Brides by Demetrios Reviews | Glassdoor

Brides by Demetrios Reviews

Updated May 29, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 reviews

1.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
18%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
James Elias
20 Ratings
  1. "The Best Company Ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brides by Demetrios

    Pros

    Working with beautiful gowns and giving a wonderful experience to everyone who walks in. Company is only as good as their employees, the higher the sales the more the company can do for you.

    Cons

    There are no cons, the company is alway behind you and the problems providing you are doing what you can do maintain the integrity of the company. Stand alone stores is the ticket to not having to answer to anyone but our employer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, it is hard but with loyal employees you will be a winner.

    Brides by Demetrios2016-09-18
  2. "Not the bridal paradise you might imagine."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brides by Demetrios full-time

    Pros

    My store manager was awesome, loved her! Seeing bridal fashion Working with brides and meeting new people

    Cons

    Unrealistic sales goals Little help from corporate Angry customers Little room for advancement No raises

    Advice to Management

    This company was poorly run in my opinion. I definitely saw some unethical things happen here and customer service problems arose from money issues stemming from poor corporate management. Often times we were left dealing with these customer service issues that were out of our control but would receive no help or support from corporate. It was hard at times to even get excited about selling things because you were afraid...

    Show More
    Brides by Demetrios2018-05-29
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brides by Demetrios full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Brides were sometimes fun to work with, if you enjoyed your employees that could be fun as well

    Cons

    Unorganized from day one, had to lie to brides all the time, was at a location that closed all of a sudden and could not tell brides we were closing and were told to still take orders, cold calling the same list of brides weekly

    Advice to Management

    Corporate needs help

    Brides by Demetrios2017-11-10
  4. "Lots of Lessons Learned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brides by Demetrios part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a great manager at my store, she was absolutely wonderful and really worked with everyone to get a schedule that worked for her employees. The dresses are beautiful and well-made, at good prices. I learned a lot about the wedding industry in this position.

    Cons

    The pay was not worth the stress of angry brides, bridesmaids, and parents. Corporate would often fail to pay the vendors so they can send dresses to our stores for bridal parties, leading to dresses arriving extremely shortly (see: 1 week to 2 days) before the wedding and lots of stress for customers and for staff. Corporate was constantly on our back to do more sales but did not allow us to participate in bridal shows...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your staff and your vendors on time. Support your store managers more. Pay your employees more.

    Brides by Demetrios2017-10-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Just Don't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bridal Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brides by Demetrios full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get the chance to help some really nice brides

    Cons

    Boring work environment, Doesn't pay well, not much room to grow in the company, unorganized, cheaply made dresses (beads will fall off),does not represent different ethnicity's, only white models in the dresses, does not make a good selection for plus size brides.

    Advice to Management

    Only manage if you believe in the product, don't stress out your team because you're unhappy with your status.

    Brides by Demetrios2017-11-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Work Ethics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brides by Demetrios full-time

    Pros

    Working with the brides and bridal parties. The salon was beautifully set up compared to what other salons looked like. The medical benefit coverage wasn't as bad.

    Cons

    The manager is a control freak and micro manages the salon. She was very unprofessional and meddled into employees personal business. Management also provoked situations with brides in return brides did not want to deal with her or conduct business when she was present in salon and in leu of that brides complained on bridal websites such as theknot. Caused physical harm onto me as a consultant and has shouted at fellow...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees in the salons and don't sarcastically brush off concerns. Change the way you conduct business and fire managers who do not deliver great customer service. It reflects on the business and sales. Get the product delivered on time. Ultimately look from within and don't just give a pat on the back for people who abuse their power.

    Brides by Demetrios2017-04-26
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Worst job I've ever had."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brides by Demetrios

    Pros

    The only pro, singular, are the people you meet. There are so many amazing families that come in with brides and it was an honor to help them however I could.

    Cons

    Management. They don't keep track of all of your hours. They don't pay you for all of your hours. They don't keep up with commission. You can't move up in the company. It's family owned and they only care about themselves.

    Advice to Management

    Get new management.

    Brides by Demetrios2017-02-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Never again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brides by Demetrios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy money. The brides most of the time

    Cons

    The corporate, the managers, the standards

    Advice to Management

    Don't screw over your brides by giving out floor samples when they purchase a new one and are led to believe they are new

    Brides by Demetrios2016-12-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Brides by Demetrios

      Pros

      You get to work in a beautiful environment

      Cons

      You never get time with your family. This company looses great people because they don't make sure they have a work/life balance

      Advice to Management

      Don't over work your team until they have nothing left.

      Brides by Demetrios2016-08-23
    • Helpful (3)

      "It's not like Say Yes to the Dress"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Brides by Demetrios full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Sometimes you get to help brides find the gown of their dreams. It sounds like a cool job when you tell people that you work in a bridal store.

      Cons

      The upper management team is never on the consultant's side no matter what. Brides are not held to their contract per upper management, but then consultants get in trouble for it. NOTHING is ever on time--wedding gowns, bridesmaids dresses, veils, accessories, etc., and upper management just tells consultants to "take it one day at a time" because they can't pay their bills to release merchandise in a timely manner!...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Do better. Get merchandise in on time. Stop creating ugly dresses and being angry at consultants for not being able to sell outdated styles. Pay your bills.

      Brides by Demetrios2016-09-18
    Found 33 reviews