BrainStorm Reviews | Glassdoor

BrainStorm Reviews

Updated 26 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
BrainStorm CEO John Wade AND Eric Farr  (no image)
John Wade AND Eric Farr
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "The BrainStorm work environment is perfect for those who are looking to make a real impact(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great Company Culture and Leadership(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 2 reviews)

  • "Most of the cons on this list can be attributed to growing pains(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "AWESOME"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Success Manager in American Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BrainStorm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome leadership and culture is on target. Clear goals and great work environment .

    Cons

    At the time didn't see a long term career path

    BrainStorm2019-08-27
  2. "Lighthearted People, Serious about Software Adoption"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in American Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrainStorm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible clients, including some of the best-known brands in the world. Fun-loving environment with many easy-to-work-with colleagues.

    Cons

    Growing pains of every fast-moving business.

    Advice to Management

    Go faster

    BrainStorm2019-05-10
  3. "Phenomenal place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in American Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BrainStorm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic leadership, Common mission, Health Benefits are significant, Track record of high performance, Family fun atmosphere, High Performers

    Cons

    Still developing company KPIs, Building into a true SaaS company

    BrainStorm2019-04-25

    BrainStorm Response

    May 7, 2019Principal

    Thank you for the kind remarks. We hope BrainStorm served as a spring board for you to advance to even higher heights. All the best!

  4. Helpful (1)

    "The Best Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in American Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BrainStorm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's really hard to say anything negative about BrainStorm. It truly is a special place. The owners always talk about the importance of culture and they mean it. They will turn down a great candidate if its just not the right culture fit. One of the best things about BrainStorm is how they believe in serving the community and the service they provide. In the year I was there we did 4 or 5 out of the office company... wide service projects. They also know how to have fun, there are always games and prizes wonderful food and free snacks and drinks as well as unlimited cereal. It starts at the top. Wonderful leaders that foster a great work environment. I would recommend BrainStorm to anyone who is a team player and wants to work and have fun.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only thing that comes to mind is not enough parking.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do. It is working and you are building something special.

    BrainStorm2019-03-29

    BrainStorm Response

    May 7, 2019Principal

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. BrainStorm only succeeds if it provides opportunities for growth and success for its team members. Glad you found that to be the case. Totally with you on the parking. We've grown so quickly that we overshot our headcount expectations. We're ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Good product, Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BrainStorm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    BrainStorm has a good product. They have some fun perks

    Cons

    I have never seen a management team so out of touch with what drives success. Especially in the sales realm. BrainStorm must pick managers based on friendship and no qualification because I have never been so disappointed going to work and being under someone that has no clue what they are doing or how to drive results. This is not just in sales but org wide.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house. Numbers tell all

    BrainStorm2019-04-20

    BrainStorm Response

    May 7, 2019Principal

    Well, I'm not sure exactly what to do with this one. I'm bummed your experience seems to have been so poor and so counter to the experiences most everyone else has had. I suspect there's more to the story here. As an entrepreneur this isn't the first time we've been told we don't ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company and people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BrainStorm full-time

    Pros

    Focused on culture and employee experience

    Cons

    At times strategic direction is unclear

    BrainStorm2019-03-27

    BrainStorm Response

    May 7, 2019Principal

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. Best of luck to you!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrainStorm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’m new to the brainstorm team and have nothing but good things to say about it. Above all the employees are amazing and the culture is one of a kind. My favorite things so far include the free snacks, ski passes, great insurance, and good work/life balance that is encouraged.

    Cons

    I’m trying to be constructive but I’ve truly got nothing here.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. You’ve got my loyalty based on the commitment I’ve observed you show to both your employees and customers.

    BrainStorm2019-02-15

    BrainStorm Response

    May 7, 2019Principal

    Thank you for the glowing review. As time passes, please feel supported/encouraged to communicate directly to us any areas of improvement you may find. And know that you are empowered yourself to make many changes for the better. Excited to have you on the team!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager, Account Development in American Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrainStorm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Happiest place I have ever worked.

    Cons

    There are no real cons. If I had to say anything it would be a lack of hiring from within.

    BrainStorm2019-02-06

    BrainStorm Response

    February 6, 2019Principal

    Thank you for the great review and the approvals. If we knew who you were I'm sure we'd give you the same praise. :) The internal promotion comment kills me. I've heard it before, but I'm not sure what the right answer is. When I run the numbers the sentiment doesn't make sense ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Unprofessional Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in American Fork, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BrainStorm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -There are some great people that work here. - They have fun activities for family - They do some give back activities as well

    Cons

    -Do not feel like I can leave proper feedback, and know many that don’t because they are afraid of the repercussions. -Management does not take constructive criticism well. -They do not promote well within the organization. -Promotions are given by who you know, and not by numbers or productivity -Very underpaid compared to industry standard -Many promises are made, but often little action is shown

    Advice to Management

    Been keepin this to myself for a while, but you need to keep the anonymous reviews and polls anonymous! You calling out someone for leaving a low review at a company retreat makes everyone start pointing fingers, and makes for a disappointing culture. No one will give you honest feedback or reviews when you do this.

    BrainStorm2019-01-31

    BrainStorm Response

    February 6, 2019Principal

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. There's passion in your words and we intentionally try to bring people to the team that have passion. Sounds like we succeeded there with you. I'm sorry you've felt the need to keep your concerns bottled up. Let me provide a description of ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (3)

    "BrainStorm's Greatest Priority is People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in American Fork, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrainStorm full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    From executive management down to intern, this company is full of great people. BrainStorm attracts the best and the brightest. BrainStorm's greatest priority is people: customers, employees, and the community it belongs to.

    Cons

    They need to get better snacks in the break room. Just kidding.

    BrainStorm2018-11-29

    BrainStorm Response

    February 6, 2019Principal

    I am regularly in awe of the quality and character of the people here at BrainStorm. I couldn't agree more. I show up everyday to work indebted to a PropellerHead for their goodness and efforts on our behalf. It's intensely motivating to be sure I also am giving it my all.

Found 45 reviews