Branding Brand "free lunches" Reviews | Glassdoor

Branding Brand Employee Reviews about "free lunches"

Updated Jan 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
59%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Branding Brand Co-Founder and CEO Chris Mason (no image)
Chris Mason
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunches 4 days of the week(in 15 reviews)

  • "I am surrounded by really great people who are all passionate about the work we do(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "All projects turn into piles of techdebt that no one wants to maintain(in 4 reviews)

  • "There are attempts to rebuild it, but no one trusts the current upper management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free lunches"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Branding Brand full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work is beyond exciting. First, there's a great sense of pride working for a company that powers shopping experiences for hundreds of the world's leading brands (congrats on 10+ years!). Pair that with, in my experience, the ability to shape your career and truly make an impact from inside the company. Time flies when you enjoy what you do and grow into new opportunities. Other pros: - Generous PTO and parental leave - Employee owned company - Flexible schedule and work-from-home option - Seeing K9 branders - Free lunch and drinks

    Cons

    A 401k match would be great, but there is an investment program and education offered as an option.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2019-01-18
  2. Helpful (15)

    "Typical startup woes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Branding Brand full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunches, casual dress code, most of the people there are awesome to work and hang out with

    Cons

    Dogs, Cliques, Mandatory Fun, Layoffs. No chance to get ahead because if you try to do something new, you're always accused of stepping on people's toes.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2016-11-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "The Perks of Being a Brander"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Branding Brand full-time

    Pros

    There are lots of office perks like free lunches, games, and parking. But that’s pretty standard in this space. The real perk is the people who work their butts off. The ones that are up for a challenge, take initiative, and feel ownership in improving the company themselves, rather than expecting the company to somehow change (thanks to someone else?) if they complain hard enough. Leaders (not necessarily managers) have seized opportunities to start clubs and committees (Scotch Club, Book Club, Branders Action Committee, etc), create training programs (from dev to project management), and plan events (from networking events to parties). Many Branders who have been here since the beginning are still here because of entrepreneurial chances like these.

    Cons

    Sure, it feels like family, but sometimes people leave for new opportunities to learn more about themselves. It doesn’t mean the company is going to fall apart, but some panic like it does. We’ve always been able to do a lot with less here, because of the people who work hard and play hard.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2016-08-04
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Flexible and Exciting Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Branding Brand

    Pros

    There' are a ton of intelligent employees at BB and anyone who is driven and willing to work hard will gain a lot of good experience. Most of the employees are happy to knowledge share and help each other out when needed. There is definitely a "work hard, play hard" vibe which is rewarding for those who take it seriously and get their job done before they enjoy the play factor. At the end of the day, the experience is what you make it. It's not frowned upon to keep to yourself but there is a lot of opportunity to meet new people, make new friends, do a lot of cool things and grow your career. There are a ton of perks like bringing your dog to work, getting free lunch, free parking, company sponsored trips, and a few others which are great! There's tons of flexibility to accommodate different personality types and lifestyles, a good work life balance, and coworkers and managers have your back.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, a lot of people take advantage of the "Pros" of working at BB. Reward is not always dependent on the work you've put in and like any other company there are politics involved in a lot of the decision making. There are growth opportunities but you have to take it upon yourself to find them (not necessarily a con but more recognition from management would be appreciated). Transparency around policy changes, processes, employment ladders, and structural changes, and just general organizational info could be improved.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2016-07-18
  5. "Better than my last job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Web Developer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Branding Brand for less than a year

    Pros

    This place is really laid back, lots of smart people and has a real sense of community. Really great free lunches as well - organic and healthy. There is plenty of space to use for quiet seating downstairs and there are a lot of dogs that to the sense of community. I don't own a dog, but it's cool!

