Braintree Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Braintree General Manager John MacIlwaine (no image)
John MacIlwaine
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance, excellent benefits including discounted stock (mostly thanks to PayPal)(in 11 reviews)

  • "prioritize learning, work life balance, challenging yet rewarding products, catered lunch/breakfast(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "They don't do a great job of training hires who don't have a natural proclivity for the type of work Braintree does(in 5 reviews)

  • "They keep taking benefits away, ex: Lunch is no longer provided and almost no raises(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Highly recommended place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Braintree full-time

    Pros

    Caring culture, smart people, great benefits

    Cons

    Like most tech companies, squeezing every ounce productivity out employees is always top priority.

    Braintree2019-05-30
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Shell of former self and just more PayPal"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Braintree full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Many of the people that have been there a while are great to work with. - Relatively remote/WFH friendly - Decent work life balance

    Cons

    - No longer offers competitive benefits, snacks are not as good and no longer lunch - Micromanagement and distrust of engineers from middle and upper management - Corporate Politics are the same as PayPal but more amplified because of team sizes - Stack ranking for annual performance

    Continue reading
    Braintree2020-05-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "They advertise it as a top notch place in Chicago, but reality is something else"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Braintree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - WLB is good - Pay is above average for sure - Relaxed dress code - If you like to make noise, you might be heard

    Cons

    - Big daddy PayPal is going to take over one day - SO many reorgs - too many technical issues without upper management buy in - people talk about inclusion, but don't act like it - lack of representation. Especially for people of color. Most of the people in management are white males

    Continue reading
    Braintree2020-03-21
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Mixed Bag...like any other company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Braintree full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    amazing staff full of smart folks who are open and kind. it's very easy to find excellent people around the organization and feed from their positive energy. culture based on independent, professional development & growth again, the people MAKE braintree. there are investments made to help employees continue learning. i made use of the educational benefit while there, and it served dividends good WLB. there are times where you need to pull more hours to get something done, but that doesn't happen often.

    Cons

    as a former reviewer states, braintree doesn't do a great job of keeping talent that don't have a natural proclivity for what braintree does. old fringe benefits like free lunch have been taken away. there aren't many opportunities for advancement. some really great hires left abruptly during my time there. from my vantage point, this was because the didn't have adequate development and support. you'll find negative folks in some orgs whose behavior is condoned because they appear to be "productive". these folks also belie the company's focus on inclusivity. despite this, braintree doesn't actively promote them. A company's culture is indicative of who they promote. people who potentially harm the culture don't appear to be rewarded.

    Continue reading
    Braintree2020-02-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Ok place"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chicago, IL
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Braintree

    Pros

    Smart people. Some projects are interesting. Most folks are nice except for some bad apples (who happened to be in leadership positions). Benefits are ok, industry standard and pay is average but on the lower end.

    Cons

    They can’t keep smart people for more a year or two. I have seen many people leaving (from my team and other teams) in a short period of time. They keep taking benefits away, ex: Lunch is no longer provided and almost no raises. It is really hard to get promoted even when you excel at your job and make an impact outside your immediate team. Like many companies, they promote people based on competence, but not on soft skills (or leadership skills) and then this becomes a problem. Unfortunately, with the most recent changes I see morale a little down and looks like some employees are already planning their departure.

    Continue reading
    Braintree2020-02-28
  6. "Good co-workers, good product, unclear direction."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Braintree full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Co-workers are awesome. You work with smart driven individuals. - You can really work with any level of the org if you search for that interaction.

    Cons

    - Pay is stagnant - Empty promises with promotions become the norm.

    Braintree2020-02-08
  7. "A great progressive workspace with competent teams"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Braintree full-time

    Pros

    - Very progressive company - Good compensation and benefits packages - Everyone is open to feedback - Work with a great mix of technologies, not tied to a single stack - Great for remote workers (on my team at least)

    Cons

    - Many fringe benefits are aimed at Chicago and San Francisco: live somewhere else and you'll miss out (I'm OK with that)

    Continue reading
    Braintree2019-04-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great experience"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Braintree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome environment, supportive managers, and focus on diversity and inclusion

    Cons

    Hard to have any upward mobility

    Braintree2019-03-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Braintree for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people and culture are great.

    Cons

    Owned by PayPal, more and more Braintree is losing it's startup identity.

    Braintree2019-02-03
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Some great people; lack of career growth & accountability for poor leaders"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Braintree full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Some amazing, incredibly smart people who deeply care about their teammates and the product - Commitment to D&I is better than most places I've worked. There's still a lot of work to be done, but this was one of my favorite parts of working at Braintree - Good work life balance, excellent benefits including discounted stock (mostly thanks to PayPal)

    Cons

    Your experience is going to different drastically by team; poor performing Managers can really break your experience there, and unfortunately Senior Leadership was often willing to not act on feedback about toxic managers. There's also very little opportunity for career growth; there are plenty of really smart and talented people who have nowhere to grow because their teams aren't structured in a way where everyone who is capable of more challenging work is given that opportunity.

    Braintree2018-10-04
Found 77 reviews