KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Brickman

Part of BrightView
Engaged Employer

Brickman

Add a Review

Brickman Employee Reviews about "brickman"

Updated Jun 21, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 201 reviews

2.5
36%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Brickman Chief Executive Officer  Andrew Masterman (no image)
Andrew Masterman
2 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good people in local branches(in 12 reviews)
  • "Good Benefits are about all that i can think of positive.(in 12 reviews)
  • "Always willing to train new and existing employees, Steady work, good benefits, great opportunities for both gaining experience and for advancement.(in 4 reviews)
  • "The culture has changed.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
  • "Many good contractors have been thoroughly screwed over by Brickman due to the awful management and inability of the area managers to fulfill to promises that they are forced to make.(in 11 reviews)
  • "Low pay makes it hard to retain employees.(in 9 reviews)
  • "Long Hours sometimes from 5:30 AM to 6:00 P.M(in 8 reviews)
  • "Many area managers do their best but are often put in impossible situations and the contractors suffer.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Upper management did not have a clue about what was going on and kept themselves completely seperated from regular employees and never interacted to find encourage people to want to do a good job.(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "brickman"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Best job to the worst job I ever had.

    Aug 20, 2015 - Operations Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Base salary pay at 40 hours is great, even competitive, hourly employees getting time and half working the same expected hours as a manager make more. The Brickman family was great with bonuses, perks and it was a great place to work!!! I was always made to feel like a valued employee and I would always have a future there.

    Cons

    Brightview - KKR - where to begin? The highest turnover rate I have ever seen anywhere. Constant change in management & crews make it impossible to do quality work or build relationships let alone complete work. Way too many chiefs!!! Too many processes that nobody follows anyway. I could go on but I just want to leave the academy company that "everyone will want to work for" LOL

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Brain Dead But the Body Lives On

    May 5, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a big company, a really really BIG company in the landscape business. If you like people telling you what to do and exactly how to do it, this is the place for you. Benefits for management people (exempt) are better than average. Ownership by KKR means we have deep pockets. If you work here, chances are that you can get a really great job at a smaller competitor and be appreciated way more than you are here. When things are going well, you feel like you are running your own company, or at least that was how it worked in the past.

    Cons

    The culture of Brickman is dead. If you can't get over the fact that we are now just viewed as a services company and need to hit the top line and bottom line, then you should move on, as I hope to do. I should go to work for a janitorial company, I'd then not have to sweat in 90 degree weather. This has become a churn-and-burn company. If you ask a HR person about retention, they say not to worry about it, as if there are thousands of people lined up to work for us. There isn't. The layers of people who have been hired who don't know anything, and I mean zero, nada, zip, less than nothing, about this industry is baffling. KKR, have you read the executives bios? The combined company's name should not have been BrightView, it should be Arabrick (Aramark+Brickman) or Brickwaste (Brickman+Waste Management). Fancy consultants came up with the name BrightView. Google it. There are BrightViews for senior living, for technology companies, for dentist offices, for rehab centers. The name is just one indicator of this company's totally detached ivory tower style of decision making and total disregard for employee input. TruGreen just rebranded to Landcare and they went through a process that included the real people at the company, what a novel concept. (Did our high priced consultants ever read that the first rule of change management is to involve the people who are in the company?) I guess we as employees of BrightView are too small and insignificant to be included in these decisions. I'm waiting to see how many branch managers at ValleyCrest get fed up with the measurement in their bonuses in July, before I make my exit. If you are considering working here, ask the person you interview with several key questions. Ask about your career path. Ask about the average merit increase. Ask what the attrition rate is in your branch. Ask how many times the branch has earned a bonus in the past 10 years. Ask if they hit their profitability goal. Ask how much they've sold in new service contracts . Ask about performance reviews and how they are done. Ask about training and development. Ask about how customer dissatisfaction is handled. Remember, the brain is dead but the body still lives. People are still in self preservation mode so they will say anything that the corporate machine spits out.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Ok Intern Experience

    Sep 24, 2015 -  in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I interned with the Brickman Group awhile back. Some of the people you work with are a hit or miss.

