Brenau University Reviews | Glassdoor

Brenau University Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Brenau University CEO Ed L. Schrader
Ed L. Schrader
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Office Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Gainesville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brenau University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work! Everyone is welcoming and helpful!

    Cons

    Too much for family members to be added on to insurance policy

    Brenau University2018-02-09
  2. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Services 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brenau University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with, location, campus

    Cons

    Out of date practices, Low salary, Not many options for promotion

    Brenau University2019-07-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brenau University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, used to have excellent insurance, now not so much, great perks like seeing theatrical performances for $5 each for you and anyone living in your home.

    Cons

    Bad pay, no real way to climb the ladder from here without an extra degree and even then, options are limited.

    Advice to Management

    Increase raises for established personnel that excel in their positions in order to improve retention of lower level staff.

    Brenau University2018-07-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Brenau University full-time

    Pros

    Tuition Assistance and time off

    Cons

    High cost for health beneftis

    Brenau University2018-07-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Gainesville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brenau University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people who work at Brenau University are wonderful. The time off is excellent.

    Cons

    They do not pay well.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees as you do your students.

    Brenau University2018-05-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Positive Environemnt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brenau University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    You get to work with great people, overall positive culture, lots of activities where everyone can interact with one another, non-monetary benefits are really good.

    Cons

    Forcing the use of a time clock for employees and the way that it has been implemented has created lower morale and made many employees feel that they were not working in a professional environment.

    Brenau University2018-04-22
  7. Helpful (3)

    "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brenau University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Extra time off is Great because you don't have to use up vacation. You get to work with a great group of people who care about one another.

    Cons

    Clocking in and out in professional positions makes employees feel like they cannot be trusted and undervalued. The pay could be better.

    Advice to Management

    There are a lot of us who work hard without depending on a time clock to do our jobs. This new policy has made people grow disgruntled because they feel like they are not trustworthy to be at work. It has been a stumbling block to ensuring quality work for our students while also adhering to University policy- one of those will suffer when employees have choose between the clock and helping the students.

    Brenau University2017-12-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great work environment, low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gainesville, GA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Brenau University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and relaxed culture. Family-friendly supervisors. I stay here because of the flexibility I have with my time off (I have kids which means frequent absences due to illness and appointments) Holiday time off is also great. I have had the opportunity to learn new skills, which is encouraged by supervisors.

    Cons

    Low pay, recent changes in benefits, less flexibility than before. Not much room for advancement since school is small.

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay to be competitive, do not decrease benefits/time off, do not take away half-day Fridays in the summer!

    Brenau University2017-11-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Success Coach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brenau University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility and manager who understands and values hard work

    Cons

    Opportunity for growth is not available

    Advice to Management

    Dont be afraid to speak up

    Brenau University2017-08-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Orientation Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Orientation Leader in Gainesville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brenau University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff is very helpful during training and offers support and opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    Sometimes job expectations are unclear from the beginning which can lead to confusion or dissatisfaction. You have to be proactive about communication with your supervisors.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure that job expectations and role duties are clear during interviews to avoid unnecessary tensions.

    Brenau University2016-12-27
Found 19 reviews