KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Brickman

Part of BrightView
Is this your company?

Brickman

Add a Review

Brickman Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jun 14, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 202 reviews

2.5
36%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Brickman Chief Executive Officer  Andrew Masterman (no image)
Andrew Masterman
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and Good experience to move on(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good people at the branch level(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long Hours sometimes from 5:30 AM to 6:00 P(in 11 reviews)

  • "No work life balance especially during snow season(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Crew Member

      Aug 20, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible, would work with you if you needed time off

      Cons

      Bad pay, bad/unqualified management, not a good work life balance

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Killed the Goose that laid the Golden Egg

      Jun 14, 2016 - Account Manager in Silver Spring, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, wearing jeans to work, the branch teams are absolutely amazing people and a pleasure to work with.

      Cons

      No work-life balance. Corporate has "too many chiefs and not enough Indians". Corporate isn't in touch with what is going on at the branch level. Corporate departments push too many spreadsheets onto the branches without recognizing or being aware of what other corporate departments are already asking the branches to complete. It's shifted from providing a "quality product" to watching the bottom-line; therefore, quality has seriously declined. It's sad because Brickman used to be such an AMAZING company. BrightView has certainly killed the goose that was laying the golden egg. Absolutely sad.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not the worst place in the world, but has some serious problems.

      May 23, 2016 - Project Administrator in New Albany, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Able to wear jeans to work. Some really great and helpful people work there granted you are in the right department. A few notable managers are very good and will fight for you (luckily mine was one of them).

      Cons

      Quick increase in size caused some headaches for the organization. Processes can be very slow and cumbersome. Some management individuals had no business being seniors. Verticals are very hit and miss quality wise. Work life balance can be a huge issue if you are an area manager. Any issues result in a "blame game" between departments. Can't really trust certain seniors.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Going in the wrong direction

      Jan 16, 2016 - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people at the branch level. You get a company car, I phone, I pad and laptop if your in account management or higher

      Cons

      Poor wages, poor work life balance and quality of work is starting to get out of control. Instead of servicing the clients, upper management is more concerned with the hours reports and material spend, rather than the product they put out. They want you to do more with less and will cut corners (aka not provide contracted services) to hit profit goals. They are bringing in all kinds of corporate "big wigs" to become some sort of "academy company" but the people they hire are not familiar with the products or landscape industry, only competent at looking at spreadsheets. Everyone that used to work for Brickman or valley crest are being replaced by Aramark executives. I could go on and on with the cons as there are too many to list. Get out while you can and work for someone who cares about the products, employees and clients.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Area Manager

      Jun 12, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in New Albany, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are great to work with. Growing organization with great potential to become the biggest facility maintenance companies in the country. Great Benefits package.

      Cons

      No work life balance especially during snow season. Executive Team is constantly making process changes without input from the people who do the job every day. Communication across the organization is non existent. Company does not treat vendors with the respect and courtesy you would treat a business partner with. For example, Company has no problem hiring vendors to perform emergency snow removal services with just a phone call, but when it comes to pay them the company buries them in paperwork that is required in order to get paid.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Over worked under paid

      Dec 9, 2014 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility of schedule, 401k plan

      Cons

      Pay,work/life balance, hours, untrained operations team

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Hold On Tight, it is Going to be a Long Bumpy Ride

      Aug 21, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you like a big company and structure we are about to get a whole lot bigger, doubling our company's size by buying Valley Crest. I have hard working people at my branch but the branch service quality and people quality vary a lot. We seem to fill most of our top positions with people from other companies so that is a bonus if you don't work here, it is a source of aggrivation for our people.

      Cons

      The last few years at the company have been very different as the Brickman family moved out of ownership. It is like we are on a roller coaster rride but the worst part is you do not know if your car is going to stay on the track. We got a new CEO and he has brought in all sorts of new people at the upper upper level. They will push mandates out to us and tell us how to do our job. It is pretty funny thinking that they know how to do my job when they never are on customer's properties. They also push cost cutting on us at the same time that they are zipping around the country in the corporate jet. Work life balance is a joke especially in snow season. The company gets all of that gravy but forgets to spread it around to us little guys. We bought Valley Crest in July and a lot of my peers are really happy about that because they do a really good job and we were excited to think that we will actually merge with Valley Crest. We were let down a week ago when we were told that the head people who ran maintenance for Valley Crest did not get a single spot reorting to our CEO. I guess better together doesn't mean Brickman and Valley Crest, it means Brickman and Brickman or Brickman and anyone else. People in the company want a shot at these great roles and we are constantly getting looked over. Valley Crest people will need to get used to that. Our customers do not like that we are now together as one company because they used us as price checks against each other. This just make us bigger not better. I am in this industry because I love working outside but I am afraid that the big company will be motivated by big bucks and cost cutting.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Senior management is running the company into the ground. Scapegoats are a hot commodity.

