Boys & Girls Clubs of America After School Program Staff Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Boys & Girls Clubs of America After School Program Staff Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

2.1
42%
Recommend to a Friend
7%
Approve of CEO
Boys & Girls Clubs of America President Jim Clark
Jim Clark
4 Ratings
  1. "very energetic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - After School Program Staff in Silsbee, TX

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    i love working with the kids

    Cons

    not enough money is being paid to us for our services

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2014-10-14
  2. "Secretive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - After School Program Staff in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling, working with kids is extremely rewarding

    Cons

    Secretive company. Sweeps a lot of issues under the rug or ignores them entirely.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-06-15
  3. "BGC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    After School Program Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America

    Pros

    Some coworkers and flexibility in schedule

    Cons

    Corruption on local level. Boss stole snacks and money, upper management did nothing.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-01-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    After School Program Staff in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America

    Pros

    Getting to work with positive people. Getting to work with kids. Never a boring or typical day. Rewarding and enjoyable job.

    Cons

    Hard to get days off. Pay never really fluctuates. Not enough staff members.

    Advice to Management

    Consider increasing number of staff at each location. For the convenience of your employees and for the safety and well being of the children and parents in the program.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2015-10-02
  5. "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - After School Program Staff in Bloomington, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really fun programming, and the people you work with are great. Schedule is flexible, and management supports your disciplinary choices.

    Cons

    Low pay, heavily dependent on volunteers, and the training for lower level staff is basically just being shown around and reading a manual.

    Advice to Management

    Designate a training program, and pay higher than minimum wage.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2015-08-27
  6. "Great kids, great organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - After School Program Staff in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The organization has resources available for their center staff. Great training for teenagers in work experience and college prep as well.

    Cons

    Limited resources sometimes - short hours at times

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff and support them - everything else will fall in place!

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2015-02-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Program leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    After School Program Staff in Long Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America

    Pros

    Working with the kids is the most rewarding aspect of this position. If you have childcare experience, getting the job is easy.

    Cons

    the pay isn't worth it, only $9.00 an hour , plus you have to pay $60-75 for CPR and first aid certification, in which the company will not reimburse you for. There is no training, they expected me to know their operations the day I started and was disciplined because I had no training.

    Advice to Management

    train your employees and reimburse CPR fees

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2015-01-28
  8. "Get environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - After School Program Staff in Boston, MA

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fun place to be apart off, awesome experience

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2014-03-05
  9. "Great opportunity to learn programming strategies and work with great kids!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - After School Program Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The kids are great and the management truly cares about creating quality programs for their kids. They try to treat their employees well and are very flexible. You get major National Holidays off with some pay.

    Cons

    Very little pay, little room for mobility within the company, part-time and split shift hours

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2014-02-16
  10. "Great stepping stone to future careers in education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - After School Program Staff in Bakersfield, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with the kids, lots of training held throughout the year, teacher liason helped me find new and creative ways to reach the students, and the teacher liason also helped me perfect my classroom management techniques, the crew I worked with were great

    Cons

    starting pay could be better, but it is non-profit.

    Advice to Management

    provide better support for new program leaders who don't have experience working with children, i was lucky to have a teacher liason who was so involved, otherwise i would not have been as successful. when i first started, and was having trouble, my site coordinator (who left soon after) literally told me "Just do what you think is right!", when asked for advice.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2013-06-17
Found 15 reviews