Brickman Operations Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Operations Manager

Brickman Operations Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 11, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
59%
Recommend to a Friend
Brickman Chief Executive Officer  Andrew Masterman (no image)
Andrew Masterman
0 Rating
  1. "Brickman puts the customer's needs first and continues to lead the industry in customer service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brickman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Long career, great oppurtunity to be involved in all aspects of the hands on and financial side of the lawn care and landscape business.

    Cons

    Sometimes hard to find balance with family and work

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on growth and give branches the tools they need to grow.

    Brickman2013-04-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "operations manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Acting Operations Manager in Blanchester, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brickman for more than a year

    Pros

    lots of ot in summer early. take advantage it gets bad.

    Cons

    hours are inconsistant. managers lie ,lie ,lie.

    Advice to Management

    dont make promises you cant keep. let things be . dont tell me today and change it this evening. no future!!!

    Brickman2016-07-12
  3. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Huntington, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brickman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always willing to train new and existing employees, Steady work, good benefits, great opportunities for both gaining experience and for advancement.

    Cons

    Long hours in the summer, very focused on hours and dollars, and long winter hours in the northern climates.

    Brickman2015-11-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Brickman decent place to work, could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brickman for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most people are good to work with. Off most weekends. Company is moving in right direction.

    Cons

    OM's work 50-60 hours per week with no OT. Bonuses are not completely fair.

    Advice to Management

    Brickman is a very profitable company. Pay your people better and offer vacation to all full time employees!!

    Brickman2015-09-22
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Best job to the worst job I ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brickman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Base salary pay at 40 hours is great, even competitive, hourly employees getting time and half working the same expected hours as a manager make more. The Brickman family was great with bonuses, perks and it was a great place to work!!! I was always made to feel like a valued employee and I would always have a future there.

    Cons

    Brightview - KKR - where to begin? The highest turnover rate I have ever seen anywhere. Constant change in management & crews make it impossible to do quality work or build relationships let alone complete work. Way too many chiefs!!! Too many processes that nobody follows anyway. I could go on but I just want to leave the academy company that "everyone will want to work for" LOL

    Advice to Management

    "I say we take off and nuke the entire site from orbit; it's the only way to be sure." - Ripley

    Brickman2015-08-20
  6. Helpful (7)

    "was not fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Operations Manager in Gaithersburg, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brickman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice people - expenses paid for, made some friends, it was OKAY

    Cons

    laid me off after a month. I quit my job to come work for them and then they let me and 4 others go for no reason. was not a pleasant experience.

    Advice to Management

    be more honest with those you hire, you could have atleast given us a reason for letting us go.

    Brickman2015-05-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding due to great teammates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brickman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of resources in terms of personnel and equipment to help you solve issues that arise from client demands, staffing, and efficiency. Our values are trust, honesty, respect, teamwork, and excellence and we strive to mention and live them on a daily basis.

    Cons

    The pay is an issue from the crew level up, which makes it difficult, if not impossible, for operations managers to first do their job and second take pride in their job because there aren't enough people to perform the work. Instead of being able to delight their clients, they're instead struggling to get all of the mowing and weeding done in less than 12 hours per day.

    Advice to Management

    Everyone is on board with having financial success, but it should never be at the expense of a company's employees. Brickman's crew member positions are much more demanding than entry level positions in similar industries (i.e. restaurant or retail) and yet the pay is less. Brickman's employees are worth the financial risk that will need to be taken to give them a significant increase in pay.

    Brickman2015-02-18
  8. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brickman

    Pros

    Reputable company that takes care of their clients

    Cons

    Uncertainty for middle management positions with the ValleyCrest merger

    Brickman2015-02-28
  9. "Operations manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brickman

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Constant perks like company breakfast, raises, hard to get fired

    Cons

    Promotion comes hard. They really look for people who are drinking the Kool aid.

    Brickman2014-12-22
  10. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations Manager in Chesapeake, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brickman

    Pros

    On the Job Training, Providing a superior product

    Cons

    Labor pool is lacking in our area.

    Advice to Management

    Keep working.

    Brickman2014-12-18
Found 22 reviews