      Apr 11, 2014 - Area Manager in New Albany, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some very good people who work at BFS, mostly at the lower levels. There's also a deli on the first floor of the building that has really good food.

      Cons

      There are some great people who work at the Brickman Facilities Solutions corporate office in New Albany, OH. Unfortunately for the organization, none of those people are in upper management. The company has great potential, but their business model consists of selling any contract the sales team can get their hands on regardless of whether the company can really service it or not, then blaming the operations team for failing to service the contract to the customer's often impossible expectations and getting off scot-free, only to repeat the process until enough contracts have been lost that a layoff is needed. Time and again the operations team is put in no-win situations where it is nearly impossible to do one's job, then the blame from the people who put the regional and area managers in those situations is quick to come. Of course it's the lower-level people who get laid off, not the senior management who caused the situation in the first place with their incompetence. There is no consistency or sense of direction from upper management. Many a time I watched in disbelief as two or more senior managers would discuss a procedure or policy and fail to come to a decision, leaving the area managers with no clear directive on how to handle a situation which resulted in many things falling through the cracks and never getting done. There are no standard operating procedures at BFS; area managers are usually forced to guess on what to do in all kinds of situations, which of course results in chaos. There is also nearly no hope of promotion within the company. Nearly all positions are filled from outside regardless of the qualifications of the people already working at the company. Not exactly a good message from senior management. During the summer slow season the work/life balance is decent to good depending on what accounts you're working as some customers are more demanding than others, but during winter throw your plans out the door because you're going to do nothing but work. Management does their best to ruthlessly exploit their salaried employees, with 12+ hour days in the office followed by several more hours of working at home being the norm and expectation for no extra compensation of any kind. Comp time is a running joke among the area managers as management occasionally talks about it when prompted but refuses to follow through. If you work really hard, they might send a cart around to give everyone a cookie or bring doughnuts in, but that's about it. Emails and phone calls are nearly continuous no matter the time of day, so don't bother trying to sleep because you're just going to get another phone call or high priority email with the next gigantic crisis in a few minutes. Senior management also has no backbone of any kind and refuses to stand up to customers who try to weasel their way out of their contract or make demands that are clearly impossible to meet. They simply pass the demands down to the area managers with a shrug and then conveniently blame them when the impossible cannot be done, setting the stage for justifying another layoff. Since management's goal seems to be the artificial inflation of the size of the company by selling any contract they can whether it's good business or not, giving support to the operations team is not a high priority. During my time at Brickman a contract was sold that our billing system was not built to handle, but the sales team sold it anyway and senior management made no attempt to modify the system so that both Brickman and our contractors out servicing the sites could be paid, creating mass chaos since no one could get paid for their work. Typically, blame was then placed on the operations team for not servicing the contract correctly. At the time I left the company which was two months into the contract, not a single contractor had been paid for their work because the system was still not working correctly. If you are a contractor looking to work for BFS, please save yourself the trouble and don't bother. Many area managers do their best but are often put in impossible situations and the contractors suffer. Ridiculous demands from customers and problems getting payments to contractors are constant issues that cannot be permanently solved due to the lack of support that the area managers get from upper management. Area managers are forced to use archaic systems and procedures that are often redundant or don't work much of the time, resulting in endless problems getting payments to the contractors. Upper management is also only too happy to acquiesce to the demands of customers to lower their price, resulting in pay cuts for contractors while the scope of their work is increased, especially on fixed fee contracts where some customers expect their sites to look like multi-million dollar mansions but will only pay for the basic landscape service that the contract states but upper management refuses to hold the customers to the contract. Many good contractors have been thoroughly screwed over by Brickman due to the awful management and inability of the area managers to fulfill to promises that they are forced to make. Hopefully this long post is helpful to someone who is looking to be an area manager and gives them a realistic idea of what working at the BFS corporate office is like. It is a high turnover, high-stress, thankless position with little probability of advancement and no hope of extra compensation for the huge number of hours you must put into the job just to keep your head above water. Wages are poor for the amount of work required and getting burned out is nearly guaranteed. Don't expect anything but hypocrisy, empty promises, cynical manipulation and petty politics from upper management. I would only recommend this job to someone I really hated so I could watch them suffer in sadistic amusement.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Unethical company, NOT a workplace i would recomend

      Nov 1, 2013 - Maintenance Supervisor in Avon, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, little to no supervision

      Cons

      No work life balance, management is 'honesty challenged', unfulfilled promised from managment, high turnover, rampet drug use among crew memebers, constant change in directives

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Brickman Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Brickman? Share Your Experiences

    Brickman logo
    or