Cover image for Branding Brand
Logo

Branding Brand

Engaged Employer

Branding Brand

Add a Review

Branding Brand Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 111 of over 116 reviews
4.7
92% Recommend to a Friend
96% Approve of CEO

Found 111 of over 116 reviews

4.7
92%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Branding Brand Co-Founder and CEO Chris Mason (no image)
Chris Mason
77 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

495

70 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "I am surrounded by really great people who are all passionate about the work we do.(in 15 reviews)
  • "The culture is amazing, and we welcome all who are not only customer driven, but career driven.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Great benefits.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Free lunches are amazing!(in 5 reviews)
  • "The office is cool and the company culture great.(in 5 reviews)
Cons
  • "+ management will lie to motivate you; you will have carrots dangled in front of you for months and only ever receive a payout if you have the audacity to demand it.(in 7 reviews)
  • "It doesn't matter anyways since the company is shrinking and there is no room for employee growth as positions only open up when someone finds a better pay elsewhere.(in 5 reviews)
  • "No 401K matching for employers(in 5 reviews)
  • "No clear career path for developers(in 4 reviews)
  • "competitive salary(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Brilliant Team, Awesome Clients, Inclusive Environment, and Great Benefits

    Feb 25, 2022 - Director in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Branding Brand is full of amazing people who are just absolutely brilliant. Everyone takes pride in their work and always strives to deliver the highest level of excellency. Every department always pitches in to lend their area of expertise and it makes for such an amazing, collaborative, and life-long learning environment. There are clearly established career ladders and multiple opportunities to grow and learn. There are many opportunities throughout the year to check in with management and leadership about individual goals, and to get positive and constructive feedback on current progression of goals - making Branding Brand and amazing place to stay, learn, grow, and evolve in your career. I love the team and Branding Brand, the culture, the open and inclusive environment, and all of the wonderful opportunities to grow. Paired with the great benefits of the job (unlimited PTO, full health, dental, vision, and 401k) I highly recommend Branding Brand as a place to work.

    Cons

    No major concerns or cons, love working here.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Look elsewhere if you want to be paid fairly.

    Oct 9, 2022 - IOS Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good catered lunch, fun atmosphere, dogs!

    Cons

    Much lower pay than what much of the rest of the industry offers. Expect company leadership to be bullied by larger clients. One of our clients kept putting us into the “home stretch sprint”, only to then push back the release date a couple of weeks, with additional features requested. We worked nights and weekends in the cold snowy winter, trying to keep warm with just two space heaters, because the company didn’t want to run the main heating system after hours. Not in a good part of town. Cars are often vandalized in the company parking lot; no cameras are installed, and company apparently can’t do anything about it.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Branding Brand team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Healthy Work Environment

    Dec 20, 2021 - People Operations in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Branding Brand is the definition of quality. The people (Branders) at the company really stand out in terms of their hard work, and unique personalities. They allow you to be you. There's nothing more comfortable than having this feeling at your workplace. I have to bring attention to our weekly team meetings. The entire company is on the call to celebrate individual/team victories, and to provide updates for what each department is focusing on. These meetings are led by our co-founders who show how important it is for us to stay connected. Even though I'm focused on my particular work, I'm still informed about what we're working on as a whole. Witnessing how Branding Brand is making mobile more accessible/exciting is one of the many reasons I'm proud to call myself a Brander.

    Cons

    As of today, the company is still remote. While I'm in full agreement with keeping employees as safe as possible, I do miss seeing others in an office setting. Branding Brand still gives us plenty of opportunities to stay connected via video calls and Slack.

    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Plenty of room for growth and development

    Nov 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    What I enjoy most about employment about Branding Brand has been the ability to take ownership of initiatives. From day one, I have felt empowered and supported in the work I do - whether it be client facing, research and development, or process improvements. Other highlights of working at Branding Brand: * Benefits have just been massively upgraded - to include 401k matching, and very competitive health plans * A diverse and inclusive team of coworkers * An incredibly talented team of coworkers * Every day is different, weeks fly by due to the diverse nature of work I get to do * An open door policy to leadership

    Cons

    * Teams are consistently maxed out around delivery * Unlimited PTO terms and conditions are a little limiting * 100% remote is still Pittsburgh centered

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Come Join This Great Team!

    Dec 10, 2021 - Program Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    BB is a fantastic organization, and we growing at an exponential rate. The culture is amazing, and we welcome all who are not only customer driven, but career driven. We are a small fish in a large sea, but quickly are becoming the killer whales who run the show. I love that we are grooming home grown talent, and looking to bring more folks into the fold that can keep our momentum rolling.

    Cons

    Growing pains, as any smaller company wpyld experience. This is actually a positive. Making the shift to retail can be a significant undertaking, but it is absolutely a fence worth hopping over.

    7 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company

    Dec 29, 2021 - Senior Manager Software Engineering in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fully remote, great culture with adaptability built into the fabric of the company. I've been working with a great team that is growing fast. It's a motivating environment, ambitious goals, smart people and great leadership. The company has a very flat organization so getting the right people together to work on something is easier than in other places I'm familiar with. I enjoy working here.

