Brenntag Reviews | Glassdoor

Brenntag Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 168 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Brenntag CEO Steven Holland
Steven Holland
30 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Disconnect between upper management and local branches(in 9 reviews)

  • "berforderte Vorgesetzte, Lange Wege bei der Umsetzung neuer Ideen, Bezahlung entspricht nicht immer der T(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Make Brenntag YOUR Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Wauwatosa, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brenntag full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Opportunities are endless in all areas of the company....Brenntag is a company where you can make it be whatever it is that you're looking for in an employer.

    Cons

    The first year or two is the hardest...figure out who we are and what we do THEN decide on your own career path and what that looks like. Brenntag isn't for everyone but everyone has the opportunity to Make It Yours!

    Advice to Management

    Communication....there's never a right nor wrong amount of communication that should take place but everyone needs to feel that their management is communicating at all levels. We're not there yet.

    Brenntag2019-02-20
  2. "Good and safe work, great people and management is well ran."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Fairmont City, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brenntag full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Voluntary overtime, pay is ok, flexible work hours.

    Cons

    Insurance is a joke , not paying enough for the dangerous and hazardous materials you handle.

    Brenntag2019-05-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Interview process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Reading, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brenntag full-time

    Pros

    Was considerate while scheduling interviews, and on time with notifications of interviews.

    Cons

    Not very considerate after the interview, They had me come in twice for interviews (one by their request) and never followed up back with me, until I contracted then asking on a status. They said they had filled the job a moths ago.

    Advice to Management

    My advise, It shows a bad representation of how the company is run. When I interview my workers, all whom had, had interviews will get correspondence that the positions was filled.

    Brenntag2019-04-25
  4. "Can’t complain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brenntag full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Culture on my team is positive, make your numbers and the schedule is flexible

    Cons

    Not enough employee buy-in and lack of competent people in certain positions

    Brenntag2019-03-29
  5. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Driver 

      I have been working at Brenntag full-time

      Pros

      Job security and decent place to work

      Cons

      No set schedule. Pay could be better.

      Brenntag2019-03-16
    • "good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Operator in Houston, TX

      I have been working at Brenntag full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      good work life balance in my unit pay is good

      Cons

      40 hr weeks at beginning of year

      Brenntag2019-02-11
    • "Ok company with ok pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Brenntag full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      company is stable and so is the market, you pretty much can guarantee to stay at this job for the next 20-30 years.

      Cons

      no room for growth,middle managers stay for a long time with very little room for growth, pay not competitive with other distributors, no one really cares about the chemical distribution industry from the outside. You will not make alot of money here.

      Advice to Management

      increase pay and create new jobs with more responsibilities.

      Brenntag2019-02-04
    • "Operator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Filler Operator in Henderson, KY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Brenntag full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      It’s a hot nasty job in the summer and frigid in the winter with a lot of doom and gloom sprinkled in between. The best part is dealing with inept management, lots of lol moments. 401 k is pretty good, but nothing stellar compared to other places. Do yourself a favor and don’t waste time with this place

      Cons

      A lot of favoritism and micromanaging. Immaturity on all levels. Leadership sleeping with other employees.... Pay isn’t up to standard for the jobs you are asked to perform. This company is leaving a terrible footprint filled with pollution in our community, they have very little regard for things that happen and the stuff they spill, they prefer to turn a blind eye to everything. If you speak out then you become...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get out from behind or under your desk.... open your eyes.... stop playing favoritism, have some integrity, show honesty.... oh, I got it! Be a decent person, you would be surprised at the positive return you will gain. Your only as good as your lowest man. You need us and we need you, we need leaders, people we can trust and follow....

      Brenntag2019-02-07
    • Helpful (2)

      "Managers not engaged with your career path. No formal training, lots of micro managers. Very unorganized."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Brenntag full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Close to home for me.

      Cons

      Micro managers No time to teach “ the ropes” of what is expected. There are MUCH better companies to work for instead of Brenntag.

      Advice to Management

      Look at your middle managers that will supervisor employees. The culture is toxic for new hires!

      Brenntag2019-02-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "Good people, but bad structure"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Brenntag Pacific 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Brenntag full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      The people at the company are great, and if they weren't, I would have left a long time ago. And there is job security. Good stepping stone job. Safety taken very seriously as it should be.

      Cons

      One of the reasons there's job security is there is no one to back you up. Taking vacation can be a logistical hassle. Vacation package is very behind the times. Pay is below average. Benefits are just OK. I don't know how they plan to stay relevant and attract young talent. Always seeming like we are putting out fires instead of making any progress to being better. Aside from a good safety culture, there's not a...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Invest more in your people and infrastructure, I think you would be surprised what a happy and invested workforce could do.

      Brenntag2019-01-18
    Found 168 reviews