Boys & Girls Clubs of America Unit Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Boys & Girls Clubs of America Unit Director Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
56%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Boys & Girls Clubs of America President Jim Clark
Jim Clark
5 Ratings
  1. "Amazing company, surprisingly great employer paid benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Director in Everett, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working with the community, they promote from within, flexible schedule. The company is always growing and is team oriented. The staff, parents and children on site are amazing to work with as well.

    Cons

    Some Club locations are not the safest. Supervisors are understandably busy so they are not always there to directly support. Still great company.

    Advice to Management

    Please listen to staff ideas regarding needs for training, staffing, supplies etc.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2017-02-23
  2. "Great place for kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Director in Savannah, GA
    Recommends

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Make a great impact on kids and teens who need you the most.

    Cons

    The pay is low due to it being a nonprofit

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who are willing to be more than a babysitter

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-07-27
  3. "Supervising staff and members"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Director in Garfield, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    variety of avenues for child care experience youth attending flexibility with schedule

    Cons

    pay barely any room to grow into full time staff training is insufficient

    Advice to Management

    Present some avenues of growth, if available

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-04-02
  4. "BGCGW ORG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Director in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Flexible -Good life to work ratio -Fun -Fulfilling

    Cons

    -High Expectations with little to no support -No support from upper management -Low Pay -Long Hours for front line staff -A safe place for kids is not a priority for upper management -High turnover rate -Not consistent -Leadership in BGCGW HQ

    Advice to Management

    Make supporting your staff and making clubs safe for kids and staff a priority.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-02-28
  5. "Poor pay, good work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will see a measurable difference in the lives of others.

    Cons

    The hours are trash, the pay is low, you will often work with/for people who don't care, and there is a weird history of racism.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the ones who push farther. Ditch the ones who don't.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-06-14
  6. "Dean"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Director in Huntersville, NC
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time

    Pros

    I loved working with the kids. Community based school setting. The safety of the building was awesome. The medical insurance was great

    Cons

    The stressors of state visits and state testing stressed teachers beyond belief not enough affirmations were given not a lot of appreciation

    Advice to Management

    Let’s teachers teach. DsQ walk thru are ridiculous

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-03-01
  7. "Great, you're in upper management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Director in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The members and giving back to your community. Ability to expose youth to new experiences and opportunities. We have enough money to run programs and purchase supplies.

    Cons

    Administration has very poor processes and procedures in place that waste time and resources. Difficult to get anything accomplished due to insecurities.

    Advice to Management

    Let the directors do their job.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2017-09-22
  8. "Take advantage of dedicated workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Unit Director in Harrisonburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you have a passion for working with children and teens, especially youth coming from difficult circumstances, you will really enjoy the opportunities for direct impact on youth in need of mentors.

    Cons

    Most direct-care employers are intentionally overworked and underpaid. At my club, the staff who were most passionate and dedicated to working with youth were taken advantage of. Those who believed in the mission were paid the least and worked the most. It was a very disappointing work culture considering how valuable the program is for young people. I asked for higher pay when I improved the program and was denied. I could no longer pay my bills on the low salary so I turned in a two-weeks notice. It was only when I was resigning that my supervisor offered the pay I deserved, but I left anyway because the organization did not value my effort and dedication. I have heard similar stories from BGC employees in other regions of my state, and even from those in other states.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Boys and Girls Clubs are important places for young boys and girls to grow. Competent and dedicated staff should be fairly compensated if the organization wishes to fix the high employee turnover rate.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2017-07-19
  9. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Director in Savannah, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, fulfilling, purposeful, great values, great benefits

    Cons

    Don't make a ton, hours in the summer are tough

    Advice to Management

    You must value the fulfillment you get from the job over what you make.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2017-03-29
  10. "Fun, fun, fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Unit Director 
    Recommends

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America

    Pros

    Awesome guidance, straight forward, flexible, and awesome activities.

    Cons

    Fundraising. It's the only negative.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing work!

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-04-05
Found 17 reviews