KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Boys Town

Engaged Employer

Boys Town

Add a Review

Boys Town Reviews

Updated Jun 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
Boys Town CEO Rod Kempkes​
Rod Kempkes​
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Boys Town is a positive environment that has a mission to help children and families(in 16 reviews)

  • "They offer a great benefits package and good pay(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Be willing to make a bit less at a non-profit for the cause(in 9 reviews)

  • "Slow to embrace flexibility for work/life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Great Company

      Dec 20, 2020 - Crisis Counselor in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are several pros, such as: Pay Benefits People Rewarding work Flexible scheduling Time off

      Cons

      There aren't really any cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Boys Town Response

      Recruiting Outreach Partner

      We appreciate you leaving a review and for being a part of the Boys Town National Hotline team!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      RN, BSN

      May 24, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Healthcare is the best. Services (including specialty clinics & surgery) are provided to employees and their dependents whom are on the boystown health insurance and who use a Boystown provider to do the services. Great staff and management. This is the other job I’ve had where I can talk to my manager in a way that makes me feel like we're friends and not being constantly monitored and watched for mistakes.

      Cons

      I like aittle ways away, but it's worth it in the end.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Boys Town Response

      Recruiting Outreach Partner

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are proud to be able to offer amazing benefits such as our health care services to our even more amazing employees!

    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great mission

      Feb 24, 2021 - Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really fun place to work. Staff really care about the children and families. Staff feels like comrades and partners. Great training provided and management support. Provides school support. Lots of opportunities to get promoted, but you HAVE to be willing to re-locate.

      Cons

      Like any non-profit, local Boys Towns are under-resourced. If you are management expect to wear many hats. Expect to have long days. The organization really prides itself on ensuring staff take care of themselves, but you will often be asked to give up a lot of your weekends and personal time. This isn't to say the organization is bad, truly, I loved the place. Pay is low, but it's better than most non-profts will pay you. When they changed the health benefits a lot of parents suffered from the changes. They also pay you on a strange schedule. It isn't bi-weekly, but it would have been far better if it was set up this way. A lot of burnout, but it's hard work and just simply the nature of the beast.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Boys Town Response

      Recruiting Outreach Partner

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review! Being an employee at Boys Town means that we are proud of the work we do to save children and heal families, and we are glad you were able to be part of that mission. We would love to hear any additional feedback you may have regarding providing a better experience to our employees. Feel free to contact our team at feedback@boystown.org.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      BHT

      Apr 28, 2021 - Behavioral Health Technician in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pros: working with kids, awesome relationship with co-workers, fast-paced work environment, great benefits, great experience in the field, extremely rewarding job that can be a lot of fun due to the amount of activities that are planned for the kids

      Cons

      Cons: The biggest con would bethe high turnover rate. It seems that many people take the job without realizing what it entails and subsequently don't stay longer than 1-2 years. The other con would be administration. Your direct managers/supervisors that work on the floor with you are amazing but the current program directors in both buildings are known for not appreciating their employees enough or effectively communicating with them.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Boys Town Response

      Recruiting Outreach Partner

      We appreciate your review and feedback! Your role as a Behavioral Health Technician is not only great experience, but it truly makes a positive impact. We want you to feel supported in your role, and we understand that with turnover and leadership those are two big pieces of support and feeling appreciated. For leadership, our training team provides information, tools, forms and resources for managers and supervisors to assist with managerial duties. We also recently raised the starting pay for Behavioral Health Technicians to include a shift differential, as our compensation team is continuously evaluating our packages in comparison to other employers in our metro area as well as our industry. If you have additional feedback on how we can support you, please reach out to our team at feedback@boystown.org.

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Greatest Place to work!!!

      Jun 3, 2021 - Registered Respiratory Therapist in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing management Super friendly staff with the best teamwork! Wow the benefits!!! The best pediatric care with attentive staff and wonderful physicians!

      Cons

      Small hospital No ER to feed ICU

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Boys Town Response

      Recruiting Outreach Partner

      We appreciate your review and for being a part of our organization!

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Hard and rewarding work, pros and cons

      Apr 9, 2021 - Family Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a job where you can use your whole heart helping kids. It can be family friendly as you can care for your family infused with the job.

      Cons

      Easy to get burnt out, high staff turnover, some youth’s behaviors in the program can make your family feel unsafe. Admin disconnected from on the ground employees which creates lack of understanding/empathy.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Boys Town Response

      Recruiting Outreach Partner

      Thanks for leaving a review and for making a huge difference in the lives of children as a Family-Teacher. We understand that you may have faced challenges due to the children you cared for may have had serious behavioral, emotional and cognitive problems. We appreciate your patience, compassion and perseverance when things were not going well. This is a rewarding and sometimes daunting task, but we want you to know that as Family-Teachers you are never alone. As you mentioned, there are many tangible benefits for a Family-Teaching Couple – a home, competitive salary, insurance and being able to work together. But the intangibles are what truly make being a Family-Teacher worthwhile. If you would like to provide any additional feedback or advice to management, please do not hesitate to reach out to our team at feedback@boystown.org.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      May 31, 2021 - In Home Family Consultant in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing benefits, national organization, training is immaculate

      Cons

      Poor communication, bad turnover, crappy pay

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Boys Town Response

      Recruiting Outreach Partner

      Thank you for leaving a review. We couldn't be more proud to offer great training and benefits to the employees that work every day to better the lives of others. If you would like to provide additional feedback on how we can better communicate with employees, please reach out to our team at btrecruiter@boystown.org.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Hard Job

      Apr 25, 2021 - Family Teacher in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Insurance, housing, comradeship, help, living expenses

      Cons

      Hard, so many,many meetings, can feel like your days are long, need support more than meetings

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Boys Town Response

      Recruiting Outreach Partner

      We appreciate your review. Family-Teachers are the backbone of our organization and we can't thank you enough for the many lives you have impacted and saved. While there are many benefits of being a Family-Teacher, we do understand that days can be long. If you have feedback on how we can provide more support outside of meetings or how to better address the responsibilities of administrative needs, please email our team at feedback@boystown.org.

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Family Home program

      Jun 2, 2021 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary good salary good

      Cons

      value your team better and give them time off

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Boys Town Response

      Recruiting Outreach Partner

      We appreciate your feedback. We understand that as your role in the Family Home Program, sometimes can get tough and we want to ensure you feel supported. If you have additional feedback regarding how we can value our staff or suggestions regarding providing better time off, please reach out to our team at feedback@boystown.org.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Horrible leadership

      Jun 8, 2021 - Care Coordination in New Orleans, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay was great to have.

      Cons

      Management and support was horrible.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 252 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Boys Town Job Seekers

    Director of Executive Operations
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    In- Home Family Service Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    Vice President of Information Technology
    Learn About the Job
    Behavioral Health Technician
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Boys Town? Share Your Experiences

    Boys Town logo
    or