Boys Town Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Boys Town Reviews

Updated February 20, 2018
125 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boys Town President & National Executive Director The Rev. Steven E. Boes
The Rev. Steven E. Boes
58 Ratings

125 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The focus on children and families gives great satisfaction to know your hard work is going to better America (in 16 reviews)

  • They have really good benefits, the people are great (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • The job is incredibly overwhelming and there is a huge lack of support (in 4 reviews)

  • Stressful, Work-Life Balance, Can't help everyone in the Program (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boys Town, NE
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boys Town, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys Town full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Every day when I come to work I feel good about what I do. I don't work directly with the youth but I know that I am making a difference in children's life. Boys Town's Mission is about changing the way America cares for children and families by providing and promoting a continuum of care that strengthens body, mind and spirit.
    I truly love my job!

    Cons

    I don't have any. Boys Town is a non-profit and the wages reflect that.

    Advice to Management

    As with any management it's always important to listen to your employees - the ones on the front lines - be that working directly with the youth to the networking person setting up firewalls to keep the kids their information safe. They are the key to keeping a healthy and happy working environment. When you feel your ideas are valued then you will feel valued.

    Boys Town Response

    Nov 6, 2017 – Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for your service at Boys Town! We are thankful for all of our employees dedication to Father Flanagan's mission. We value and appreciate your feedback.


  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tallahassee, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys Town full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Mission focused! Great teamwork atmosphere! Researched based and data driven

    Cons

    cost recovery for programs can be challenging

    Advice to Management

    None

    Boys Town Response

    Nov 6, 2017 – Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for your review! We love to hear that you enjoy your team atmosphere.

  3. "Great benefits, shakey management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boys Town full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    If you want a first hand shot and saving children, this is the place. The benefits are great, including top health insurance, PTO and a lot more. Overall, the people are great to work with.

    Cons

    Direct supervisors are sometimes questionable. Some love to micromanage which adds undue stress to an already stressful job. The pay is not tops, but it isn't the worst either. High stress work.

    Advice to Management

    Stop consultants from micromanaging. Open the door to frontline staff to feel safe in sharing grievances.


  4. "Family Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boys Town full-time

    Pros

    Meaningful work as you get to help children and heal families. Pay is good because you don't have to pay any living costs out of your salary.

    Cons

    Lack of support. The job is incredibly overwhelming and there is a huge lack of support.

    Boys Town Response

    Jan 29, 2018 – Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for your service at Boys Town. Our Direct Care staff have a tough but rewarding job! If you have suggestions on how we can improve our work environment and support system for the future... More


  5. "Not as great as they portray it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Youth Care Worker in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Youth Care Worker in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boys Town full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Spirit centered atmosphere. When working with the right staff your work life can be great. A rather nice benefits package for a non profit.

    Cons

    Severely disrespectful kids who could care less about point cards and the outdated model for correcting behavior. Some management staff do not have practical experience working directly with the youth.

    Advice to Management

    Do some research from educators who have been the field in some of the worst places to live in America.

    Boys Town Response

    Jan 15, 2018 – Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are thankful for our employees and the work they do to help take care of kids and families and look forward to providing them with a great benefits... More


  6. "AFT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys Town full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good Atmosphere, people care about kids

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times

    Boys Town Response

    Jan 2, 2018 – Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for leaving a review! We take pride in our employees and the impact that they leave on at-risk youth and families.


  7. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys Town full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, work/life balance, mission and values

    Cons

    Traditional and stuck in their ways

    Advice to Management

    Innovation.

    Boys Town Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! We are thankful for our employees and their dedication to our mission to help at-risk youth and families. If you wish to provide further... More

  8. "Like working for a cult."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Family Teacher in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Former Employee - Family Teacher in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boys Town full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Opportunity to help youth go on to better things.

    Cons

    Too many to write here.

    Boys Town Response

    Dec 18, 2017 – Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our mission is focused on helping at-risk youth and families to get a second chance, and we appreciate your contribution in positively impacting... More


  9. "Love it here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - In- Home Family Service Consultant in Omaha, NE
    Current Employee - In- Home Family Service Consultant in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boys Town full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Team effort, great communication within the department, amazing benefits, great salary, casual wear is appropriate, our safety is always the department’s top concern.

    Cons

    There is never going to be a set schedule for when you are going to work. It’s based off the needs of your clients.

    Advice to Management

    A bump in pay would be nice, although not necessary to keep your employees. But, a continued learning experience, maybe once a month, to keep all the skills necessary for the job fresh in our minds.

    Boys Town Response

    Nov 6, 2017 – Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for your review! If you wish to provide further feedback or have ideas on how I could help you thrive in our working environment, please email us at feedback@boystown.org.


  10. "BT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I have been working at Boys Town (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Gain a lot of experience and work balance.

    Cons

    Promotion comes with who you know.

    Boys Town Response

    Nov 6, 2017 – Recruiting Outreach Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are thankful for our employees and the work they do to help take care of kids and families. We apologize that you received the wrong... More


Showing 125 of 127 reviews
Reset Filters