Branding Brand "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Branding Brand Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jan 8, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
59%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Branding Brand Co-Founder and CEO Chris Mason (no image)
Chris Mason
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunches 4 days of the week(in 15 reviews)

  • "I am surrounded by really great people who are all passionate about the work we do(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "All projects turn into piles of techdebt that no one wants to maintain(in 4 reviews)

  • "There are attempts to rebuild it, but no one trusts the current upper management(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "There's no place I'd rather be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Client Service Specialist in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Branding Brand

    Pros

    Everyone always mentions the catered lunches, dog friendly work environment, free parking, etc, but one of my favorite perks is simply the Branding Brand work environment and culture. At BB, you’re not forced to sit at cubicle from 9-5 with a half hour lunch if you’re lucky. You don’t have to “punch a clock” or wear uncomfortable business attire every day. Employees can listen to music, talk to coworkers (which is frowned upon in some corporate offices where you can actually hear a pin drop) and essentially have the freedom to make your work space conform to your standards. Want a stand up desk? Go for it. Want to relax on a giant bean bag because you feel like it? Sure. We also have a space downstairs with those weird cubicles if you’re having a hard time adjusting to an open work space. I personally feel like I work so much more efficiently when I’m comfortable in my workspace. Also, I was hesitant to a leave a corporate job for Branding Brand because I wasn't really sure what I was getting into, but I have ZERO regrets. I still have great benefits, I still have job security, and I am even being challenged more than I was at my old company. I am surrounded by really great people who are all passionate about the work we do. Branding Brand has become so much more than a just job for me..my team has truly become my family. My days at Branding Brand honestly fly by because I am so busy, but it's a good busy. My work days are always different and I feel like I am always learning something new.

    Cons

    Since I was initially hired, my role has changed (you have to be willing to wear many hats and you have to always be open to learn new things otherwise you’ll fall behind). The training aspect of both positions wasn't as efficient as I would've liked. Yes, coworkers are always available and willing to help at Branding Brand, but the initial training for the departments I’ve been part of needs some attention. Even now, some days it’s like a scavenger hunt to try to find information I need, but it keeps me on my toes. It also forces me to become familiar with everyone's role and to learn how the company operates as a whole. No one is going to feed you with a golden spoon- I always feel like I am trying to prove myself. You have to work hard, everyday, or you’ll definitely fall through the cracks. I would imagine it is like this with any company, but at Branding Brand where things constantly change to keep up with evolving technology you need to be eager and aggressive. You have to WANT to keep up and you have to WANT to be a part of the change and growth.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2016-08-01
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Business Indirection"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Branding Brand full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people - Great learning opportunities

    Cons

    - Company always choose the loudest idea - If you aren’t in the main clique, you are on the outside looking in - Business changes direction whenever rain falls from the sky. - Product team makes decisions for delivery team. - Constantly oversells the product (that is nonexistent) and makes delivery team make up for it. This results in unrealistic deadlines that end up being met by having to intentially create technical debt. If you are looking for a place to make sound architectural decision or design award winning apps, look elsewhere. - Pay their group well. If you are getting an offer expect a low ball offer, regardless of their demand for the position. - Annual to semi-annual layoffs.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2018-01-08
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Excellent Enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IOS Developer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Branding Brand

    Pros

    The company is filled with great people and talent. I've learned an immense amount from time at BB and have made important contacts there for my career.

    Cons

    The fast paced work can provide a hectic structure and management during crunch time.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2016-01-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Everything is in your hands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Software Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Branding Brand full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked in many small companies. In some of them owners listen to employees, in others - not. In Branding Brand my voice was heard every time I raised a hand. You shouldn't expect from owners to provide beyond their profits. Company is very young and, though serving to leaders of retail industry, didn't yet grow in size and profits to be compared to top of software developer companies. It's great, that even though abilities of the company are limited, they still support employees, listen to them and are flexible in organizing the work. We have lots to do here, I think it's a benefit. I'd consider quitting, if there were no work. Clients are sweet pets (that's not always true, but I wish). Great company to be recognized for efforts. Only people, who didn't add value to the company, complain here in reviews. I don't believe that bad reviews here are deleted by employers, rather they are flagged by other employees for being not true. Love these: - flexible hours - additional holidays - many vacation days - paternity/maternity leave - great managers: when you have even tiny emergency, they will strive to help you. Managers constantly protect their employees from burning out. All additional or overtime work, is not mandatory. If you deny to do something after hours, it won't hurt your position in the company (though this point may work different way for lazy employees, who do not deliver during normal work hours). - no political games (or you can cut these short by openly talking to all people involved about situation in question). People are discouraged from them by our "open talk" environment. - great parties, events - great people all around you - help from others on every corner: just say "issue with this javascript" aloud, and seven people will jump to you to help - we have managers-devs and managers-client realations. Both are very helpful in moving through project development and are experts in their fields - there are so many others, I'm tired typing. I agree with everything in company's profile though.

    Cons

    Bad company for lazy people. Hard to do no work and sit unnoticed. Inconvenient for those who wants to promote things, that do not add profits, value and/or hurt the company: lovers of big cash, stock benefits; promoters of lab clean and high fashion beauty code (with a price of 50% of developers time), etc.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2014-08-23
  5. Helpful (3)

    "The Best Job I've Ever Had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Branding Brand full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I can't say enough good things about Branding Brand. This is the best job I've ever had. I get to come to collaborate everyday with great people, work with HUGE clients, and interact one on one with management who actually care. In a short amount of time we've accomplished some truly great things as a company. I'm so proud to be a part of such a wonderful diverse (and not to mention smart) team.

    Cons

    There's a lot of work to be done, and sometimes things get crazy. I've worked nights and weekends before, but we ARE a young and growing business and sometimes you have to go above and beyond for the good of the team.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2013-07-26
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Like 70+ hour weeks, with no reward? Well hop on board this sinking ship while you still can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee -  
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Branding Brand full-time

    Pros

    The company has some great people in the trenches. Also nice having dogs in the office

    Cons

    Awful development deadlines are crippling the company. Developers (and other positions) are forced to work insane hours in order to get things done on time, so work-life balance is a total fabrication. You can give catered lunches, and free beer, but that doesn't fix a company that doesn't truly value its people. BB also pushes for employees to give reviews on glassdoor, so forced good reviews are not as true as they seem.

    Continue reading
    Branding Brand2013-07-23

    Branding Brand Response

    August 20, 2013Co-founder

    My door is always open. ...so is the suggestion box. Stop by. Let's talk. We are only as good as our communication.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 6 reviews