Bradley University Reviews | Glassdoor

Bradley University Reviews

Updated 12 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Bradley University CEO Joanne K. Glasser (no image)
Joanne K. Glasser
41 Ratings
  1. "Markin Attendant Position Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bradley University part-time

    Pros

    This is hands down the best job on campus. The managers are kind and understanding that we are still full time students. They work with us to make sure we are getting the hours that we want.

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons to give

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Bradley University2018-10-22
  2. "chemistry department lab assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bradley University part-time

    Pros

    There is no interview process

    Cons

    The pay is fixed no matter your experience level

    Bradley University2018-10-16
  3. "Best Thing I did in College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bradley University full-time

    Pros

    I held many jobs at Bradley University. I was a GA, RA, HD, tour guide, and more. Loved every second.

    Cons

    The college campus is an ever-changing environment, but it taught me to think on my feet and get creative.

    Advice to Management

    Stay forever positive, you all are great.

    Bradley University2018-09-27
  4. "graduate assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Graduate Assistant in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bradley University for more than a year

    Pros

    good work environment and decent environment

    Cons

    nothing everything is fine work and atmosphere

    Advice to Management

    good

    Bradley University2018-08-27
  5. "Mechanical Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Peoria, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bradley University for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working team and ambiance.

    Cons

    sometimes work is cumbersome and hectic.

    Bradley University2018-07-18
  6. "Nepotism Everywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Bradley University

    Pros

    Small university, relaxed environment, located in Affordable Town

    Cons

    Nepotism. You wont be given jobs on a fair basis but only on recommendations by existing employees or someone with benefits

    Advice to Management

    Add Transparency in recruitment process

    Bradley University2018-07-06
  7. "Avoid the civil engineering department! Good school otherwise."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty 

    I have been working at Bradley University full-time

    Pros

    Small-sized university that fosters close student-teacher relationships. Campus is small enough to walk around. Students are friendly.

    Cons

    If you must interview for a faculty position in the civil engineering department, do yourself a favor and ask why so many new professors leave the department in under two years. It bears an uncanny resemblance to the Trump White House, perhaps worse. You think being tenure-track or tenured will protect you here? Nope! Not when administration and a weak dean lets one man (remotely) terrorize junior faculty and do... whatever he pleases. Three professors left in the last 9 months alone, and over 30 others have come and gone in past years. Publish papers, get great teaching evals, and secure research grants all you want. But like a mafia, if you ever air a dissenting opinion or are not "loyal" to the don, then you will not last more than a couple years here. Interestingly, those who have left have gone on to great careers elsewhere, becoming chairs, deans, or top engineering consultants. The don in question is not the department chair. The department chair is just a puppet and errand boy; the person who actually runs the department is a short-tempered 4 ft-11-inches-tall curmudgeon who suffers from a Napoleon Complex, has fragile self-esteem, and feeds off self-adulation and flattery. He's been here 35+ years, was the chair for 30 years, is known campus-wide for his tyranny and nepotism, and nurtures decades of enmity with many older professors in other departments. Even the other full professors whose 'support' he seizes to legitimize his most ridiculous decisions are terrified of him. Department meetings are tense, nervous, and fearful environments where laughter sounds almost coerced. Full professors often get publicly belittled by him. They have no say, cut a sorry picture of frustration and humiliation, and resort to flattery and sycophancy to massage the fragile ego of this one midget. It sounds bizarre but you have to see it to believe it! Someone at a conference warned me about all this when I applied but like any objective, idealistic, young PhD, I gave wanted to give it a chance. Now I wish I didn't.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You know what to do.

    Bradley University2018-04-14
  8. "Bradley Fund Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bradley University part-time

    Pros

    Working at the Bradley Fund gave me excellent experience cold calling and general customer service.

    Cons

    I think the university should work with the B Fund more to engage younger alum

    Advice to Management

    The management of the Bradley Fund is incredible. They understand that these are young professionals, and work to prepare them for work post graduation.

    Bradley University2018-03-20
  9. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Bradley University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere with plenty of coworkers

    Cons

    Always surrounded by unruly college kids

    Advice to Management

    Do your best to keep employees happy

    Bradley University2018-03-16
  10. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bradley University part-time

    Pros

    Position provided a 100% tuition waiver. Provided a good exposure to tutoring students and assisting professors in research.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Consider including more information technology related courses to the accounting domain.

    Bradley University2018-02-23
Found 114 reviews