Boys & Girls Clubs of America Program Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Boys & Girls Clubs of America Program Assistant Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
86%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Boys & Girls Clubs of America President Jim Clark
Jim Clark
10 Ratings
  1. "Great Adventure!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Assistant in McComb, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, great employees and great learning experiences

    Cons

    Wish I had more hours

    Advice to Management

    More hours more pay

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2017-09-29
  2. "Fun environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programs Assistant in Santa Clarita, CA

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to get to work with kids

    Cons

    Can be hectic at times but manageable

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-07-27
  3. "Tests your limits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Support Assistant in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Getting to hangout with kids & play games Creating a fun work environment Room for individuality & uniqueness Sense of good feeling after work

    Cons

    Kids can be difficult at times Programs can be unorganized Parents can be hard to talk to

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-04-05
  4. "The kids are amazing, but depending on who your service director is it the club may be ran in a disorganized fashion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programs Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The kids. Free food at times. The events. Opportunities to move up

    Cons

    They exploit the story of club members for a national competition. Many times they make the children lie to make the stories juicer. Lack of supervisor training. The unequal distribution of money. Extremely low pay even though money is always being donated to the organization. No benefits.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-04-04
  5. "Good Cause, Terrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to make a difference in kid's lives and be able to watch them grow.

    Cons

    Management was never transparent. Always forgetful and very unorganized.

    Advice to Management

    Work harder to keep your employees there and give them a reason to come back year after year.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-09-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Responsible for positively impacting children’s day to day experiences. Mostly working with the younger groups of kids."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Assistant in Hilton Head Island, SC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cute kids, get to have meaningful relationships with them where they can depend on you. Get to teach the kids cool projects sometimes.

    Cons

    No training - my first day I was just thrown into the job with 35+ k-2nd grade students and had no clue what to do. No real room for growth within the company.

    Advice to Management

    Train your employees and treat them equal like they matter.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2017-12-26
  7. "Program assistant part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Assistant in Hilton Head Island, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing to work with the children and help them develop. As part of my duties I was able to share my love for the outdoors with the children I supervised.

    Cons

    No time to plan for activities as the management demanded we do at work, on the clock, but expected us to only show up when the children were there. Too many leaders pulling staff different directions without having one plan in mind.

    Advice to Management

    Have a leader. Have a plan. Enforce it.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2017-09-24
  8. "staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    get to help better the lives of children and fun staff

    Cons

    not enough pay or career growth

    Advice to Management

    offer raises to keep people working for you--- less turnover

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2017-08-08
  9. "Program Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Assistant in Thousand Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time

    Pros

    Working with the kids is a great experience and extremely rewarding.

    Cons

    Being inconsiderate of all possible options for hiring a new director.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-12-17
  10. "Program Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Program Assistant in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America for less than a year

    Pros

    The kids and helping them to become better role models

    Cons

    i really have nothing to say but kids that can not listen

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-08-22
Found 30 reviews