Brad's Deals Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Brad's Deals Founder & Editor-in-Chief Brad Wilson (no image)
Brad Wilson
28 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Place to Work

    Oct 9, 2020 - Data Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Inclusive, good pay, flexible hours, great manager

    Cons

    Small bonus, lack of direction

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great software development team to learn and grow with.

    Sep 22, 2020 - Software Development Intern in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great mentors. The whole development team will give you all the help you need to learn as an intern. Great work-life balance. Good AGILE work environment with daily meetings and bi-weekly SCRUMS. Opportunity to work on projects as an intern. Very good work environment with highly approachable software development team. Work from home on Fridays.

    Cons

    Could have had a better pay for the interns.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Brad's Deals Response

    VP, People

    Thank you for your feedback and for the time you spent partnering with our team. It was a pleasure to have you working with us and we wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors!

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Editorial team

    Sep 14, 2020 - Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The work is self-directed and the team is really good to work with.

    Cons

    The work can be repetitive.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A caring company that still feels like a start up...in a good way

    Jan 22, 2019 - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I went through a battle with cancer in 2018. I didn't really know what to expect from Brad's Deals since I never had a real health scare like this. Not only were they extremely accommodating, they went above and beyond to make sure I had nothing to worry about. They valued me not only as an employee but as a person. The team at Brad's is amazing and very collaborative. Makes working on many new initiatives exciting. Additionally, Free lunch Wednesdays is a bonus plus snacks in the kitchen everyday.

    Cons

    Overall, not many complaints. The struggles that you feel at a start up are similar but if you like that challenge, it's a great place to work.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Brad's Deals Response

    VP, People

    We are thrilled that you are back and feeling ready to tackle our exciting new initiatives! Most importantly, glad you felt supported to take the time you need to focus on yourself and your family. Welcome back and thanks for the kind words!

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Marketing

    Nov 2, 2018 - Marketing in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company benefits and great training

    Cons

    Some pressure to increase sales.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Brad's Deals Response

    VP, People

    Thanks for sharing your feedback, its great to hear what Brad's Deals does well as well as see your advice to management. We would love the opportunity to improve your experience. Feel free to reach out internally to help us understand this further.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Sleeper Company

    Jul 30, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Transparency and weekly all-hands meetings * Highly engaged team * Management truly cares * Willingness to change hard things for the better (HR policies, technology & business processes) * Work/life balance * Access and ability to make changes across teams * Interesting long-term prospects * Diverse team

    Cons

    * Medical benefits could be a little more favorable * Sometimes short-term costs for small things can be overvalued * Long-term vision could be more clearly communicated sometimes

    2 people found this review helpful

    Brad's Deals Response

    VP, People

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. We do truly care about our team members and want to make this a supportive and engaging environment. Thanks for the advice, as well. We will look into those suggestions.

  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Clueless company

    Sep 30, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everybody puts in the least amount of time to pay for the bills while they try to have a side hustle. The place serves like a good stepping stone. Most people at this company have something they have on the side that they care about more instead.

    Cons

    This is the most mismanaged team I have ever seen. The management is really terrible, and spend most of their time either "working" from home or sending each other emails about meetings. The company has been around for a long time now, and growth has pretty much slowed down, if not stopped. This company is scrapping the bottom of the barrel here, and clueless managers do not know what is going to work. They have a failed strategy after another, and really don't know what they want to do next, and yes they communicate things really very little and very late. I'm pretty sure Brad( the CEO) is frustrated at the slowing pace, and has checked out. He will occasionally just rant off in team meetings when things mess up, which is often. This business is not that interesting anyways, checkout affiliate marketing if you want to learn more. The business is just revolving around a glorified email newsletter, and that is the only thing that brings in most of the cash.

    8 people found this review helpful

    Brad's Deals Response

    VP, People

    Hi there. Based on what you have written, I would like to learn more specifics from you. Please reach out so I can understand your concerns better. I know Brad will be interested to hear this as well.

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A Communication Nightmare

    Aug 21, 2018 -  in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very easy work. Good benefits and good work life balance.

    Cons

    They are doing a terrible job of communication across teams and across the organization. They treat contractors like they are incompetent and the managers are so blunt it comes across as rude. If you're looking to be a valued part of a team, look somewhere else. You are expendable.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Brad's Deals Response

    VP, People

    I would like to get your feedback so we can better understand from you how communication may be improved. We want to make this as transparent of an organization as possible. Please let me know if you would like to connect.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    At Brad's Deals, you get what you give, which is great.

    Jun 4, 2018 - Chief Operating Officer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Everyone has the opportunity to work autonomously while gaining experience across the company, broadening individual experience. - Those who are hungry to learn and grow, do so. Those who are not, do not. - There is no tenure-based expectation for advancement, it's entirely performance-based, which is how it should be. - The expectation for everyone is to challenge the norm and find better, more efficient, cost-effective ways of doing things. - If this isn't how you're wired, then it's not a fit. If it is, you'll see the difference and grow your knowledge and skills faster than at most other companies. - Other notables include extreme flexibility with schedule / work-life balance, awesome peers, and a pretty cool office.

    Cons

    Given the nature of our business, we tend to scrutinize things through a contrarian lens, which can slow some decisions down from time to time.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Brad's Deals Response

    VP, People

    Agreed that we are on the right path! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experiences here and for helping to show the unique environment here - both in terms of opportunities and the work life balance.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Editor

    Apr 26, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is very collaborative and open to ideas. Can chat with anyone you need, which is a big pro of a smaller company. Company meetings every week help keep everyone in the know and on the same page. High expectations in a relaxed atmosphere. Also a lot of flexibility which is great for a work life balance.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Brad's Deals Response

    VP, People

    Thanks for letting us know about your experiences so far. We definitely want it to be a transparent organization!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 English Reviews

Work at Brad's Deals? Share Your Experiences

Brad's Deals logo
or