    Cons

    They could do a better job training you as a contractor. I feel like my training was very brief and now I ask lots of questions to the person next to me all time and he is very busy and I feel bad about interrupting.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2016-07-15
  6. Helpful (10)

    "It's not Google, but it's not bad either"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Branding Brand full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'll preface my review by saying that before coming to Branding Brand, I worked in a typical corporate office environment so I am aware that the grass is NOT greener on the other side. If we were in Silicon Valley, there would be plenty of other options, but in Pittsburgh, there are very few venture-backed young companies with the types of perks that Branding Brand offers. The perks that make the company unique in the area are free parking, free lunches, free soda, free beer, cheap health insurance, dogs in the office, pool table/cornhole/PS4, great office parties, and more. There are lots of young people here who strive to make an impact and I legitimately enjoy coming into work. The culture/morale has taken a hit due to recent reductions in headcount, but I think it's on the upswing. The company has always been flexible and understanding with its employees. The people that work hard and make a difference are rewarded.

    Cons

    Upper management has changed the structure of the business a few times in the past couple of years which makes things difficult if you're not able to adapt to change. Personally, it keeps me on my toes as my role evolves over time. The competitive landscape has changed and our leaders have been unable thus far to fine a new niche for Branding Brand. We have too many non-technical leaders that don't seem to be able to add enough value to offset their presumably high salaries.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2016-02-08
  7. Helpful (18)

    "Manager told everyone to write one, so here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Branding Brand full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Depending upon your skill level when you start here, there is room to grow and learn. Everyone brings something different to the table and you can learn off of someone. Fun, young, atmosphere, you'll be able to find a cliche to chill with during lunch and meetings. Like the other reviews say- free lunch, parking, coke, and beer, and a host of games to play when you have some free time

    Cons

    Management is running out of areas to explore. Each week it is something new. They change their minds too quickly and if something doesn't go as planned, they lay off a bunch of people to make up for the money that's lost. But I give them props for trying something new, they just need to work with it a little longer. No one likes to take the fault for something going wrong. If you're in the wrong place at the wrong time, you will have to take the hit for a project you barely worked on. If you were friends with the founders before starting here or somehow related, you have great job security and can get away with anything. Managers ask you to right a review to help bring in new employees! The office is eerily quiet. You'll look around during the day and wander what some people actually do. Like do we really need 6 financial analysts? I'd rather have 6 app devs!

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2016-02-24
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Great Work Environment / Good People / Lots of Employee Freedom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brander in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Branding Brand full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Environment : I have been an employee of BB for close to 5 years and without a doubt this has been one of the greatest work environments I have ever been a part of. Between the free lunches provided, beautiful artwork that surrounds all of the office walls and the openness in work space I am not sure there is a better office in the city. I can completely understand that there are people in this world who look to be buried in an office to surround themselves by mountains of “false busy work”, but this is simply not that type of place. It is a place where creativity and legitimate thought leadership are encouraged on all aspects. People: Like many companies, BB has gone through some evolutionary changes that have allowed it to nurture the most committed and open-minded employees. Ironically, through this growth many of the original hires from four plus years ago are still here and matriculating into positions of leadership. Do not get me wrong, as with all companies there have been both “good and bad apples” over the years, but those that have remained are here because we care about working in an industry that’s constantly changing and working to be in the front of those changes. Employee Freedoms: If you like having the ability to have input on certain business strategies, while working in a non-super bureaucratic environment than BB is your place. What I have found over the years is that some people do not have the maturity and intestinal fortitude to independently work with a few end goals in mind. Because our industry is changing so rapidly, adjustments to process are inevitably going to happen and I feel that management and ownership recognize this and allow employees to have input on how to “steer the ship”. This sort of employee freedom comes with the exchange of not having multiple layers of traditional middle management, but I for one am ok with that.

    Cons

    By in large there are not many CONS I can say because whether a person is fresh out of college or someone with some experience under their belt, there are ways to find a comfortable and motivating position at BB. Additional (vested) stock options for veteran employees would be nice considering many of us have been around for most of the company growth and changes.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2016-01-18
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Wonderful Workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Branding Brand full-time

