Brickman "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Brickman Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Aug 13, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
36%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Brickman Chief Executive Officer  Andrew Masterman (no image)
Andrew Masterman
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Huntington, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brickman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always willing to train new and existing employees, Steady work, good benefits, great opportunities for both gaining experience and for advancement.

    Cons

    Long hours in the summer, very focused on hours and dollars, and long winter hours in the northern climates.

    Brickman2015-11-17
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brickman full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay. Good benefits. Good hours

    Cons

    Upper management poor. New regime bad

    Brickman2017-08-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company gone terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supervisor in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brickman

    Pros

    Good benefits and Good experience to move on

    Cons

    Terrible pay, and terrible management. Management has no problem at all promising their employees things they knowingly cannot deliver. Very cut throat and the only thing that matters is getting the most production out of each employee (at any level) for the least amount of money. The usual corporate bottom-line scenario. It's very clear the negative direction this company is heading and talent is leaving everywhere.... The value of the comany's quality of work has significantly changed and it's costing them. Brickman was a great company, Brightview is its fall.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees

    Brickman2016-06-21
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Corp USA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brickman full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Big company, Pretty Good Benefits, you can learn a thing or two if you can connect/relate with the right people

    Cons

    Too large, Too Corporate, lost a lot of good people, culture change is not based on what the founding family believes in. Huge disappointment

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the people that actually know what they are talking about (i.e., have experience) and actually know what they are doing...they may be willing to help you one day when you really need it. Lastly, stop giving crap raises and meaningless excuses as to why people are not getting them. People are not as stupid as you think.

    Brickman2014-09-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very steady and hard working company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Miami Lakes, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brickman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    good benefits, steady work, knowledgeable, good growing opportunities, very recognize company in the market, a very large experience as a landscaping business.

    Cons

    low rate wages, luck of economic incentives different from the salary. The head quarters were not very good,at least in my branch,

    Advice to Management

    Involve the personal, more in the sales of the company, it may bring more economic growth to the company

    Brickman2014-06-17
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Mediocrity is the strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brickman

    Pros

    Strong market branding, stable employment for management, reasonable treatment of staff members, good benefits, good customer base, good equipment,

    Cons

    Marketing inconsistent with what is delivered in field. Unsafe working environment for field crews, check the OSHA data. Not a drug free company. Hours for field can be cut with no notice to meet budget. Poor ethics. Projects often under bid on hours and materials. Lots of people hired have no industry knowledge. Do not pay for travel time to and from jobs in morning and afternoon.

    Advice to Management

    Walk the talk.

    Brickman2013-02-20
  7. "Good company with good work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Controller in Gaithersburg, MD
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brickman

    Pros

    Good benefits, the majority of the individuals in the company are very positive, and very happy working there. Good family atmosphere. Growing company, rapidly expanding into new areas and provides a good opportunity to expand your skills.

    Cons

    Some of the communication could have been handled better. Compensation is somewhat on the low-end compared with other companies in the same geographic area.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication would help.

    Brickman2008-09-02
  8. "Do your best, and little to no questions will be asked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brickman

    Pros

    Good benefits, job security, opportunity.

    Cons

    A lot of pressure, lack of communication

    Brickman2012-07-02
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Practice what you preach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brickman full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, good benefits, stable pay, tons of training and educational opportunities. Brickman has many resources and purchasing power.

    Cons

    Double talk is the standard. "We need to focus on making our client's happy and job quality!" An hour later, "We are going to give you guys 30 hours to work this week to accomplish 65 hours of work...make it happen!" The management at Brickman constantly talks about efficiency, bottom line, communication and building customer loyalty, yet all of our meetings seem to be about how we can cut this or that to hit... budget for the month. It's ok to demand MORE MORE MORE, but there is no incentives for anyone when they hit their goal. Profit sharing keeps going down each year. We never have clear directions from middle and upper management. Clear, concise leaders are a thing of the past here. More and more "lifers" are leaving the company for other opportunities b/c they can't move up in the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take a serious look at the branch managers and regional managers. The message from corporate is not the reality in the branches. I think Brickman has lost touch with its core values, but will deny this to the death and share ONE recent success story of over 5,000 employees to show they still care. I've worked at Brickman for over 3 years and have never seen anyone in upper management even visit a branch in my... entire region! GET OUT THE OFFICE! TALK TO YOUR EMPLOYEES AND STOP MANAGING FROM A SPREADSHEET!

    Show More
    Brickman2012-05-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "It's a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Brickman

    Pros

    Good Benefits are about all that i can think of positive.

    Cons

    I never thought after 20 years in the work place I would ever feel like I work for the weekend but that's what has become of this job.

    Advice to Management

    Look inward for the leadership skills that are missing.

    Brickman2011-09-20
Found 10 reviews