Boys & Girls Clubs of America Program Aide Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Program Aide

Boys & Girls Clubs of America Program Aide Reviews

Updated Aug 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
6%
Recommend to a Friend
4%
Approve of CEO
Boys & Girls Clubs of America President Jim Clark
Jim Clark
3 Ratings
  1. "Program Aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Aide in Elma, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff was extremely friendly and working with the kids was fun and rewarding

    Cons

    There were really no cons

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-08-28
  2. "Good Starting Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Aide 

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to move up in the company.

    Cons

    Turn Over rate is super high. Pay is not competitive.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-08-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Profoundly awful management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Aide in North East, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The kids were awesome, and my coworkers were amazing.

    Cons

    My direct supervisor and her supervisor were unapologetic racists. My religion was mocked, as well as my disabilities. The directions I received were contradictory and incomplete. My supervisor made fun of the children, and said horrible things about myself and my coworkers to anyone who would listen, including parents. I took my concerns to HR and nothing was done.

    Advice to Management

    The fish rots from the head.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-10-10
  4. "Worked there for years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Aide in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good management Weekends off Friendly staff Sufficient training

    Cons

    Always short staff No communication No assertiveness

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-07-18
  5. "Program Aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Aide 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a privelege to contribute to such a worthwhile cause. The kids are a joy to be around.

    Cons

    Disorganized, lack of leadership, lack of teamwork, and very low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the staff. Give them proper training, support, and mentorship, and provide them with opportunity for growth.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2017-10-10
  6. "Program Aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Aide in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Impact Children's Lives for the Better Fun and Interactive Opportunity to Develop Soft Skills

    Cons

    Administration Unfair Pay Troubling Future for the Children and the Employees

    Advice to Management

    You must follow California State law on salaries. If a person is in charge of multiple people and has administration duties that deals with daily operation you must pay them a salary sufficient enough for their position.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2017-09-25
  7. "Great after school job for high schoolers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Aid in Rensselaer, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun working with kids from diverse backgrounds

    Cons

    no upward movement within the organization, budget issues, questionable management

    Advice to Management

    Management to support internal staff

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2017-07-12
  8. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Aide in Woodbridge, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working with kids feeling of making a difference relaxed environment

    Cons

    no real room for advancement without knowing the higher-ups well. At my location had 4 branch managers in a year of course dealing with the occasional rude customer

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-05-19
  9. "Overall great. I wish there was more specialized training beforehand."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Aide in Chesterton, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The kids are always keeping things exciting and fun. There is never a dull moment.

    Cons

    Working with multiple children who have special needs in a very small room is very challenging.

    Advice to Management

    Please provide specialized training for staff members before they are thrown into their job left to figure out almost everything on their own.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-01-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Relaxed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Aide in Reno, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very easy going Friendly Staff Very positive enviroment

    Cons

    Unorganized at times Managers are not too helpful with individual problems

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2014-12-03
Found 12 reviews