Boys & Girls Clubs of America Program Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Boys & Girls Clubs of America Program Specialist Reviews

Updated Sep 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
12%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Boys & Girls Clubs of America President Jim Clark
Jim Clark
2 Ratings
  1. "Loved this job!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recreation Program Specialist in Columbia, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time

    Pros

    Development training, hands on experience, Growth within the company, and directors were the best

    Cons

    Had to be flexible for weekend events or holiday events.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-04-02
  2. "Loved it !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Program Specialist 

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time

    Pros

    Great experience to work with children.

    Cons

    Little hours and pay could be better.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-09-30
  3. "Have to have passion to work with youth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Program Specialist 

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time

    Pros

    Very rewarding position to impact youth

    Cons

    entry level positions low pay and hours

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-06-03
  4. "Great for heart! Bad for bank account."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Program coordinators give you a great amount of freedom to create youth programs that best cater to the youth that attend your specific club.

    Cons

    You have to meet too long a list of requirements to attain a pay raise. Working there for years and being an effective employee is not enough.

    Advice to Management

    Create reasonable pay increase opportunities to increase part-time employee retention.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-04-14
  5. "decent for college students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Specialist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America for more than a year

    Pros

    decent pay for a job that doesnt require a degree

    Cons

    kids get to do whatever they want no career advancement

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2017-07-27
  6. "Horrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Specialist in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None. $9 an hour isn't enough to live on.

    Cons

    $9 an hour for 20 hours a week during term time only is insufficient to live on. Senior staff treat workers as disposable. The work is horrible, trying to force unwilling children to do their homework when they're tired having been in school already 8 hours. No benefits. Constant sicknesses from dirty children. Favoritism for promotions. Promote favorites over ability. They don't tell you when they decide not to open for the day so you only know when you turn up to closed doors. The daily programs provided by head office are uninspiring. The children just are not interested in things that read like lessons instead of fun activities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Close the company down

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-11-24
  7. "Total Waste of Valuable Talent Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Specialist in Columbia, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Will Work with College Students Some staff members are friendly Club members were mostly well behaved No strenuous physical labors

    Cons

    Low Pay Low Hours No Benefits HR and Management were quite disagreeable especially when talking with employees. Corrupt business practices Inconsistent and lack of resources to run a club properly. Management and other employees will throw you under the bus without batting an eye. Only Part time available for entry level

    Advice to Management

    HR team needs to stop making employees feel bad about themselves. Management needs to stop blaming employees for children's bad behavior, most employees are not adequately trained to deal with children. Need to train employees correctly in every situation that could arise and how to handle it (and don't train so late ex. year after the hire date.)

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-09-15
  8. "Enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Program Specialist in Columbia, SC
    Recommends

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the reasons I enjoyed working for the Boys and Girls Club of the Midlands is because I had the opportunity to work with some wonderful people.

    Cons

    One of the downsides to the employment was that it was a part time job and I only was able to work four hours a day.

    Advice to Management

    I do not have any advice for management because I think that management does a good job.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-03-15
  9. "Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America

    Pros

    Awesome opportunity to give back and help develop character and strength in our future leaders. The club is set up to help provide a positive experience for members 6-18. As staff you get to shape and pour into children who may not have a lot of positive environments at the time. A lot is asked of you but you get to be creative and have fun while loving on some "lovable" kids too !!! Impacting lives for the better everyday .....

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay is not great and there are minimal benefits. A lot to do in certain positions e.g. Art room, learning center.....Limited hours that will be paid. Limited full-time opportunities too.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work with training, and communicating ! Look at salary, hours, and benefits....especially for those who have been there 5 or more years. We love what we do !!

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2015-10-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The Truth of BGCASVC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Specialist in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You will get nothing from here unless you do something about it.

    Cons

    Too many to name for this company.

    Advice to Management

    Just leave the money for the children alone.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2015-02-03
Found 13 reviews