Boys & Girls Clubs of America "non profit" Reviews | Glassdoor

Boys & Girls Clubs of America Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Boys & Girls Clubs of America President Jim Clark
Jim Clark
365 Ratings
  1. "Good Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Intern in Newport News, VA

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot about how non-profit organizations operate. Nice people and good experience.

    Cons

    Lots of individual work that can become boring fast.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-11-08
  2. "Great Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Office Assistant in Fountain Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America

    Pros

    I loved working at BGCHV. They really set the standards in customer service and child care. All management is very passionate and is always willing to help you grow.

    Cons

    I wish that there were more full time positions available for admin and pay was low. However, pay is low because they are a non-profit, which isn't necessarily a con.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! As a former employee, I would definitely send my own future children to Boys and Girls Club of Huntington Valley.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-10-12
  3. "Nonprofit of Boston"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time

    Pros

    Everyone cares about the work they are doing and BGCB does great work in Boston and Chelsea. They promote from within the organization. They offer generous time off.

    Cons

    Its a large organization with employee turnover high at the clubs. Its a non-profit which usually pays less than forprofit.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-10-12
  4. "Unit Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America

    Pros

    Developing young minds of tomorrow. Working with community organizers and community leaders as well as teachers. My experience was awesome because I made it that.

    Cons

    There is a lot of responsibility for such low pay, which is to be expected for a non-profit organization.

    Advice to Management

    Find people who are settled and ready to stay for a couple of years so that the kids have continuity with the staff.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-10-08
  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Newport News, VA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere for work and bosses don't constantly look over your shoulder or micromanage. None

    Cons

    I guess if I have to put a negative then it would be that the money is not the greatest but you have to expect that from a non-profit.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to just keep doing what you're doing...the employees seem happy and fulfilled by their jobs.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-08-27
  6. "Would never work here !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Supervisor in Phila, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The kids were definitely the only good thing about working here, they are amazing ! I think each location and club can have different pros

    Cons

    There is no training, put in dangerous locations, staff is not equipped. No supplies. The salary is the lowest I have ever seen in a non-profit.

    Advice to Management

    Train your staff and pay them more and there won't be such a high turnover

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-09-15
  7. "Program Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Boys & Girls Clubs of America part-time

    Pros

    Working with kids is incredible and you get to learn more about working for a non profit organization.

    Cons

    Non profit organization so pay is limited as well as full time positions. There is also a lot of turnover so the kids have different staff each year.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out better ways to retain staff members. The turnover is ridiculous and needs to be addressed.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-07-25
  8. "A great Job if you love kids!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Unit Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America for more than a year

    Pros

    * absolutely changing lives in low income communities. * Opportunity to give back * You will learn alot about grants and non-profit organizations

    Cons

    * Alot of office politics * the top three leaders of the organization are all family. Two sisters and one of the sisters daughter. They have each others back endlessly and you will be wrong no matter what you say or do * There is no HR department

    Advice to Management

    Create a more fair environment for employees to be creative.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-07-29
  9. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Intern in Phoenix, AZ

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America for less than a year

    Pros

    Leaning a lot about design in the non-profit world. I had always wonder what it would be like to work for a non-profit not a studio.

    Cons

    Did not really have a lot of time for design. I really do get why, most of the time is spent on working on things for the kids. I know why I just think there was some missed opportunities that design might have helped with.

    Advice to Management

    Give the people who you hire a chance to do the jobs you hire them for missed opportunities that I think would benefit the kids.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-06-22
  10. "Labor of Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Boys & Girls Clubs of America

    Pros

    Everyday rewarding experiences with youth who really need you.

    Cons

    Frustrations can build in any non-profit sector when it comes to support, funding etc.

    Boys & Girls Clubs of America2016-05-31
Found 64 reviews