Boys & Girls Clubs of America Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Director

Boys & Girls Clubs of America Director Reviews

Updated Feb 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Boys & Girls Clubs of America President Jim Clark
Jim Clark
43 Ratings
  1. "Highs and Lows but overall a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Athletic Director 

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned many different skills such as marketing, becoming a better manager, and engaging positively with the kids. Healthy work/life balance

    Cons

    Upper management and admin are very disorganized and do not prioritize investing resources into current staff.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-09-27
  2. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Agoura Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging environment with great opportunity to grow professionally.

    Cons

    Building capacity within the organization to be the best it can be means that there can be some growing pains.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-08-15
  3. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing place to work and great benefits

    Cons

    Long hours but rewarding

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-08-14
  4. "Solid mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong mission, Flexible work schedules, Telework options, Good benefits, Comparable compensation

    Cons

    For some - the commute

    Continue reading
    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-08-13
  5. "Positives and Negatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working weekdays, opportunities to have fun, no late nights

    Cons

    Lack of upper management support, short staffed

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-08-21
  6. "Great Organization for Those Who Love to Work with Kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Club Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Strong CEO, Most employees are invested in doing a great job, emphasizes BGCA values as well as bgcconejo values, good job for those looking to see if a career in education is right for them.

    Cons

    Organizational cohesion needs improvement, some competitors may offer better compensation/benefits for same or similar role.

    Continue reading
    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-08-05
  7. "Good Benefits and Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Operations 

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time

    Pros

    good benefits good working environment supportive

    Cons

    little difference between levels of wages

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-07-28
  8. "A Great Place For Kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    rewarding and never the same routine.

    Cons

    Low pay. Can be a thankless job

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-08-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "DO NOT WORK HERE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The kids were so much fun, I had the ability to be creative and a big kid again. Very rewarding in the sense that you see your impact daily, the kids love you so much as did we!

    Cons

    Management. As of 2019, we had a new CEO come in, Calvin Lyons, he completely changed our club culture for the worse and appointed individuals who do not know how to work or communicate with staff to higher management. I constantly felt belittled by this individual, interrogated, and was often left with no support. I was sad by what was happening as soon as this individual became my "manager". There was a lack of empathy from him and honestly, he treated everyone like they didn't exist. He would never acknowledge you with a "good morning" and never said "hi". I reported this to the Board and they did nothing about it, I was told by the president, to "not take my job so seriously" in an all-staff meeting...how helpful. I felt helpless and like no one cared. It was disappointing because I really loved our club and the kids who came to it. Please do not choose to work here, they will cut you off quickly, give you terrible pay and work you until the bone. The Board does not care about you nor does anyone in upper management. Calvin never took the time to get to know us as a staff, or individually. Unfortunately, the kids suffer as a result.

    Continue reading
    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-08-06
  10. "Great place for kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Director in Savannah, GA
    Recommends

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Make a great impact on kids and teens who need you the most.

    Cons

    The pay is low due to it being a nonprofit

    Continue reading
    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-07-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 143 reviews