KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Brafton

Engaged Employer

Brafton

Add a Review

Brafton Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Apr 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 of over 287 reviews

4.2
92%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Brafton President Tom Agnew
Tom Agnew
48 Ratings

The latest conversations about Advertising

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "You will meet many great people at Brafton(in 44 reviews)
  • "work from home 1 day a week(in 21 reviews)
  • "There is a great opportunity here to make money within every division of company if you are talented and hard working.(in 12 reviews)
  • "The culture within the team is great(in 8 reviews)
  • "working from home, great coworkers(in 7 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Get out while you can

    May 13, 2015 - News & Content Writer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work hours: can work from home Good first job out of college People are good to work with

    Cons

    Now the company charges clients for "premium" content that is the same as standard content but includes a pull quote and inline image. It helps writers complete volume but that's it. Sales team oversells to clients to earn their contracts. Expectations for writers are out of whack. If you ask for a raise, be prepared to have your work scrutinized. Every mistake you've made will be highlighted while everything good you've done is overlooked. Don't let them keep you from earning what you deserve.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Writers: Just walk away

    May 27, 2015 - Editorial in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    *The standard pros of any office job, including on-time pay and health benefits. *Experience writing a streaming flow of extremely high volumes of content: While a con at heart, the high volume of work demanded taught me how to dole out below-average content at a ridiculous rate, which can be useful in some situations. *A strong bond among writers who feel similarly cheated by the company: I've met some truly talented writers and kind humans who I continue to hang with even after leaving. *The option to work from home two days per week: This becomes less of perk depending on who your section editor is - one is extremely strict about it and makes employees feel guilty about working from home, though she does it herself, often without notice.

    Cons

    *Miserable pay, even for an entry-level writing position (which, arguably, it is not): The amount that writers get paid is shamefully low compared to how much the company makes off of our work. The starting salary is now 30,000, actually a vast improvement from the despicable 26,000 it was just two years ago. In a suburb or small city, this might be acceptable (probably not, though), but in Chicago, it's insane. *Long hours: This is a 9-5 job, but those who don't arrive by 8 or stay until 6 will not come close to meeting their monthly volume - which is at minimum 80,000 words of standard content per month, or 4,000 per day for the very lowest-level writer. The volume only goes up from there the longer you write for the company, without appropriate pay raises. (The company is finally starting to ease the volume on writers with premium content, but unfortunately premium is a massive rip-off for the client, as it is merely the addition of pull quotes and in-line images). *Meeting are essentially unpaid: The position does not account for the large number of meetings (sometimes I would spend half my day in meetings, requiring me to work longer to make up for the lost time I should have been writing). This is another huge reason writers end up working on weekends or late into the night after the janitors have shown up (the janitors are very nice, though). *Poor treatment: Writers are regarded as the least important factor in the marketing process and our pay and everyday treatment reflects that. The CEO once even said during a small meeting of writers in the Chicago office that writers are becoming largely obsolete in marketing - that video and graphics get more resources and pay for this reason, and that the company should actually be laying off writers. Fortunately, this scare tactic did not work and a flood of writers are making their way out Brafton's doors. Additionally, while writers receive the lowest pay, they tend to be the one who take the blame when something goes wrong. This becomes a consistent issue when the sales people are encouraged to upsell at all costs (including building up expectations that can't be met). When editorial can't deliver, the writer is the one who gets a slap on the wrist. *Little chance of getting a raise: If you ask for a raise, you will sit in front of two or three levels of management as they question anything from your skills as a writer to your professionalism to your relationship with your section editor. Working harder does not get you a raise - for those who hold this job, don't bother putting in extra effort, because any mistake you have made in the past or any moth you didn't hit your exorbitant volume will cancel it out. *A very unhealthy relationship between editorial and sales/content marketing strategists: As mentioned, the writers are paid very poorly, whereas the sales and content marketing strategists receive the highest pay as well as the recognition when a client is happy. This has created not very negative feelings toward CMS/sales, but it has given the team of CMSs a huge complex (not to their fault). This makes everyday work difficult, since writers must speak with them on a daily basis. This is not true of all the CMSs, and some are quite nice to writers, one even bought a round of drinks during happy hour once - a sort of unspoken thanks for our work and recognition of the rift.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great first job out of college!

    Jan 9, 2018 - Social Media Strategist in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Brafton is a small company with really genuine, smart people. It's a great environment to work in, especially right out of college. You get to work across different departments and grow in a lot of areas of marketing and business, not just your own department. Since starting, I've had an appropriate amount of time to ease into my role and take on more responsibility without feeling overwhelmed. I have a really supportive team and management to help me whenever I need it. They also care a lot about personal growth. My manager pays close attention to what areas I'm gaining experience and what areas I could use more exposure to so that I can learn as much as possible and feel comfortable in my role. Management is very smart and helpful. They're especially flexible too, which is a great perk to balancing life outside of work. I also get to work from home one day a week which is super convenient. I all-around think this is a great role and I would recommend it to others.

