Brainshark Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Brainshark Chief Executive Officer Greg Flynn
Greg Flynn
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is excellent, the hours are not incredibly strict, we are all treated as adults(in 17 reviews)

  • "Brainshark has a lot of great people, as hiring is a strength (for the most part)(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "The pivot to Sales Enablement came too late for this old (but good) product to ever truly compete with other newer players(in 8 reviews)

  • "Traffic to and from Waltham is heavy(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (8)

    "Great Time to be at Brainshark"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brainshark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brainshark has created a culture that encourages creativity, collaboration, and a shared sense of ownership across the organization. The executive team is accessible and encourages employees to share their ideas and concerns. Quarterly leadership meetings are held to discuss what is working, what isn't working and how we can get better as an organization. Results of those meetings are shared with everyone during town hall meetings and feedback is encouraged. The CSO has created a culture among the sales organization where there is a sense of urgency and excitement. Wins are celebrated across the sales team and EVERYONE involved in the win is celebrated and recognized. She has been hands on and will get involved in any deal where help is needed (as will every other executive in the organization). Her goal is to make sure that every sales person has the tools and support needed to be successful and to win.

    Cons

    There is still a lot of market education required in the sales enablement/readiness space, resulting in longer sales cycles. We have, however, built a strong pipeline over the past 12-mths and many of these deals are starting to close. Momentum is strong.

    Continue reading
    Brainshark2019-08-12

    Brainshark Response

    September 10, 2019Director of Talent and Culture

    We agree, it is a great time to be at Brainshark! Thank you for your review. Transparency is one of our core values and we aim to provide employees the opportunity to have an open dialogue with all levels of management to share ideas and suggestions and when changes or decisions are made we look to the leadership team to help with the strategy and innovation.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Innovative, Fun Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brainshark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you're looking for a company that values innovation and a positive work culture, then consider Brainshark. I've had a fantastic experience working for this company. Creativity, smart work, and having a positive attitude are rewarded. The product is fun to work with, and the product team is open to feedback from everyone in the company and from customers on how to continue enhancing functionality.

    Cons

    The office space could use some updating, although from what I understand that is in the works.

    Continue reading
    Brainshark2019-12-09
  3. Helpful (6)

    "I reported my boss to HR for sexual harassment and they told me that was "just his personality""

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brainshark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I met one friend at this company who I still keep in touch with.

    Cons

    My boss sexually assaulted me several times (both physically and verbally - IN FRONT OF other colleagues). Not only did HR not do anything when I reported him, but he didn't even change when I confronted him directly. I ultimately ended up leaving the company and he's still employed despite his reputation. I know of several other employees who also had issues with him and no one did a thing. There's also a gross culture of misconduct on the sales team that gets ignored.

    Continue reading
    Brainshark2020-04-15

    Brainshark Response

    May 12, 2020Director of Talent and Culture

    We take this and any complaint seriously. It is our practice to investigate all reports of inappropriate behavior. We encourage employees to raise their concerns with HR or anyone in management.

  4. Helpful (7)

    "Pretend to drink the Koolaid and learn to schmooze"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brainshark full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - You will meet some amazing people. The people on my team are amazing, they are always willing to help each other out and they truly go above and beyond. Their work ethic is unmatched. - Lots of on-site parking - Free gym in the plaza - The ability to work remotely especially on snow days - There are some great direct managers - The company makes an effort to allow employees to mingle every third Thursday If you are liked, you will be fine and have a great time at Brainshark. If people don't like you you will be miserable. They will freeze you out and be unprofessional but it will always be turned around back to you.

    Cons

    I want to start by saying I'm a happy camper when it comes to my personal experience. BUT I have eyes and see a lot of bad behavior that I need to acknowledge it. - If you aren't in sales, you don't matter - There's always an excuse for why something is bad, and instead of acknowledging a problem and working on solutions to resolve whatever issue it is, the blame is placed on someone else. - You don't matter and while the company culture claims you do, you don't. The minute you understand this the happier you will be. Managers will deny your sick time, or grill you about why you need it and still claim to care about you (check paylocity records it's true). - Managers and C-Suit want you to be yes men that never question anything. - Traffic to and from Waltham is heavy - The office is a popularity contest so if you don't want to be miserable be sure to play the game. - The C-Suite can use some communication and diversity training

    Continue reading
    Brainshark2020-02-25
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Absolute worst - stay away"

    1.0
    Former Employee - CSM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brainshark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    none none none none none

    Cons

    CSO a bully - has tarnished whole company

    Brainshark2019-11-17

    Brainshark Response

    January 22, 2020Director of Talent and Culture

    At Brainshark we have a very open, transparent and inclusive culture. We also recognize that not everyone will be happy with some of the decisions we make. If anyone would like to understand if these 'bully' comments are true or not, please feel free to go on LinkedIn and contact any current or past sales person who has worked for our current CSO. Make your own conclusions based on talking to an actual person. Anonymous feedback can be helpful but we always prefer to balance that with speaking to someone live.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brainshark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work life balance team interaction product

    Cons

    vision for product was lacking

    Continue reading
    Brainshark2019-09-20
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Moving in the Right Direction, and Don't Believe All the Negativity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brainshark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company culture is inclusive and collaborative. The leadership, from the CEO down strives towards addressing shortcomings and building the best product and services in the industry, backed by the best people. Brainshark is one of many companies trying to become the leader in the enablement/readiness market, but may be the best positioned to do so, because of their extensive experience in the space, and they're making the commitment in both people and investment to having the best product out there. The recent negative comments towards the CSO are unwarranted and completely without merit. She is tough, but fair and compassionate towards everyone on the team. She ensures success is recognized across the organization, holds herself to the highest standards of accountability, and empowers a culture of coaching and creative thinking from her leadership team. She always embodies the qualities of an outstanding sales leader everyone wants to emulate.

    Cons

    The product needs updating and refreshing to keep pace with the competition, but the company has committed the time and $ to make it happen. The company also needs to do a better job of communicating strategies and successes, both internally and externally, which will put competitors on the defensive.

    Continue reading
    Brainshark2019-08-14

    Brainshark Response

    September 10, 2019Director of Talent and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time share your feedback. All feedback is appreciated and valued. Negative reviews are inevitable in business which is why we review them with an open mind and use the feedback for future improvements. Your experience working with the CSO sounds very positive and it's the type of experience we want all of our employees to experience during their careers at Brainshark. Please continue to share your experience by emailing culture@brainshark.com.

  8. Helpful (15)

    "Proceed At Your Own Peril..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Manager in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brainshark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My former colleagues were great. You can work remotely and collaborate with a generally positive group of people. Decent work-life balance.

    Cons

    Where can I begin? I was sold on the idea of BNSK after being told that they were a leading brand in the sales readiness space. I was sold on the idea of helping build a good CS program and initiatives based on proactivity. Most of all, I was sold on a good product; world class and industry leading technology. Looking back at my tenure with BNSK, I can honestly say it was not as advertised and doomed to fail from the very beginning. They have absolutely zero training or on-boarding processes or mechanisms in place. It is a truly learn by doing sort of thing. You receive your laptop and you essentially train yourself. You are paired up with another remote employee as your "mentor". It took me about 10 months to get into a groove after my first manager was fired and then being assigned two other managers. The company is tarnished by what I believe the 3 main pillars or lack thereof: good and stable product, path to growth and leadership and culture. BNSK at the moment lacks all three. No QA in place, rushing releases when they are not ready and finally a sales team that has no interest to collaborate or communicate with CS... There is a reason this company will never be more than a 20 million dollar company for the foreseeable future. Low morale, no communication and a mass exodus of talent, <20 since I have been there says a mouth-full.

    Continue reading
    Brainshark2019-09-17
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Fun but not a place for growth"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brainshark full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brainshark has a lot of great people, as hiring is a strength (for the most part). You will make good friends there and the company does third Thursday events which are fun. The sales team gets treated very well.

    Cons

    Brainshark is not a place to work if you are looking to grow with a group on winners. There is no clear path to the top because management wants you to stay in your place and be happy doing the same work without any reward. I’ll never forget the CEO evaluating the companies performance as a C+ and being very happy about it. Management is in shambles, it seems no one really knows who is in charge. And good luck if you aren’t on the sales team, because none of the upper management will even bother getting to know you. You will work hard to support a sales team that gets all the credit, but your contributions will rarely/never get mentioned. But the biggest issue is the lack of trust. If you want your employees to grow and actually like their job you need to trust them to make decisions on their own instead of watching over and critiquing every one of their ideas that doesn’t exactly match yours.

    Continue reading
    Brainshark2019-08-20
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Good company, moving in right direction"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brainshark full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company. I think they have found the space in which they can excel. Investing in product, which they are doing, will keep them innovative.

    Cons

    Early market, not everyone looking at sales readiness solutions

    Brainshark2019-07-29

    Brainshark Response

    September 10, 2019Director of Talent and Culture

    Thank you for feedback, it's very helpful. If you have other ideas or suggestions you'd like to share please send them to culture@brainshark.com.

Found 140 reviews