    Cons

    Benefits are ok. There's not the greatest. Brickman does have a problem of hiring alot of workers that are not U.S. Citizens or have a proper work visa to work here. If they're a prestigious company they shouldn't cut corners

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Hold On Tight, it is Going to be a Long Bumpy Ride

    Aug 21, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you like a big company and structure we are about to get a whole lot bigger, doubling our company's size by buying Valley Crest. I have hard working people at my branch but the branch service quality and people quality vary a lot. We seem to fill most of our top positions with people from other companies so that is a bonus if you don't work here, it is a source of aggrivation for our people.

    Cons

    The last few years at the company have been very different as the Brickman family moved out of ownership. It is like we are on a roller coaster rride but the worst part is you do not know if your car is going to stay on the track. We got a new CEO and he has brought in all sorts of new people at the upper upper level. They will push mandates out to us and tell us how to do our job. It is pretty funny thinking that they know how to do my job when they never are on customer's properties. They also push cost cutting on us at the same time that they are zipping around the country in the corporate jet. Work life balance is a joke especially in snow season. The company gets all of that gravy but forgets to spread it around to us little guys. We bought Valley Crest in July and a lot of my peers are really happy about that because they do a really good job and we were excited to think that we will actually merge with Valley Crest. We were let down a week ago when we were told that the head people who ran maintenance for Valley Crest did not get a single spot reorting to our CEO. I guess better together doesn't mean Brickman and Valley Crest, it means Brickman and Brickman or Brickman and anyone else. People in the company want a shot at these great roles and we are constantly getting looked over. Valley Crest people will need to get used to that. Our customers do not like that we are now together as one company because they used us as price checks against each other. This just make us bigger not better. I am in this industry because I love working outside but I am afraid that the big company will be motivated by big bucks and cost cutting.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Legacy is gone

    Dec 10, 2014 - Branch Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work well as a regional team originally when it was the Brickman group. The uncertainity now is will we have any autonomy with the Valleycrest merger?

    Cons

    Now that the new name and philosophy has been rolled out I am not sure that the top will force down all their ideas with no clue as to how we have run and been profitable for years.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Senior management is running the company into the ground. Scapegoats are a hot commodity.

    Apr 11, 2014 - Area Manager in New Albany, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are some very good people who work at BFS, mostly at the lower levels. There's also a deli on the first floor of the building that has really good food.