    Cons

    With cross-departmental communication, there can be some confusion and miscommunication with clients and even internally. However, everyone here is really hard-working and helpful so we always figure out the problems. As in any role, pay and benefits could be better. Boston's just a very expensive city. But for a first role out of college, it's a good package.

    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Editorial team members: Do your year and leave

    May 20, 2015 - News & Content Writer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Gain experience writing for a variety of niche subjects - Learn the ins and outs of AP Style. - Progressive work from home options Brafton may be an ideal place to start a career within SEO or copywriting for new grads. The opportunity to work with a variety of clients is nice, and the age of rank and file is fairly young, so you'll be among peers.

    Cons

    - Lowest salaries for writers in the Chicago area, and possibly the lowest in the business. - Great work from homerom homerom home policy means nothing with few sick days and vacation time. - All funding, recognition and departmental resources go to the sales teams. It is telling that the majority of people who stay at Brafton long-term are those who grew up in the suburbs and commute in to the city. They are simply able to get by with a lower cost of living. The laughable starting salary of $30,000 is less than a substitute teacher makes in a rural community. Get in and get out. Staying here for over a year may lead to a Stockholm Syndrome - you don't need to be paid peanuts for producing twice the amount of content you would at another agency. If you're a current Brafton writer, I'd like to personally urge you to start saving up a few months' worth of rent money and quit as soon as possible. The amount of astroturfed reviews by executives on this very page proves that the upper management of the organization really believes in their own business strategy. The company will not change around you - you have to leave.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Run

    Jul 16, 2019 - Market Research 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home is the only pro

    Cons

    Everything but work from home is a con

    9 people found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Tough job, tons of experience, lots of work to do

    Aug 31, 2015 - Editor in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Brafton may be one of the most polarizing companies you could ever work for, and you'll see why in a minute. While the hours are long and the work is grueling, the knowledge you gain about digital marketing strategies is almost indispensable. Once you move on to another job, which you definitely will, you'll have a pretty good leg up on your new coworkers. You work faster, take on more work and handle stress better than them. In addition to work and industry experience, you'll also make lifelong friends at Brafton. I met some of the best people who I can confidently say will remain close to me for years to come. The company also has a liberal work from home policy that comes in handy when the stress - and weather - gets bad. This is especially true if you become a manager in the Editorial department, as you trade all quantitative work for meetings and light editing that isn't overly challenging.

    Cons

    This where Brafton gets polarizing because the cons can very much outweigh the benefits, even if there may be fewer to consider. For one, the company has way too many clients/contracts and nowhere near enough people to fulfill them. This leads to huge problems with client relationships and affects every department - not just Editorial. Good account managers typically take the bullet for the team and find a solution; bad ones throw the writers and editors under the bus without hesitation. There are both types at Brafton, so it's never too surprising when either happens. The creative departments are, by far, the least of upper management's concerns in every way possible. But the secret is really that everyone is overworked, but Editorial and Graphics are horribly underpaid. Many writers and designers work the longest hours at the company, burning the midnight oil in favor of hitting monthly volumes rather than produce high-quality content for clients. But even the strategists, who are well compensated by comparison, invest too much time for lower-than-standard salaries. This leads into another huge issue at Brafton: transparency. It's too much of a good thing here, as everyone knows what each role makes, which only breeds malcontent among coworkers. There are large discrepancies between departments, with more funds being shoveled toward Sales and Account Management than anywhere else. All the while, creatives are given empty promises of higher salaries that never ever come. In the end, there are numerous disgruntled employees who feel quite unappreciated by everyone outside of their respective departments.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    An Ambitious Expanding Company - With a Few Growing Pains

    Apr 27, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Brafton is a rapidly growing company that re-invests all profits back into the business. This creates an environment where change and innovation is commonplace and translates directly into growth opportunities for its employees. I have observed entry-level employees who have worked their way into management positions over the course of a few years. Brafton consistently promotes from within to fill new upper level positions whenever possible. The sharing of input and ideas is also promoted within the company, with management staff being very approachable and friendly. The office itself is full of energy. I believe the fact that the majority of the staff are on the younger side and still trying to prove (and improve themselves) contributes to this. Work-life balance seems to be very good. Most of the office empties out as of 5:30 (although a handful of the editorial team trying to meet their daily word allocation, or customer relations/sales staff with late client meetings can normally be found at the end of a day). I have heard rumblings about heavy workloads amongst editorial staff, but since I don't interact with the writers often I do not know if this is the norm. Much of the staff is also able to work from home from time if need be. Within my department there is an understanding that as long as one is getting their work done (and done well) nobody will be looking over your shoulder.

