Bradley-Morris Reviews | Glassdoor

Bradley-Morris Reviews

Updated Jul 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Bradley-Morris CEO Tim Best (no image)
Tim Best
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Don't Buy All the Negative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bradley-Morris full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This was my only full-time position after leaving the military. I was plucked from their pool of candidates while job-seeking to run a new program at BMI dedicated to one specific and small niche, and it was one of the best decisions made in my career thus far, joining said company. I was there for nearly six years and remember the time when the former CEO herself came into the office every day and most recently the... CEO who is the current. He quickly became a mentor to me along with the VP of BD, and I'll use them as references until the day I die. I was able to significantly increase my earnings with the continued experience that I gained there and left only after moving on to another great opportunity that seemed better still for me (only after much prayer, though). Had the new role in a different industry entirely not presented itself- I'd be there at work in the office today as I write this. I waited 2 months after leaving to write this review, but I can attest that they do, in fact, pay commissions that one is due to receive even up to the 2 month mark after leaving if one leaves in the correct way, giving ample notice. I'll continue to recommend them to transitioning officers, and I'll treasure the time that I spent with this company, learning the entire time.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are none that come to my mind.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pouring into those impressionable, talented, albeit inexperienced Account Reps and Recruiters. I always appreciated the way Mgmt was able to easily identify whether the issue was a lack of effort or a lack of training or "know how", quickly correcting the latter while owning it- that was what continually kept me going.

    Bradley-Morris2017-11-16
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Starts well, seemingly always ends in disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bradley-Morris full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The area that we are in and the work that we do is extremely rewarding - we get to help companies leverage talent from the military, while at the same time providing at times life changing opportunities for personal and professional development of the candidates we touch. The work environment is welcoming, you can read more about this in other posts so I wont dive into it. The opportunity to make great money on... commissions is there, but I can dive into this further below. The CEO is an amazing leader and someone I would follow into combat anywhere and some of the members of various business units are brilliant and helpful. The range of products offered is unmatched in our space, but looks can be deceiving.

    Show More

    Cons

    Bradley-Morris since being purchased by a private equity group, and in having them acquire RecruitMilitary has turned a consistent and fluid work environment into a spiderweb of non-stop changes (being okay with being okay at a lot of things and not great at any) and an organization whose new 'technology driven/mobile' business model renders it ineffective. The leadership has failed to do the single-most... important thing that makes leaders great - caring for its people. There is a complete failure to communicate intent and direction, at all levels. Often leaders are in charge of over 20-30 people, with no lower level leaders - tell me someone that can effectively directly manage that many people and look up to meet the demands of the next company objectives and I will . The leaders of this company repetitively say that they have invested in their people, but have cut the pay of nearly every single role - severely, and while it would make sense if those funds could be reallocated and invested in professional development or a lower cost product, the general understanding is that it is taken to afford more people at the top, or to pay our private equity ownership more - our product we get for free, that's right free - zero overhead. The once competitive atmosphere has been turned into a metric driven call center and has led to a lowered standard required to work here. The structure of the company is cumbersome, rigid, and more importantly, lacks vision to relay communications effectively. In the last year this company has lost at least half dozen, if not more, people to who have been with the company for over 5 years - the message with all of them to their peers is 'this place is a joke with no opportunity for growth and the leadership are clueless to what leadership is because A, B, and C should not be leaders', the PC answer is often 'I am seeking something new to grow or a new challenge'. There is no upward mobility, and even when people are promoted, it is through favoritism or popularity rather than merit. As this company continues to try and cement itself as the leader in the Veteran hiring space, it seemingly unknowingly is falling short and every single day there is less and less value we provide to our clients. The benefits for employees is arguably the worst I have ever seen and heard of. Expect 60hr+ work weeks for $50-80k. Again, this ship started taking on water when we got bought out and it will sink with the current environment unchanged.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Leaders need to invest in their people - it is the single most important factor of every business - and your decisions have left us wanting. Communicate to your subordinates clear and simple guidance and leave them with the ability to make decisions without needing to fit the rigidity of the organizations current standing. Create smaller teams, no way that the current leaders can effectively lead 20-30 different... people located across the US. Provide opportunities for growth. Reward based on merit, not favoritism. Tackle one task with the full weight of the team at a time and not dozens of things at once with marginal success.

