Brandmuscle Reviews | Glassdoor

Brandmuscle Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 156 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Paul Elliott / Ray Trantina
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and commradery with room for growth across and sometimes within departments(in 14 reviews)

  • "The culture is fun, the location is amazing and and the work/life balance is great(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management was doing some shady stuff when I left(in 14 reviews)

  • "Very hard to feel like you are ever out of the "entry level" tier(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Chicago Office was great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brandmuscle full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers. management knew their business. Lots of room for growth, and a great location!

    Cons

    The only problem I really had was the power struggle between the Chicago and Cleveland offices.

    Advice to Management

    For a company that has been in business as long as the Chicago office has been, you'd think staffing would not be a problem. But, it is - mainly because of *cough* *cough*

    Brandmuscle2019-07-02
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great People, Not Much Else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brandmuscle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved my coworkers and more immediate higher-levels. Everyone was friendly and team-oriented. The location is good (if you like being downtown), and there was a certain amount of flexibility in schedule and working from home that I appreciated.

    Cons

    They are clearly intending to shift as much of the technology department as possible to India. This is nothing against the India team, as everyone I worked with there was friendly and highly motivated. However, it is a serious downside for U.S. employees and, honestly, the city of Cleveland. There were consistent layoffs while I was there (and since I've been gone), which doesn't lend itself to high confidence in the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees and developing good products, bring your benefits up to industry-standards or above, don't hire people if you don't intend to keep them around, and quit trying to rebrand and reorganize all the time--just do solid work.

    Brandmuscle2019-06-28
  3. "Great People - Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brandmuscle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Very young and fun group of employees (HR does a great job with hiring). *As an entry level position - Brandmuscle has gone out of there way to teach me new things and challenge my skillset. There are some very intelligent employees that are willing to teach. *Great work/life balance *Fantastic PTO policy. I think management understands that they have had a problem in the past with employee retention, and they...

    Show More

    Cons

    *Sometimes there is lack of communication from leadership on the mission / goals of the company. *Some employees get away with lack of effort / sloppy work which they should be disciplined for. *There's not a clear and defined "career advancement" plan at brandmuscle.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring good employees! Don't be afraid to correct peoples behavior.

    Brandmuscle2019-06-01
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Revolving door of employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Marketing Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brandmuscle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People. Like most employees, I like the laid-back company culture and social aspects of the office. Most of us spend a lot of time together even outside of work. This is a good job if you're on your way to somewhere else.

    Cons

    Steady decline in the way upper-level management cares about employees. Cutting costs, laying people off, the only bonuses given are based on revenue. Brandmuscle continues to hire more upper level management + execs and reward those individuals, but doesn't fill vacancies and just expects the remaining employees to pick up the slack. There's a high turnover, even amongst leadership. No explanations when it happens. Career...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Transparency and communication with employees. Extreme measures to cut costs is not only obvious but also bad for morale.

    Brandmuscle2019-04-12
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Good company with a potentially bright future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brandmuscle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people with an overall really good culture. Was able to contribute to real work from day 1 and got a great look at how an enterprise software company operates.

    Cons

    Division between company leaders and investors makes for some office politics.

    Advice to Management

    Find a better way to scale the product and get the board to loosen their grip on operations.

    Brandmuscle2019-02-07
  6. "Great Company to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Brandmuscle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    BrandMuscle has a great atmosphere and the people are amazing. They put a lot of effort into the social aspect of the workplace.

    Cons

    The pay is on the lower side.

    Brandmuscle2019-02-07
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Was great, but steadily gets worse and worse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brandmuscle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice Office. Free Coffee, Great Co-Workers

    Cons

    No pay raises. Management that does not have a clue. Revolving door with 5-10 people leaving and starting every few weeks. No-communication.

    Advice to Management

    Was a great company when it was only Cleveland based. Once it was merged multiple companies with a company from Chicago, Austin, Kansas City and then owned by venture capitalists. The only goal is selling the company to the next owner for a profit. Get some investors and a board that wants to get back to building a great product and building a great place for people to work and raise their families. brandmuscle broke...

    Show More
    Brandmuscle2019-02-08
  8. "Independence comes at a cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - On-Site Coordinator 

    I worked at Brandmuscle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of freedom for on site positions

    Cons

    If working on site no chance for growth, little support and pay is low. Rarely do they give raises and when they do 1 to 1.5%.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to those in field and support them.

    Brandmuscle2019-01-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Would never work here again."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Arlington Heights, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brandmuscle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great location within the city.

    Cons

    Pay is very low, management is in Ohio and the communication is not good.

    Brandmuscle2018-12-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Brandmuscle full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    Brandmuscle2018-10-14
Found 156 reviews