    Cons

    - Inter-department collaboration, while encouraged, is not as commonplace as it should be. It often feels like each department is it's own entity working towards their own goals. Steps should be taken to make the workings of each department transparent to the entire company. That said there is a company wide meeting every quarter where the executive staff speaks about the current position of the company and where we are headed. - Oftentimes changes aren't made until they are immediately necessary. Anticipating problems before they occur and taking preventative measures should take higher priority than it currently does.While Brafton is forward looking (as far as the services they are providing in a quickly changing industry), I believe they should place greater focus on future proofing internal structures. - Given that the company is growing quickly it has taken a while to grow the internal corporate infrastructure it needs to support employees needs. Employee benefits packages are sufficient, but leave a room for improvement (somewhat expensive family health care packages, no 401k matching, no education re-reimbursement, could use a more company holidays - such as the day after Christmas). I believe this stems from the rapid re-investment of profits. Hopefully once the company has reached a certain point more can be allocated towards current employees.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good for building your resume and fine-tuning time management skills

    Oct 27, 2016 - Senior Writer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ability to work from home and even work at freelance capacity if you want to move across the country is nice. Even if you want to stay full-time, they have offices all over the world - plenty of opportunities. Employee base skews young, easy to make friends (or at least drinking buddies) Given the volume and deadlines, you actually do need to learn really effective time management skills or else you'll be overwhelmed. Helpful for managing work in future positions, it's hard to find a workload tougher and less rewarding than what you do at Brafton. Overall, I think Brafton gets a bit too much flak for things like low pay, long hours, tight deadlines and intense workloads. Since I've moved on to other jobs in both freelance and full-time capacities, I've learned many marketing agencies, newsrooms, etc. have similar expectations for entry-level positions. That said, a lot of the complaints are very valid...

    Cons

    Pay is not good, especially for how much you have to write and it doesn't scale at all with tenure. Like it's not unlivable, but it's just not good, especially with expenses like rent on the rise. Also, management tries to frame writer salaries as being fair by comparing to journalism rates, even though you're writing promotional copy, not journalism. Lack of diverse career paths, which was the killer for me. Brafton has plenty of growth options given the turnover rate - but only if you want to be a manager. Not everyone wants to be a manager, some people enjoy writing and editing. But past senior writer (which has a salary of ~$33,000), there is no way to advance any further down that path. No way to become some sort of specialist, dealing with tricky clients or subject matter. It's management or bust. I now do great campaign work at a publicly traded company making nearly double what Brafton paid me. I know some of my former colleagues have similar stories (one, for example, went on to work for the NFL). Brafton is bleeding a ton of talent because of their perception that all writing/production is an entry-level job Management is clueless and often horribly underqualified because of the above. They hire from within for most middle management jobs like section leads, which is usually a good thing. But in this case, Brafton basically winds up promoting writers with no actual leadership or management skills, simply because anyone actually applying for the job with the right qualifications would balk at the salary. A great writer won't be a great manager, but that's basically what Brafton hopes for. There is zero unity between the different departments and the company as whole. Salespeople promise the world to clients, so editorial/product struggle to meet expectations and then account management has to deal with pissy clients. And then there is the whole pay issue - account managers make double what writers make or even more through bonuses if their clients are happy and upgrade services. Meanwhile, there is no incentive for writers to improve quality, they get the same $30K regardless, so you have clashes between AMs and editorial due to poorly designed incentives. I don't think Brafton is awful, like many people suggest. It's poorly managed and very low-brow work, but for an entry-level job, it's not terrible. That said, don't make the same mistake I did - work there for a year, get the experience and start looking for a new job immediately. Brafton has a bad rep with employers as a content mill, so being there too long may actually hurt your employment options because many know you're not producing thoughtful, meaningful work.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company to work for

    Nov 25, 2013 - Account Management in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked for a number of companies during my career. I know from personal experience what a terrible employer looks like. I have seen a lot of reviews recently that claim Brafton is something that it is not. - Great work life balance - Not many places allow you to work from home as often as Brafton does. No matter if it is a doctor's appointment or personal emergency, Brafton upper management has always been supportive of any time off that I have requested. - Co-Workers - I consider the people that I work with at Brafton to be some of my favorite people. While it can be stressful (what job is not), they are always there to support and teach. Also, we have fun outside of work. Work hard - play hard is something that is put into practice here. - Room for advancement - Promotions happen quickly at this company. I have received a promotion within the first 16 months of working here. Another co-worker has received 2 promotions within a year. - Small company mentality - Brafton is more of a speedboat than a tanker ship. Things are ever changing as we grow into a larger organization. As an employee, you have direct access to the C-Level team and the open door policy allows you to have a voice in the direction that the company takes. Overall, this is one of the best companies that I have worked for. That doesn't mean that it is easy or fun at all times, but no job is. I am truly happy here and

    Cons

    - Could pay more - Could have a better on-boarding training program

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 44 Reviews

Popular Careers with Brafton Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Brafton? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Brafton Photos

+ Add Photo
Brafton photo of: Always supporting our local teams
Brafton photo of: A few professional figure skaters
Brafton photo of: We take Halloween very seriously...
Brafton photo of: Masters in the arts and crafts area
Brafton photo of: Ringing in the New Year at the Boston holiday party!
Brafton photo of: Teaming up with Family Reach to support a family fighting cancer this holiday season.
Brafton photo of: We found a set of twins in the Boston office!
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Castleford Media Pty Ltd

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Brafton Job Seekers Also Viewed

HubSpot Logo
HubSpot

4.7

2,449 Reviews
Compare