    Show More
    Bradley-Morris2018-07-24
  3. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bradley-Morris

    Pros

    If you work hard and are good at your job you are rewarded.

    Cons

    Long hours when you first start and lots of cold calling

    Bradley-Morris2017-07-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "The leader in the industry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bradley-Morris full-time

    Pros

    The company is leading the way in the industry with forward thinking leadership. As most of the competition is stuck in their old habits and track record, our company is thinking of new ways to innovate. The culture is based around winning and succeeding. That means working hard and paying your dues. It's not a easy job but it's rewarding if you have the ability to adapt and overcome. Very open dialogue with our... leaders and change is welcome in order to best suit the customer and candidate. The company will continue to grow in positive ways.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you are looking for a place to make a good living without working for it, move on. This job takes time to develop clients and relationships. If you can't make the time to invest in your development, no one will grab you and make you do it. You have to be motivated to be successful. If anything our company holds on to the people who shouldn't be there and who are detrimental to the morale of the team. People who... are not billing and haven't for years, will never bill. Stop holding on past glory and cut the cord. We have become more forgiving than ever. Lastly, to those morons who continue to bash this company, stop. You're embarrassing yourself and make you look sad and pathetic. Thank God they removed the cancer before it spread. Sadly, it shows how sad your performance was and how much you still want to be a part of something you should of never been a part of from the start. Stop living in the past and find something else to do with your time than degrade the reputation of a company we love.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Create opportunities for people to grow. Continue to share insight of the growth of the company.

    Bradley-Morris2016-10-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Military Placement Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bradley-Morris full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to earn unlimited commissions. Rewarding work. Marketing/selling an outstanding product. With some proven success, can own your own time and earn work/life flexibility. Superior proprietary applicant tracking/CRM system - far exceeds competitors. Outstanding marketing - company is known where it should be known.

    Cons

    Per most placement agencies, flat structure with limited promotion potential (to management, eg). Turnover higher in the industry than perhaps other sales organizations, but new employees learn very quickly if they have it or if they do not.

    Bradley-Morris2016-09-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Opportunity to help fellow Veterans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Just Another Veteran 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bradley-Morris full-time

    Pros

    Outstanding team of (mostly) former Military professionals, all whom care about others. The ability to maintain a flexible schedule. Great atmosphere. Solid rewards for good performance. I have been an employee at Bradley-Morris for over 5 years and helped hundreds of Veterans find employment and tend to the needs of their families while separating from the Service. Being a former Vet myself I can tell you... that it can be a very stressful time. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time with this company and will continue to do so for many years to come. I believe in what we do for the men and women who serve (or served) and will tell anyone that there isnt a better company out there that helps veterans, period.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing negative to report. The Company does what they say they can do and there are thousands of success stories that prove it. Many of them are even posted on the company website. Having a positive, profound impact on our fellow brothers and sisters (and setting them up for success) is why we do this. It isnt about money. I don't have any regrets joining the team.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what youre doing, and continue focusing on helping the team help the ones who are transitioning from the Military

    Bradley-Morris2016-09-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Constant Turnover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bradley-Morris

    Pros

    It's a very relaxed environment with fun co-workers that go out for lunch/drinks together usually on a weekly basis.

    Cons

    Sales team are on the clock essentially round the clock. If a sales person doesn't make a placement within the first 3 months, they're usually let go the next month which results in at least 2-3 terminations a month. Additionally, they are quick to deduct pay from employees that aren't doing well in Sales, but could care less about following the same procedures with employees that are doing well in Sales.

    Advice to Management

    Apply the same rules to all employees.

    Bradley-Morris2016-08-18
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Not impressed and was initially!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Kennesaw, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bradley-Morris

    Pros

    helping other veterans like myself to gain employment. Make a good income if you can produce. Benefits package is okay. Casual dress code. Awarded company trips if you reach goals.

    Cons

    No 401k matching, Veterans Day is not a holiday. Lots of changes within the organization in recent years. You certainly see lots of favoritism at this organization and even see some set up for success while others set up for failure. You also a a revolving door of employees that come and go which can also kill morale. All focus initially will be made on how many people you contact and phone dials. Very little... understanding or support for time taken for all meetings and research time. You're expected to research at home on your time and come prepared to make 100 calls like a robot. Everyone burns out at some point at this pace. After your probation period you are considered 100% commission with no quaranteed income. Management and team leads, many of which are not authentic and don't even seem to value many of their old term employees that have produced lots of revenue for them. Personality differences mainly. They have also had a number of their old term employees depart and go to competitor organizations of recent years which is and was telling in my tenure at this organization. Overall, it's all about the money at this place. So if you're looking for a place that cares about the employees truly, this will not be the right employer for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a look at the level of professionalism you portray, especially on your company trips to other Countries. Value those few original or long term employees you have left. They've put a lot of heart and soul into building what the company has become.

    Bradley-Morris2016-04-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "No special treatment - Rewards are exclusively tied to performance - And that's a good thing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative in Chesapeake, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bradley-Morris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Independent/entrepreneurial spirit is encouraged and success has financial rewards. After a week of training, you jump straight on the phones and start running your own desk as if it were a business. Those that succeed ask tons of questions from their more experienced peers and try to learn from their experience. Those that try to go it alone are those that fail (most of the reviews you see here are from those... people). There isn’t a lot of spoon feeding but if you ask for help everyone is more than happy to give it – the team's success hinges on each individual's success. The work is by no means easy but it is frustratingly simple… If you have the work ethic to stay on the phone and continue to improve at your craft you will slowly start seeing success and eventually will earn a great income. I went from 85k/yr in the private sector to 60k my first year at BMI. I’ve cleared 150k every year thereafter and over 200k in some years. I work my behind off. I’m in the top 20% of earners – there are some that make more, some that make less. There aren’t any “special people” or “favoritism” bonuses – you eat what you kill. People who are hunters love it. People who are gatherers feel like it’s not them – it’s the system. Many take the job having convinced themselves they are hunters but realize a few weeks or sometimes a few months into it that they aren’t (again, the people who leave reviews here). All of the tenured reps started in the same spot as the new employees – with an empty database and a phone that was dying to be worked. There’s a very fair system in place to ensure everyone has access to companies and contacts that aren’t being actively being serviced. I’ve had new guys call on and make money with companies I was working just a year and a half ago – I got busy and failed to engage. No special protection or client hoarding here.

    Show More

    Cons

    - If you are thinking of working here, take a serious self-assessment before taking the plunge. It sounds easy to pick up the phone and make 100 dials a day but it takes a very strong work ethic. And it’s not a one-call close or transactional sale. Get past the initial business development phase and you quickly learn ours is a complex consultative sale that requires exceptional tact in dealing with both clients... and candidates. It takes a combination of listening and persuasion, patience and persistence to move a revue opportunity from job order to offer accepted. Not everyone has it or can develop it quickly enough to sustainably make money in this field. - Benefits aren’t great. The company focuses on pushing as much in the way of commissions to its people as possible. This means managing expenses and not operating the benefits program as if we lived in a communist country…. If you are a reservist in the military, Tricare Reserve is a great option. Otherwise come to grips with the fact that that medical insurance has a cost….

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Keep investing! Tremendous investment in growing the company over the last few years from a candidate generation standpoint and from an IT infrastructure standpoint. Keep doing what it takes to enable ensure we can keep providing the best candidates and customer service in our space.

    Bradley-Morris2015-11-04
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Good company, difficult work to succeed in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative in Austin, TX
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bradley-Morris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, flexible job, ability to work from home, not very much travel, not a hard job to do, excellent work atmosphere

    Cons

    100% commission, very difficult to obtain clients given the state of the job market, competition from other agencies, and lack of interest from companies to use outside hiring firms.

    Bradley-Morris2015-10-09
Found 35 reviews