    Pros

    Branding Brand is a professionally challenging yet fun workplace! The CEO and other C-Suite personnel are very considerate of employees and, if you have talent and work ethic, you can shine and advance at Branding Brand. Management is very generous with employees, offering stock options for ALL employees and numerous bonus opportunities in addition to wages at or near the top of the scale! The company-sponsored parties are AMAZING and everyone has a good time. Alcohol is available, but those who don't drink (like me) never feel pressure to do so and there is always plenty of non-alcohol options and good food to go along with the wonderful people and activities at company-sponsored events. The number and variety of optional company-sponsored outings, such as the rafting trip, is truly remarkable. Management really cares for its employees who work hard. Sometimes tough decisions have to be made in business. I have worked at Branding Brand since 2013 and witnessed its rapid personnel expansion followed by a slight correction. Branding Brand is more productive than ever. Like all such business decisions relating to personnel, they were tough but necessary. The negative posts on Glassdoor by certain former employees prove the right personnel decisions were made to keep Branding Brand a positive, enjoyable place to work. Branding Brand's corporate integrity and responsibility are second to none. Benefits are excellent. The recent move to require some contribution for health care is consistent with what other employees are experiencing at other companies as a result of changes to Federal laws. Free lunches are amazing! Some employees bring dogs but rules ensure that dogs do not disturb the workplace or hinder productivity. It is just a wonderful place about which I cannot say enough.

    Cons

    Branding Brand is NO place for those who are NOT self-starters or NOT willing to work independently. There is no micro-management at Branding Brand. If you have a tendency to be lazy, disgruntled, or unhappy, then you will not feel at home at Branding Brand. I am not altogether surprised, just disappointed, by anonymous former employees who post unfair and untrue posts calculated to be the most harmful things they can say. Unfortunately, anonymous revenge is easy on the internet. I hope that with time and maturity and perhaps some self reflection, the wound of rejection will heal and those inaccurate post writers can move on.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2016-01-18
  10. Helpful (22)

    "Brander"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Brander in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Branding Brand for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The reviews for Branding Brand are very absurd. One side of the spectrum says that this is the best job you could possibly ever hope to have. The other side, apparently has been working in west africa mining for blood diamonds. Anyone who has 1 put one star, clearly has not worked for a truly awful company. Branding Brand is way too flexible and easy going to be rated this poorly, but we are by no means a five anymore. - The core company hours are 10-6. Anyone should be able to, for the most part, bypass most traffic. - If you want to come in earlier, you can leave earlier. If you get in a bit late, leave a bit later. - Dogs in the office can be a plus. It makes for a nicer atmosphere, unless you are allergic to dogs, sorry. - Free Parking - Free lunches 4 days of the week - Proximity to bars and restaurants - You'll probably make friends with your team. For the most part, as the company has a friendly atmosphere. - Friendly, effective CTO - Long stint of poor choicest technology choices, but things are getting a lot better - Overall, it's a job and the day to day work itself is not bad. There's rarely a lack of work to be done. If you let the work consume your life, it will. If people are overworking themselves, they need to realize that they can just say, "I'm done for today, I'm going home".

    Cons

    - Raises are nearly non-existent. Your starting salary will likely be your ending salary. For a company that is an "Industry Leader", they give next to nothing or actually nothing during your annual review, even if you had a good review. The only way to get a raise is to put in your two week and see if Branding Brand has decided that you're worth keeping. - 401K is a joke since it lacks any form of matching - The health care is good, but it use to be free. On top of not giving raises we now have to pay for it. It's kind of like a pay deduction to existing employees. - For being such a young, up-and-coming business, we've sure hired a bunch of old guys who have no idea what they are doing. - We have a corporate ladder, but the company decides to change it's structure every 8 months. You're never quite sure where that ladder goes anymore. It doesn't matter anyways since the company is shrinking and there is no room for employee growth as positions only open up when someone finds a better pay elsewhere. - We let certain individuals push the direction of our coding architecture which lead us towards multiple years of misery. - Most of the culture and morale is gone. Branding Brand wants the company to become this tight knit group of people, but then has mass layoffs. Morale is expected to stay high, but they just fired 5 of your friends. Culture and Morale have dropped significantly. There are attempts to rebuild it, but no one trusts the current upper management. When a single person is let go, it's done Gestapo style with a black bag in the middle of the night and never talked about.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2016-01-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews