Brad's Deals Reviews | Glassdoor

Brad's Deals Reviews

Updated April 14, 2017
23 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

4.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Brad Wilson
14 Ratings

23 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Account Coordinator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The people here are great! The office has a relaxed atmosphere full of hard working, smart individuals. Definitely a millennial vibe here

    Cons

    I have no complaints so far :)

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Brad's Deals Response

    Aug 4, 2016 – Dir, HR

    Thank you for letting us know about your experiences so far! Welcome to the team.


  2. "Interview Experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brad's Deals full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very fast process, great conversations, timely followup, company and role transparency. Two phone interviews with HR and hiring manager and then brought in to meet entire team. Overall great experience!

    Cons

    There are no cons with interview process.

    Brad's Deals Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Dir, HR

    Thank you for the feedback! We strive to be as timely as possible and make the process an open and candid one. Glad to have you on the team!

  3. "Great small company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEO Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - SEO Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brad's Deals full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Ability to expand on my own
    very young company, average age around 30.

    Cons

    Lack of executive level leadership in marketing keeps us out of the decision making process at the highest level.

    Advice to Management

    Understandable that we don't have leadership, but at least a voice at the table would be nice

    Brad's Deals Response

    Jul 20, 2015 – Dir, HR

    Thank you for letting us know. We are always open to hearing your thoughts and will continue to strive to provide your team with updates


  4. "Great and flexible work environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brad's Deals full-time

    Pros

    A very young, open-office environment where everyone is smart, laid back and driven.The hours are flexible--Fridays are work at home in the summer, and you can work remotely almost any time as long as you're actually getting things done. Catered lunches on Wednesdays are a great motivator, and I also appreciate the free healthy drinks and snacks in the kitchen. Everyone is very open to collaboration and new ideas, and the monthly parties and weekly meetings (with beer!) help to foster new friendships and fun.

    Cons

    The pay isn't overly competitive, but the flexibility of my schedule makes up for that. It's also hard for me to see a clear career path within the company because everyone is so specialized, but as we grow that will probably change. Plus it seems like everyone who's been here a while has carved our their own path, which is pretty cool.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be open about what's happening in all aspects of the company as we grow and change with the times.

    Brad's Deals Response

    Jul 20, 2015 – Dir, HR

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know how things are going!


  5. Helpful (3)

    "So far, so great!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Very flexible work schedule with summer hours. Casual environment with very up-beat and welcoming people. Great River North office location.

    Cons

    I haven't really found a downside to working here. It has been an all around positive experience so far.

    Advice to Management

    As the company grows, try as best you can to maintain the small community working environment you have established. It is a very large part of what makes working here great.

    Brad's Deals Response

    May 26, 2015 – Dir, HR

    Thank you for the feedback! We are glad that it has been such a positive experience for you and would like to know your continued thoughts and feedback.


  6. Helpful (8)

    "Awesome surface perks, awful underbelly"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brad's Deals full-time

    Pros

    Free food (stocked kitchen with snacks/drinks and lunch on Wednesdays).
    Work at home Fridays in the summer.
    Lots of open spaces (and closed offices) available to work in.
    Flexibility with when you come in (you can start whenever you want, as long as you put in your 8 hours a day).

    Cons

    Working at Brad's Deals is great on the surface. It's won a ton of awards for being one of the best places to work, and that's what the company projects, outwardly and inwardly. (Sometimes I feel that the fact that this is such a great place to work is shoved down my throat.) But, in reality, it isn't. A ton of people in my department aren't satisfied. The base salary is too low, and now, it is harder to get bonuses.

    There was a bit of a big hype about hitting the more than 50 employee mark, but really, that isn't so much about growth as it is about replacing people. For example, if you look in the acknowledgements of Brad's book, more than half the people listed now aren't with the company (around a year and a half after the book was published).

    I think the cons can be summed up in three words: unfair, cheap, and favoritism.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better. Pay them a wage that is commiserate with their experience and the work that they do. Work on fixing the internal issues instead of just focusing on the great, glossy side of Brad's Deals.

    Brad's Deals Response

    Sep 18, 2014 – Dir, HR

    I am concerned upon reading your review. Please email me to set up time so we can talk further about these issues.


  7. Helpful (4)

    "Under the radar"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brad's Deals full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    People are really smart, products we work on are really interesting, great benefits.

    Cons

    Not necessarily a con, but the company is growing, so there are some growing pains that are going. All of these are common in growing companies, but great nonetheless.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up on the transparency through this growth.

    Brad's Deals Response

    Sep 18, 2014 – Dir, HR

    Thank you for the kind words!

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brad's Deals full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Place to work. The pros of the company are great life work balance, work at home on Friday during the summer, great people to work with and great company values.

    Cons

    No Cons I think the company is great !

    Brad's Deals Response

    Sep 18, 2014 – Dir, HR

    Thanks for letting us know! Glad you feel that way.


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brad's Deals full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Brad's Deals has a TON of smart people working here. The company theory seems to be "hire intelligent, hardworking people and get out of the way," and it's working. Work at home Fridays in summer are awesome, and, generally speaking, people like to work here and care about the success of the company. Employee stock options are about to be rolled out, too... that's a huge plus.

    Cons

    Currently, one of the teams here is lacking a VP. It doesn't seem right for an integral department to not have a seat at the table.

    Advice to Management

    Really, there's not much I would change about the culture, compensation or benefits here.

    Brad's Deals Response

    Sep 18, 2014 – Dir, HR

    This is awesome! Thanks!


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic place to work in Chicago"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brad's Deals full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Talented coworkers
    - Positive attitudes
    - Supportive upper management
    - Laid back environment
    - Cool office
    - Summer work from home Fridays

    Cons

    - Occasional growing pains
    - Not as much room for growth in comparison to larger companies

    Brad's Deals Response

    Sep 18, 2014 – Dir, HR

    Thanks for letting us know!


Showing 23 of 24 reviews
Reset Filters