changes

    Boys Town2019-12-03

    Boys Town Response

    December 9, 2019Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate you being a part of our mission!

  9. "Working with families and children"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Care Coordination Services Consultant 

    I have been working at Boys Town full-time

    Pros

    The support at boys town is phenomenal

    Cons

    Lack of benefits and compensation

    Boys Town2019-11-04

    Boys Town Response

    November 4, 2019Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for leaving a review. We are delighted to see that you received great support from your team! We take great pride in offering employees a compensation package that is both comprehensive and competitive to the market, and we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied.

  10. "Very Stressful Position"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Family Teacher in Oviedo, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Boys Town full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to make positive impact in the lives of children who have had a lot of negative experiences in their young lives.

    Cons

    The hours are long and taxing. There is little relief from the constant stress of the position. It was hard for the administration to relate to our situations with the children because they had not held the position as a fulltime caregiver for challenging teenagers.

    Continue reading
    Boys Town2019-11-15

    Boys Town Response

    November 19, 2019Recruiting Outreach Partner

    We appreciate your review and the impact you made on the youth here at Boys Town. While the work is rewarding, we understand that some days may be more difficult than others. Should you have additional feedback you would like to share privately, please reach out to our team at feedback@boystown.org.

Found 172 reviews