Boys & Girls Clubs of America Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Boys & Girls Clubs of America President Jim Clark
Jim Clark
432 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with community, working with kids(in 113 reviews)

  • "Ability to make a difference to at-risk youth(in 64 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Not too many hours for these part time positions(in 64 reviews)

  • "Lower pay due to being a non-profit organization(in 50 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Boys & Girls Clubs of America and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Mar 28, 2021 - Teacher in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is an ok place to work.

      Cons

      I am happy about my job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Burn out is quick without prior knowledge

      May 5, 2021 - Group Leader in Snohomish, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      the kids are great no day is the same arts and crafts are awesome outside time is mandatory

      Cons

      i have to ask for my 10 minute breaks and if i don’t remember i don’t get them i have to work over time if a parent is late and instead of overtime i have to take a longer lunch the next day not enough staff

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Opportunity

      May 6, 2021 - Program Instructor in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff, flexible hours, diversity

      Cons

      Stressful, Outside Activities During Summer

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Easy job

      May 1, 2021 - Youth Development Professional in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff is super helpful & it’s a great job for someone in college.

      Cons

      It’s just 3 hours of work so that meant $30 a day..

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Employer

      Apr 5, 2021 - Receptionist/Administrative Assistant in Topeka, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A great collaborative effort across the system. Management is ready to work with anyone wanting to share ideas or learn new things. The impact that the members experience makes the job very rewarding and worth the stress.

      Cons

      Miscommunication, or lack thereof, between the management team and employees can be problematic. There is a feeling of disconnect between the two which leads to a lot of confusion. Expectations and workload upon Youth Development Leaders and Impact Coaches runs extremely high and can be very stressful. This work is not suitable for career-minded individuals but perfect for those seeking a part-time position.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      Apr 22, 2021 - Toys R Us in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best thing ever, I had a lot of fun. I created bonds with kids, and I learned how to work with kids and myself.

      Cons

      understaffed, only 2 people working that day with about 50 kids at one point.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Better to Volunteer

      Apr 27, 2021 - Staff in Covington, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a rewarding job when you get through to the kids

      Cons

      Low wages, high stress, and I put in more work than the other part time workers

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Apr 27, 2021 - Program Aide 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Doesn’t feel like a real job. Great place to get basic work experience.

      Cons

      Fun, but had starter job pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Local Organizations Are All Unique

      Apr 14, 2021 - Executive Director, Non-Profit in Mission, SD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love my work and believe this is one of the most important organizations serving our nation.

      Cons

      Benefits will always vary amongst local organizations - each is its own independently lead organization, affiliated into a national federation. National BGCA does not dictate local organzation job compensation, beyond a few basics.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      BGCA

      Apr 27, 2021 - Out of School Time Site Director in Brockton, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -great opportunities to network and connect

      Cons

      -nonprofit sector never pays enough

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,771 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Boys & Girls Clubs of America Job Seekers

    Program Director
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Youth Development Professional
    Learn About the Job
    Youth Development Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Boys & Girls Clubs of America? Share Your Experiences

    or