    Cons

    Nothing serious to speak of. The company is growing fast, and I think I still know everyone's name but that may change if we keep this pace up. All that growth creates a lot of opportunity to grow in my career, so its a tradeoff.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    A Life Changing Company

    Dec 20, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Branding Brand from the start has always been about growing the grassroots to the very top. Most of the current senior management team was grown from within, and some of those people had minimal experience to start with, but worked hard, showed passion every day, and became leaders in the industry. One of my favorite things about this company is how it goes out of its way to grow and inspire engineers and people whom aspire to take on new challenges. Here, you have project managers turned developers, and developers turned into C suite executives. I believe it's the investment they make in their people and culture that allows them to keep pushing through all the many diverse challenges companies face in today's market. Another example of their commitment to their people is how they quickly and expertly they adapted into a 100% remote work force. As if they took pages out of Charlie Warzel and Anne Helen Petersen new book, "Out of Office: The Big Problem and Bigger Promise of Working from Home" before it was even released, they seem to just get the balancing act of remote work. Three examples of this include offering employees flexible hours arranged with their manager, the ability to be anywhere with reasonable notice given, and in the rare times you do have to work overtime, they compensate you for it with bonuses instead of just expecting it like I've seen from other employers. They seem to view remote work and work, life balance as a fundamental right and not a perk. It's been life changing for me to have that flexibility, but their remote policies wasn't the first thing that changed my life, as 8 years ago I got to come in as a front-end rookie only to turn into the senior engineer I am today. They create opportunities here both in the market and for their own people. There's an obvious ethos of giving back more than they take. You can see this in how they treat their employees and the charities they go out of their way to donate to. Lastly, I'll say that both the current CTO and CEO promote the idea of ownership in the company. They want their employees not to feel like they're on an assembly line, taking orders, but as if they truly own their work from day to day. They say it but more importantly, they act on it: they empower you to speak up on any issue, to challenge decisions, and to make PRs based on your own ideas. I really do feel like I am part owner in my day to day work, and that is a very rewarding.

    Cons

    We have some pretty typical industry problems: 1. We go through temporary phases of too much context switching 2. We don't have code testing in place early on in our development processes (unit & integration) which becomes painful in the long run 3. We can get caught up in just delivering product without worrying enough about the technical debt accumulated through the process

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Skip this one

    Nov 10, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They offer unlimited PTO and benefits. They also do care about their employees health, but it is bittersweet because they also work you like a dog and make you sick in the first place.

    Cons

    The company is not agile. They starve teams of resources until the last month and then when deadlines get close they throw half of the company on your team to get the app they are building across the finish line. I worked 200 hours a month in the last couple of months to attempt to meet deadlines. They gave me a bonus, but it was about the amount I would have made from overtime. But the pay is not competitively for the tech lead role I had. I made more money as a React developer than a tech lead here.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company, talented colleagues

    Dec 27, 2021 - Software Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    From upper management on down, everyone at BB cares and contributes to a really good team culture. We get to work with a modern tech stack, work with talented colleagues, generous paternity leave, unlimited PTO, and great office and office culture (when we get back into the office).

    Cons

    - As expected in an industry involving ecommerce clients and big brands, workloads can be heavy at times when up against deadlines or entering heavy shopping holidays such as black friday and Christmas. - Sometimes client demands can seem unreasonable and project organization is sometimes lacking for more demanding clients.

    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Strong company with a bright future

    Nov 22, 2021 - Senior Engineering Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Strong individual talent as well as team talent - forward thinking - Constantly innovating deliverables and products leads to dynamic work - Challenging work without being overwhelming - great help/support structure for developers - down to earth and relatable executives - relaxed work start and end times - work from home available

    Cons

    - required on-call support for developers - overly tight timelines for deliverables require overtime work and lead to stress

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 111 Reviews
</>Embed

Branding Brand Reviews FAQs

Branding Brand has an overall rating of 4.7 out of 5, based on over 116 reviews left anonymously by employees. 92% of employees would recommend working at Branding Brand to a friend and 93% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Branding Brand employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Branding Brand. This rating has improved by 9% over the last 12 months.

92% of Branding Brand employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Branding Brand 4.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.6 for culture and values and 4.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Branding Brand to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with Branding Brand Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Branding Brand? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Branding Brand Photos

+ Add Photo
Branding Brand photo of: New office!
Branding Brand photo of: Bikeshare rack right out front
Branding Brand photo of: Covered, secure bike parking
Branding Brand photo of: Meeting room
Branding Brand photo of: Adjustable-height standing desks
Branding Brand photo of: Free, onsite gym
Branding Brand photo of: Gym with a view
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Branding Brand Job Seekers Also Viewed

Moovweb Logo
Moovweb

3.7

58 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 116 Branding Brand reviews submitted anonymously by Branding Brand employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Branding Brand is right for you.