Bridgewater Associates "smart people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Bridgewater Associates Employee Reviews about "smart people"

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
57%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Bridgewater Associates CEO Ray Dalio
Ray Dalio
218 Ratings
Pros
  • "Challenging, surrounded by smart people(in 52 reviews)

  • "Incredible Benefits (401k, Medical, Free-Food, Transportation, Meditation rooms)(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "no work life balance, if you don’t drink the kool-aid (culture) you are out(in 28 reviews)

  • "Long hours, difficult to move beyond the curve(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "smart people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Not for everyone but it's great for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewater Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging, surrounded by smart people

    Cons

    Hierarchy still exists, it just has a new face. Wold say the meritocracy is still in it's toddler years

    Bridgewater Associates2019-02-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Engineer in Westport, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewater Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Some incredibly smart people - Principles are good at the conceptual level - Good exposure to investment materials

    Cons

    - Poor implementation of processes and tools around the Principles - Not the best place to grow as an engineer - Horrible commute from NYC, even with the buses this is painful

    Bridgewater Associates2019-09-18
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Incredible place for the exact right personality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Westport, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewater Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great comp, smart people, can create wlb in some roles

    Cons

    Environment toxic if you’re not wired just so

    Advice to Management

    Scrutinize the principles in action - a couple of them may just work for Ray and not be playing out well for the people at large

    Bridgewater Associates2019-08-14
  4. Helpful (26)

    "Pretty horrible, stay away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Westport, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewater Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of smart people and good pay, but you work your butt off and have lots of free stress, so make sure they are paying you more than any “regular” job. I would not look at anything more than double your current pay.

    Cons

    Needlessly combative and juvenile. All situations turn into cases with personal attracts aplenty, especially by the druids of the firm, those who’ve been there for more than a year. People act like they want to help, but that’s only bc they want a way to make themselves look better. Knowing what I know now, I would not recommend this place to my enemy. I repeat: stay away.

    Advice to Management

    Change. Develop an actual culture, not a bs system that encourages bulling and combativeness.

    Bridgewater Associates2019-02-18
  5. Helpful (2)

    "This was an interesting experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewater Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of smart people and you get to learn a lot

    Cons

    There is work and you need to stay on top of it

    Bridgewater Associates2019-01-12
  6. Helpful (4)

    "One of many"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Bridgewater Associates full-time

    Pros

    Smart people, lots of free food

    Cons

    Too many to share. Be wary

    Bridgewater Associates2018-12-17
  7. Helpful (8)

    "On this island of “truth” prepare to be outwitted, outsmarted or outplayed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewater Associates full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Smart people, potential for interesting work in some areas

    Cons

    Smart people doing stupid things, the feeling you’re in a bad remake of 1984

    Advice to Management

    Seriously?

    Bridgewater Associates2018-10-03
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Enjoyed my time there, but make sure you know what you're getting into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Associate in Westport, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewater Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people, interesting problems, core of 'honesty' culture good.

    Cons

    Weaker on diversity, gender issues. Culture training can add a lot of overhead.

    Bridgewater Associates2018-08-10
  9. "Internship Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Investment Associate Intern in Bridgeport, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewater Associates for less than a year

    Pros

    Filled with smart people who know what they are doing. Culture is very open and you get constructive feedback quickly. Lots of IP that you can learn and use.

    Cons

    Culture is not for everyone and is hard to get used to. Difficult to switch teams or apply techniques that aren't okayed by your seniors.

    Advice to Management

    Give more flexibility to employees in terms of projects and careers. Also, invest more into the technical foundations of employees. Investment class in the first year is not enough and not rigorous

    Bridgewater Associates2018-05-21
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Management Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management Associate in Westport, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bridgewater Associates full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overall a wonderful place to build a career. Incredibly smart people in a culture that invests heavily in deep, honest relationships. Huge ability to add value and take on impactful roles a few years out of college. As an MA, one can also work in different departments and learn about the various components of the business - I am really learning how to be a good general manager. The new CEO's are very focused on... improving the employee experience by working on initiatives such as mobility, diversity & inclusion etc.

    Show More

    Cons

    Location (Westport,Ct). Some of the growing pains of any company (balancing checks/audits that can come across as bureaucratic while encouraging entrepreneurial behavior). Approach to developing talent is organic (vs programmatic and explicit) which can result in inconsistent experiences depending on the quality of one's manager.

    Bridgewater Associates2017-08-12
Found 52 reviews