    Cons

    There are some great people who work at the Brickman Facilities Solutions corporate office in New Albany, OH. Unfortunately for the organization, none of those people are in upper management. The company has great potential, but their business model consists of selling any contract the sales team can get their hands on regardless of whether the company can really service it or not, then blaming the operations team for failing to service the contract to the customer's often impossible expectations and getting off scot-free, only to repeat the process until enough contracts have been lost that a layoff is needed. Time and again the operations team is put in no-win situations where it is nearly impossible to do one's job, then the blame from the people who put the regional and area managers in those situations is quick to come. Of course it's the lower-level people who get laid off, not the senior management who caused the situation in the first place with their incompetence. There is no consistency or sense of direction from upper management. Many a time I watched in disbelief as two or more senior managers would discuss a procedure or policy and fail to come to a decision, leaving the area managers with no clear directive on how to handle a situation which resulted in many things falling through the cracks and never getting done. There are no standard operating procedures at BFS; area managers are usually forced to guess on what to do in all kinds of situations, which of course results in chaos. There is also nearly no hope of promotion within the company. Nearly all positions are filled from outside regardless of the qualifications of the people already working at the company. Not exactly a good message from senior management. During the summer slow season the work/life balance is decent to good depending on what accounts you're working as some customers are more demanding than others, but during winter throw your plans out the door because you're going to do nothing but work. Management does their best to ruthlessly exploit their salaried employees, with 12+ hour days in the office followed by several more hours of working at home being the norm and expectation for no extra compensation of any kind. Comp time is a running joke among the area managers as management occasionally talks about it when prompted but refuses to follow through. If you work really hard, they might send a cart around to give everyone a cookie or bring doughnuts in, but that's about it. Emails and phone calls are nearly continuous no matter the time of day, so don't bother trying to sleep because you're just going to get another phone call or high priority email with the next gigantic crisis in a few minutes. Senior management also has no backbone of any kind and refuses to stand up to customers who try to weasel their way out of their contract or make demands that are clearly impossible to meet. They simply pass the demands down to the area managers with a shrug and then conveniently blame them when the impossible cannot be done, setting the stage for justifying another layoff. Since management's goal seems to be the artificial inflation of the size of the company by selling any contract they can whether it's good business or not, giving support to the operations team is not a high priority. During my time at Brickman a contract was sold that our billing system was not built to handle, but the sales team sold it anyway and senior management made no attempt to modify the system so that both Brickman and our contractors out servicing the sites could be paid, creating mass chaos since no one could get paid for their work. Typically, blame was then placed on the operations team for not servicing the contract correctly. At the time I left the company which was two months into the contract, not a single contractor had been paid for their work because the system was still not working correctly. If you are a contractor looking to work for BFS, please save yourself the trouble and don't bother. Many area managers do their best but are often put in impossible situations and the contractors suffer. Ridiculous demands from customers and problems getting payments to contractors are constant issues that cannot be permanently solved due to the lack of support that the area managers get from upper management. Area managers are forced to use archaic systems and procedures that are often redundant or don't work much of the time, resulting in endless problems getting payments to the contractors. Upper management is also only too happy to acquiesce to the demands of customers to lower their price, resulting in pay cuts for contractors while the scope of their work is increased, especially on fixed fee contracts where some customers expect their sites to look like multi-million dollar mansions but will only pay for the basic landscape service that the contract states but upper management refuses to hold the customers to the contract. Many good contractors have been thoroughly screwed over by Brickman due to the awful management and inability of the area managers to fulfill to promises that they are forced to make. Hopefully this long post is helpful to someone who is looking to be an area manager and gives them a realistic idea of what working at the BFS corporate office is like. It is a high turnover, high-stress, thankless position with little probability of advancement and no hope of extra compensation for the huge number of hours you must put into the job just to keep your head above water. Wages are poor for the amount of work required and getting burned out is nearly guaranteed. Don't expect anything but hypocrisy, empty promises, cynical manipulation and petty politics from upper management. I would only recommend this job to someone I really hated so I could watch them suffer in sadistic amusement.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Good place to learn, then move on.

    Nov 1, 2013 - Landscape Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gained experience quickly, was advanced to higher position within a year. A nation-wide leader in commercial landscaping, Brickman employees have more opportunity to transfer between branches to pursue advancement. My ideas were received by management with an open mind. Insurance benefits were good.

    Cons

    Employees and customers suffer because of cost-cutting measures in a competitive market. Projects are underbid and employees are overworked often - good employees are not retained as a result.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Division Snow Manager

    Oct 13, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Brickman is a solid company with good people. The higher you climb in the organization, the moret hey want to help you further your industry knowledge

    Cons

    Lots of moving part and just like any big company a decision can be made at the top to merge and chaos ensues. Lots of people switching positions and company procedures constantly changing

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Yorktown, VA

    Sep 3, 2014 - Crew Leader in Yorktown, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Every time we need something on the field or a repair with our equipment. The branches team is very efficient about getting what we need. Every body is friendly and really helpful in the office. If you show your determination in this company, they will inturn help you to achieve your goal to persu and develop your career in Brickman.

    Cons

    Working with other employes who have to complain about there job constantly. Personally there are no cons where we work. This is a great place to work. It's a shame that you actually have to work or maby have to take a class to two too advance in this company. It just kill people to no end.Waho the agony.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great clients and project opportunities with long hours

    Apr 1, 2015 - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Brickman is an industry leader so you have instant name recognition and credibility. Safety is a big focus.

    Cons

    Although there is a large corporate structure, Account Managers are given very little specific direction on how to sell our business. Marketing materials and advertising is almost non-existent. If you want to succeed you need to work in 6-7 days a week to overcome inefficiencies in the system (re-work, paperwork). The bonus system created a couple seasons ago is horrible as it is team based, not individual based (penalizes a good employee who is located in a struggling branch).

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Popular Careers with Brickman Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Brickman? Share Your Experiences

Brickman logo
or

Affiliated Companies

BrightView Landscapes, LLC
See all affiliated companies