KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Brickman

Part of BrightView
Engaged Employer

Brickman

Add a Review

Brickman Employee Reviews about "people"

Updated Mar 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 of over 201 reviews

2.5
36%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Brickman Chief Executive Officer  Andrew Masterman (no image)
Andrew Masterman
2 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good people to work with at Branch Level!(in 13 reviews)
  • "Good Benefits are about all that i can think of positive.(in 12 reviews)
  • "Flexibility, wearing jeans to work, the branch teams are absolutely amazing people and a pleasure to work with.(in 5 reviews)
  • "The culture has changed.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay makes it hard to retain employees.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Many good contractors have been thoroughly screwed over by Brickman due to the awful management and inability of the area managers to fulfill to promises that they are forced to make.(in 10 reviews)
  • "Many area managers do their best but are often put in impossible situations and the contractors suffer.(in 6 reviews)
  • "No work life balance especially during snow season.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Upper management did not have a clue about what was going on and kept themselves completely seperated from regular employees and never interacted to find encourage people to want to do a good job.(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Used to be great

    Mar 20, 2014 - Many in Many, LA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people in local branches

    Cons

    Corporate greed as consumed this once great company

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Branch manager is a liar

    Apr 9, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some good people who work at field worker level.

    Cons

    Managers are taught by corporate to lie to employees, and they put it into over-drive. Long hours, low pay, no benefits unless you have knee pads and are willing to use them on a constant basis, back-stabbing, micro management...the list goes on and on and on.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    A JOB not a career!

    Feb 15, 2013 - Operations Manager in Phila, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good people to work with at Branch Level! Excellent exmark program, getting new mowers every 2 years.

    Cons

    This is a job not a career for 99% of everyone they hire. They will work you long hours as a salaried employee, and expect you to be grateful for having a job. For anyone with a college degree, this is a job not a career, unless you are buddies, or family members with someone in senior management. They will not tell you this but there are salary caps on positions, so if you start high on the cap, raises will be slim to none. I know of people who had not had a raise in over 5 years. You can work 20 hour days for this company and all you will here about is what you didn't get done.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    landscaping

    Sep 15, 2014 - Crew Member in Morrisville, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They offered good money and I was satisfied with the amount of hours i was given. As a college student it was a solid job, they worked with me on my pay rate and I could choose to work for more money if needed

    Cons

    it was very tough work i worked 10 hours a day in the hot summer environment. I was exhausted after work and many of the people who i worked with did not speak the language I am fluent at

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Hold On Tight, it is Going to be a Long Bumpy Ride

    Aug 21, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you like a big company and structure we are about to get a whole lot bigger, doubling our company's size by buying Valley Crest. I have hard working people at my branch but the branch service quality and people quality vary a lot. We seem to fill most of our top positions with people from other companies so that is a bonus if you don't work here, it is a source of aggrivation for our people.

    Cons

    The last few years at the company have been very different as the Brickman family moved out of ownership. It is like we are on a roller coaster rride but the worst part is you do not know if your car is going to stay on the track. We got a new CEO and he has broughta new CEO and he has broughta new CEO and he has brought in all sorts of new people at the upper upper level. They will push mandates out to us and tell us how to do our job. It is pretty funny thinking that they know how to do my job when they never are on customer's properties. They also push cost cutting on us at the same time that they are zipping around the country in the corporate jet. Work life balance is a joke especially in snow season. The company gets all of that gravy but forgets to spread it around to us little guys. We bought Valley Crest in July and a lot of my peers are really happy about that because they do a really good job and we were excited to think that we will actually merge with Valley Crest. We were let down a week ago when we were told that the head people who ran maintenance for Valley Crest did not get a single spot reorting to our CEO. I guess better together doesn't mean Brickman and Valley Crest, it means Brickman and Brickman or Brickman and anyone else. People in the company want a shot at these great roles and we are constantly getting looked over. Valley Crest people will need to get used to that. Our customers do not like that we are now together as one company because they used us as price checks against each other. This just make us bigger not better. I am in this industry because I love working outside but I am afraid that the big company will be motivated by big bucks and cost cutting.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not the worst place in the world, but has some serious problems.

    May 23, 2016 - Project Administrator in New Albany, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Able to wear jeans to work. Some really great and helpful people work there granted you are in the right department. A few notable managers are very good and will fight for you (luckily mine was one of them).

    Cons

    Quick increase in size caused some headaches for the organization. Processes can be very slow and cumbersome. Some management individuals had no business being seniors. Verticals are very hit and miss quality wise. Work life balance can be a huge issue if you are an area manager. Any issues result in a "blame game" between departments. Can't really trust certain seniors.

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    This Company has lost its way

    Apr 16, 2015 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits are great compared to other industry companies. Co-workers are generally great and create a fun work environment, but it has almost become an us against them mentality when referencing upper management.

    Cons

    where do i start... This used to be a great company, but since the investment group buyout and valleycrest merger it has gone completely downhill. Upper-Management consists entirely of business people with no landscape industry knowledge whatsoever. So now it is all about profit with no understanding of where the profit comes from. When this company was owned by Scott Brickman it really felt like a family. Despite the lower than average pay you could be happy with your job because everyone was treated with respect and made to feel like a member of a team. Now, there is no clear direction given from management. you are told to hit your numbers, but not given the support or resources to do so. Company pays its general labor total crap money, so there is constant turnover and you are basically told to just do more with less.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Young Grads/Recruits, heed the warnings;they are all true

    Apr 10, 2013 -  in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    At this day and age, it is a start for those out of college who have little other options unfortunately.

    Cons

    Mark my words, if the region i work in is any indication of what the rest of company is doing then get ready to be sold out. Top line revenue generation is not a priority any longer. In the Midwest there is leadership at the helm that harps on cutting overhead and good employees. This is not a relationship and sales minded bunch and it starts at the top with Regional Mgrs, who are lemmings at best. RMs dont even know how to estimate work and proceed to hack away at maintenance contract margin and then cheat the customer at 60% gross margin and above on upgrades. This is a dishonest and scared group of employees who do not know how to manage good people. As a result morale couldnt be poorer at this time. i and many others are only biding time until we can find a more rewarding and respectful company who cares about those who helped to build it. Watch as the CEO beefs up bottom line by cutting out overhead, makes it look attractive and then walks away with huge money.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good place to work.

    Aug 7, 2013 - Account Manager in Media, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Change is good. Good people. Hard workers. Result driven. Quality work. Moving towards bringing decades of knowledge and processes up to the times.

    Cons

    Some good people have left. Change is hard. Not everyone is happy about the changes that are being made or completely clear as to what the changes will be. Rough economy hit the non essential services first...including landscaping.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 44 Reviews

Popular Careers with Brickman Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Brickman? Share Your Experiences

Brickman logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Affiliated Companies

BrightView Landscapes, LLC

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Brickman Job Seekers Also Viewed

ValleyCrest Companies Logo
ValleyCrest Companies

2.7

114 Reviews
Compare