Boys and Girls Club of Canada Reviews | Glassdoor

Boys and Girls Club of Canada Reviews

Updated Dec 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
38%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Boys and Girls Club of Canada President & CEO Owen Charters
Owen Charters
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Inclusive environment and a great place for a student looking to enter the workforce(in 7 reviews)

  • "Enjoyable job with great co-workers(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low Pay, No Supervision, Most of the time you don't do too much(in 8 reviews)

  • "The people who say "great place to work" and "great coworkers" have obviously never worked outside the non-profit world(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Boys and Girls Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boys and Girls Club of Canada full-time

    Pros

    Enjoyable and fun always pleasant and happy environment

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Boys and Girls Club of Canada2018-11-03
  2. "nothing to say at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Boys and Girls Club of Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nothing to say at all

    Cons

    paperwork was very complex and unclear

    Boys and Girls Club of Canada2019-02-26
  3. "Stressful but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Youth Worker in San Jose, CA

    I worked at Boys and Girls Club of Canada part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -gratifying to see kids succeed -fun atmosphere -field trips

    Cons

    -stressful, especially if day does not go as planned -sometimes parents treat center as a babysitting center

    Boys and Girls Club of Canada2019-01-26
  4. "I do it for the kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Leader in Manhattan, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boys and Girls Club of Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome kids and awesome staff

    Cons

    unorganized and poor communication from top management

    Boys and Girls Club of Canada2018-04-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Professional staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Paradise, CA

    I have been working at Boys and Girls Club of Canada part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working with kids, let them learn new techniques , having fun, providing different programs for them to learn.

    Cons

    I would want it to be full time and job benefits

    Boys and Girls Club of Canada2017-08-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant child care director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Boys and Girls Club of Canada full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility to some point, could do some work from home.

    Cons

    Teacher staff not very reliable, so as an assistant director I had to stay longer hours (sometimes 12 hrs a day) if a teacher and sub didn't show up.

    Boys and Girls Club of Canada2017-08-01
  7. "sfas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director of Human Resources 

    I have been working at Boys and Girls Club of Canada full-time

    Pros

    Family focused and engaging and fun

    Cons

    Not for profit challenges as always

    Boys and Girls Club of Canada2019-12-17
  8. "very good place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Facilitator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boys and Girls Club of Canada full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great co workers, enjoying atmosphere

    Cons

    working with youth and kids sometimes challenging

    Boys and Girls Club of Canada2019-12-05
  9. "Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Boys and Girls Club of Canada full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere to work in.

    Cons

    There is little room for promotions.

    Boys and Girls Club of Canada2019-11-28
  10. "—"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Leader in Saskatoon, SK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boys and Girls Club of Canada part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I got to build relationships with children of all races and religion, it was inspiring and very beautiful to be around. I loved getting to know everyone and being able to understand their backgrounds a little more.

    Cons

    Some of the kids don’t listen.

    Advice to Management

    Give second chances.

    Boys and Girls Club of Canada2019-11-17
Found 63 reviews