Brewer Attorneys & Counselors Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.3
35%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Brewer Attorneys & Counselors Managing Partner William A. Brewer III (no image)
William A. Brewer III
19 Ratings
  1. "You get out what you put in"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brewer Attorneys & Counselors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get the chance to work with some positively brilliant professionals. The cases are interesting and there is generally high energy to get deliverable out.

    Cons

    The dog-eat-dog politics are high -- so, make sure that you can handle the heat.

    Brewer Attorneys & Counselors2020-02-21
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Money is not worth unhappiness"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brewer Attorneys & Counselors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Compensation is relatively high compared to other jobs

    Cons

    Abusive and demeaning environment at times; no life outside of work.

    Brewer Attorneys & Counselors2019-08-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Dingdong, the _____ Is Dead"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brewer Attorneys & Counselors

    Pros

    Morale improved after a divisive figure finally exited.

    Cons

    The same CEO remains, but his personality has improved. Lateral partners are a good addition.

    Continue reading
    Brewer Attorneys & Counselors2019-04-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Legal assistant"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Receptionist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brewer Attorneys & Counselors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot and very busy.

    Cons

    Too much drama and management is chaos.

    Continue reading
    Brewer Attorneys & Counselors2019-04-30
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Don't work here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brewer Attorneys & Counselors full-time

    Pros

    There are only a few good employees who work at the law firm. Literally, there are only 3 or 4 people you could actually tolerate.

    Cons

    Everything! Management is eager to insult you, stab you in the back, belittle you, throw you under the bus, bully you, or make your life miserable.

    Continue reading
    Brewer Attorneys & Counselors2018-10-05
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Response?"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brewer Attorneys & Counselors

    Pros

    Once you finally escape this firm, and choose to caution others about it, the firm’s managers will likely disparage you online, further exposing their own stupidity. I consider this to be a small pro in a large sea of cons. (As an aside, “sea of cons,” is the perfect way to describe the team of nitwits who manage Brewer, Attorneys & Counselors).

    Cons

    I applaud the many reviewers who have shared their experiences on this site. I was particularly stricken by the reviewer who exposed a culture of harassment perpetuated by Bill Brewer. In my opinion, Bill Brewer is a deviant.

    Continue reading
    Brewer Attorneys & Counselors2018-08-07
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Associate"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brewer Attorneys & Counselors full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Met some good people along the way. I guess it really is true that "misery loves company." You seem to bond with other unfortunate souls while you're in the trenches. Nice offices (big deal).

    Cons

    If Bill Brewer was not in charge - the firm would have been a much better place to work. Hundreds and hundreds of employees came and left over the years due to his antics. Intelligent, brilliant people with nothing but the best intentions of giving their all to the firm. Horror stories. Seriously. Oh, the stories I could tell . . .

    Continue reading
    Brewer Attorneys & Counselors2018-08-06
  8. Helpful (15)

    "The boss has spoken in that last review ....."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brewer Attorneys & Counselors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A few people you work with

    Cons

    Management, no respect, demeaning people, too much to even type it all out

    Continue reading
    Brewer Attorneys & Counselors2018-08-03
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Rife With Demeaning Harassment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brewer Attorneys & Counselors full-time

    Pros

    There are none. Every positive thing here is posted by management or the outside marketing firm they had to hire instead of paying bonuses. It’s hilarious they tried calling themselves the top environmental litigation firm in the country when they lost their only environmental litigation client, aka got fired on the eve of trial for massive incompetence. Of course, Bill Brewer’s fragile ego couldn’t admit to being sacked so he had to pretend he’d fired the client. Sure. Because every law firm wants to axe a Fortune 50 client in order to do more low rent wills and estate work or represent the NRA and white supremacists.

    Cons

    Most of it has been said already, but what nobody has had the courage to mention so far is that Mr. Brewer serially sexually harasses his male employees. This isn’t meant to be a commentary on anyone’s lifestyle or orientation, but the way he takes a vulgar interest in the appearance, dress and build of his male employees and comments on it constantly is troubling, inappropriate and illegal. First, it’s very strange that Mr. Brewer definitely has a physical type for his male employees. He likes them to be over 6’ tall, in shape and with an athletic background. He always likes to talk about playing sports with his “boys” even though a number of them were high level high school or college athletes and he seems to have flamed out as a JV tennis player in middle school. Still, that doesn’t stop him from constantly trying to discuss his physical superiority to the men in the office, to their face and behind their back. More troubling, he constantly refers to the bodies and dress of his male employees. He notices little changes in weight and will publicly discuss them. He tells male employees to try to be more muscular and likes to discuss workout regimens constantly with them. He does the same with clothing. Always liking to essentially play dress up with his employees, telling them what to wear and how to present themselves despite the fact that he wears women’s watches and corny pinstriped suits like some 80s movie villain. At first, it seemed to us like this was just about presenting an image, but I talked to a friend who is a forensic psychiatrist and she explained that it’s part of a grooming process performed by predators. He essentially tells his subordinates how to dress and how to look. Praises them when their physical appearance matches his ideal and mocks them when it falls short. He even rewards his favorites by taking them for shoe shines, another activity focused solely on his male employees’ look and dress. Further, he’ll often hold meetings in his office very late at night when the employees are exhausted. At this point he’ll constantly be grooming himself, fixing his hair in mirrors and unbuttoning his shirt basically to the navel. Again, we used to think this was mere arrogance and some of us could do some pretty decent impersonations of his routine, but now that I’ve been here for awhile it’s clear it’s meant to be a seduction routine. Mr. Brewer has never directly propositioned me and I’m not sure whether that holds true for other male employees. I do know however that he has and continues to make fairly constant observations about my clothes and physique and seems way more concerned and complimentary regarding my looks and the looks of other male employees than our work product. This needed to be said, both to warn future potential employees, and hopefully get Mr. Brewer’s illegal and degrading behavior to stop.

    Continue reading
    Brewer Attorneys & Counselors2018-07-31
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Pitiful"

    1.0
     

    I worked at Brewer Attorneys & Counselors

    Pros

    As many others have already commented, the benefit to working here is the friendships you’ll form with the few sane and intelligent folks who work at this place. You’ll also have some really funny stories about the truly bizarre cast of characters who “manage” the firm.

    Cons

    Among many others: -the hours are outrageous. This is not because there’s a lot of work to go around (indeed most of the large clients that used to keep the firm afloat have now since fired Bill Brewer). It is because you’ll spend most of your days and nights pandering to Bill, explaining basic legal concepts to him over and over again, and responding to his outrageous personal requests. The man has either lost it entirely or simply never had it to begin with (most likely, the latter). -you’ll report to a woman titled “Executive Director,” who is a glorified administrative assistant with no legal education or managerial chops. She is a lunatic who employs her army of secretaries to spy on the lawyers. She does this so she can plant seeds in the boss’s ear and seem valuable. This has worked for her so far because of the boss’s own ineptitude (see point 1, above). However, I’ve heard her days are numbered. -the compensation is subpar. Bill Brewer even wrote an article in Law360 acknowledging this (who told him that would be a good idea, by the way?! So many colleagues have forwarded it to me and noted it is the death knell for this place.) -the NY office is a cesspool. It’s dirty and dingy. Not exactly the type of office one would expect from a law firm operating at the “tip of the spear,” as Bill likes to say. More like the blunt end of a rusty old butter knife. -it’s hard to leave. The firm has a terrible reputation, so it’s tough to get interviews elsewhere. But keep persisting, and you may land up in a great spot with a lot of funny stories to tell.

    Continue reading
    Brewer Attorneys & Counselors2018-07-29
Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews