Boys & Girls Clubs of America "non profit" Reviews | Glassdoor

Boys & Girls Clubs of America Employee Reviews about "non profit"

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Boys & Girls Clubs of America CEO Jim Clark
Jim Clark
360 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Part time employees may find split scheduling difficult due to club operating hours(in 58 reviews)

  • "It is a non-profit so yes "everyone does wear multiple hats"(in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "non profit"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Organization does meaningful work, friendly co-workers, terrific leadership

    Cons

    Limitations for compensation and benefits of non-profit organizations

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-10-05
  2. "Mission based organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Club Events Manager in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working for a good cause, well known non profit, a lot of autonomy

    Cons

    Having multiple positions put into one

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2019-07-11
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Youth Development Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time

    Pros

    -You know you're creating a big difference in the lives of the kids that attend the club -Typically a unit director won't micromanage your work. You have some freedom in choosing the best way to interact with and create programs for members

    Cons

    -Being a non-profit, even the hourly pay could be higher -There is still frequent employee turnover, which can make structure and uniform rules difficult

    Advice to Management

    -Implement a formal employee training program at each club! Have a universal set of rules that all clubs should follow

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-10-07
  5. "Early Learning Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time

    Pros

    The staff was working hard to build a better office culture, and was constantly checking in! The children! Facilitating Literacy classes for the parents was amazing

    Cons

    It is a non-profit so yes "everyone does wear multiple hats"

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-10-04
  6. "Marketing and Development Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America for less than a year

    Pros

    Great non-profit, fun atmosphere, everyone there really likes their job.

    Cons

    No downsides! Great place to work

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-09-18
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Director in Statesville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very positive company culture. Awesome professional development opportunities, a huge network of people to learn from and all for a truly great cause.

    Cons

    like any non-profit, salaries are often lower than market average.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-08-24
  8. "Program Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time

    Pros

    Rewarding getting to work with some awesome kids, learned a lot about myself and the world around me.

    Cons

    Being a non-profit, the pay isn’t much. I definitely think the people working with the type of kids there need to be paid much more.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-06-06
  9. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America

    Pros

    Working with youth. Being a role model. Making a difference while serving the community. Management were nice and easy to work with.

    Cons

    Long hours outside of your scheduled work time. Low pay, but you expect that working for a non profit organization.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-05-20
  10. "Financial Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time

    Pros

    It is a great non-profit that gives amazing opportunities for the kids in their clubs.

    Cons

    In the Finance department their was never a true feeling of teamwork.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication within the company.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-03-26
  11. "Fulfilling but unbalanced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The organization provides a great service to the community; the kids we serve are phenomenal and our staff are a blast to work with. The culture is fair and they're working on fair wages on a non-profit level.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is way off when you're not a base level staff. You're asked to pour everything into the job at the risk of your personal relationships.

    Advice to Management

    Stop working after 8 PM and calling other employees!!!!

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2018-04-05
Found 64 reviews