Brentwood Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Brentwood Industries Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Brentwood Industries CEO Peter Rye (no image)
Peter Rye
24 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brentwood Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PTO policy is awesome. They are really trying to focus on the future growth of the company. It really is a great place to work compared to other companies.

    Cons

    Management tends to spread some employees to thin while others are not really doing their job at all. Time to really evaluate employees and determine who is really valuable and who is just someone who is not really doing anything, has been there for years and that is the only reason they have a job.

    Brentwood Industries2019-02-01

    Brentwood Industries Response

    February 21, 2019HR

    Thank you for the review. We’re glad to hear you’re excited about where the company is going! We also understand your position on evaluating employee performance and are steadily working to do so via our LEAD program. By establishing company-wide standards and expectations, our goal is to have the right people in the right roles to achieve the balance you seem to be seeking. If you’d like to discuss anything further, please reach out to HR.

    Continue reading
  2. "?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brentwood Industries full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Growing company that compensates employees well.

    Cons

    Senior management out of touch with line personnel

    Continue reading
    Brentwood Industries2019-10-14
  3. "What's new?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Reading, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brentwood Industries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great PTO plan and other employees are great to work with. There are some very good people who care about others at this company. For the most part, groups work together very well. Some depts. are better to work in then others. The benefits are above average and flexible work environment if you need to leave for appointment.

    Cons

    What's new? Not making enough money to support the efforts of those pulling their weight. International sites draining company of funds. No good raises except if you're at the top - even bad years. Good people leaving this year that were in key positions - HR, Manufacturing, etc. And now we are left with the inexperienced and the old or another family member trying to step in.

    Continue reading
    Brentwood Industries2019-10-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "No Respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Clerk in Reading, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brentwood Industries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have a good PTO plan

    Cons

    The only thing that is important to them is money and more money, they don't care about their employees.

    Continue reading
    Brentwood Industries2019-08-23
  5. "Enjoyed my job for the most part"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Man in Martinsburg, WV
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brentwood Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great schedule M-F 10 hour shifts No pressure on my back if machines were running quality and meeting numbers

    Cons

    Management, dirty work and obnoxious safety rules starting to be implemented.

    Brentwood Industries2019-02-17

    Brentwood Industries Response

    February 21, 2019HR

    Thank your for your hard work at Brentwood. We’re glad you enjoyed your position and would be interested to hear more detail about the Cons you listed so that we can improve in those areas. In general, most manufacturing processes can involve tough and dirty work at times, which is why we need stringent rules in place to keep our employees safe.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It’s got it’s ups and downs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Hope, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brentwood Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, it’s a smaller sized plant, it’s easy to become a family like workplace. They have good values and goals for the company.

    Cons

    There are more leaders than there are followers trying to make decisions before they have all they need. For example, as a maintenance technician, there were different modifications that were wanted to up effiecency of production, but we would be slowed down due to the people over us not knowing what they want or not having enough information and would have to undo what we already done

    Continue reading
    Brentwood Industries2018-10-05

    Brentwood Industries Response

    February 21, 2019HR

    hank you for your hard work in Hope! We’re glad to hear that Brentwood feels like a family and that you’re excited about the company’s future. We’d also like to thank you for sharing the example regarding process improvements. While these are certainly useful if we’re boosting production, it’s counterintuitive to slow down our operators and technicians if the details have not yet been nailed down. Please speak up if you have any ideas or if you’re being hindered from doing your job effectively. HR would be more than happy to help in any way we can.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fractured growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brentwood Industries full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sometimes current employees are able to move up the ranks.

    Cons

    Many temps bring trained (and leaving) constantly and was tiring.

    Brentwood Industries2018-08-26

    Brentwood Industries Response

    February 21, 2019HR

    Thank you for the review. It’s good to hear that you felt qualified employees were able to advance within Brentwood’s organization. We also recognize the employee churn you mentioned and are continuously evaluating new and more effective ways to combat that issue.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Unfair to all employees due to not many trained"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brentwood Industries full-time

    Pros

    Revolving door new management at least 1 time per year

    Cons

    Does not hold all employees accountable for same thing

    Continue reading
    Brentwood Industries2018-04-25

    Brentwood Industries Response

    July 6, 2018HR

    Thank you for your review. You’ve touched on a number of topics, each of which we’d like to address briefly: Training is an important aspect of any successful company, and Brentwood hosts a range of trainings each year, from safety-related topics to supervisory and feedback training. We are actively seeking continued training/educational opportunities and are open to employee suggestions. In terms of your comment about new management, we have seen several long-term employees retire in the past few years. While their experience is invaluable, we’re excited about the new employees we’re bringing in to the Brentwood family. Their new perspectives and fresh ideas will help move Brentwood into the future. Accountability is an area of focus, particularly this year, as many employees are participating in Leadership Accountability training. We want each employee to feel like they have a stake in the company’s success and shift the connotation behind the word “accountability” to something positive. We are all striving toward common goals and need each other to get to the finish line. Lastly, we have a standard drug testing program that occurs regularly and randomly. Results indicate that this program is effective, and we are pleased with it.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Reading, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brentwood Industries full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good company with good benefits. Always striving to improve processes. The culture is team oriented, which allows for an overall achievement toward goals. There were challenges, however, I was supported every step of the way at all levels. Everyone I have worked with was a positive experience. My boss was one of a kind...great guy!!!!

    Cons

    No negative comments for company. Unfortunately, for me, I had to leave due to a family related illness.

    Continue reading
    Brentwood Industries2018-03-01

    Brentwood Industries Response

    March 5, 2018HR

    Thank you for your review and your time at Brentwood. It’s great to hear you had such a positive experience! We’re aiming to continually improve processes through teamwork and collaboration, while also providing a healthy work-life balance.

    Continue reading
  10. "Quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brentwood Industries full-time

    Pros

    Good Quality team and communications

    Cons

    Big company, changes are slower than expectations

    Continue reading
    Brentwood Industries2017-11-26

    Brentwood Industries Response

    January 9, 2018HR

    Thank you for your thoughts. It’s great to hear that you’re happy with your team and feel that Brentwood communicates well. Over the past few years, we have indeed been working to implement some big, systemic changes that affect the daily tasks of many employees. Due to the large impacts of these changes, we want to be sure we’re getting everything accomplished correctly, down to the last detail. Much like the title of your review, we’re aiming for quality in all that we do. If you have ideas about how we can better support big initiatives, we’d love to hear them!

    Continue reading
Found 44 reviews