Bridgewell Resources Reviews | Glassdoor

Bridgewell Resources Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.0
24%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Bridgewell Resources CEO Patrick McCauley (no image)
Patrick McCauley
2 Ratings
  1. "Great People, Great Work, Great Upward mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Bridgewell Resources full-time

    Pros

    Great People, Great Work, Great Upward mobility

    Cons

    Results oriented, sometimes narrow focused. bad location

    Continue reading
    Bridgewell Resources2017-07-07
  2. "Train people. Stop being a boys club of Traders."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Tigard, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewell Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are competitive for the field. Met some really nice people. For the most part people are nice.

    Cons

    Traders/ Salesman need to be more professional. We understand they are out making the sales for the business, but that doesn't mean they can be rude, demeaning, use cursewords and racial epithets . ( This isn't all traders, just in general ) No training. Sink or swim in a very fast paced and stressful environment. I'd seen alot of good people come and go. You are expected to be answering emails and phone calls nights , weekends and even on vacation time. Never hear a word when giving 100% and making things happen. Screw one thing up ( or just be percieved to have messed up) and you will know. Dont try to explain or have a conversation. You'll be told they're to busy to discuss the problem or try to troubleshoot then they walk away to talk sports or golf for 20 minutes. Lots of scapegoating. If you arent a trader or upper management you are disposable. HR is NOT there for the employees, only the company. Simple mediation or conversations could save alot of grief. I never happens though . Almost everyone is stretched thin and stressed to the point that it's tough to help eachother out. Very much CYOA .

    Continue reading
    Bridgewell Resources2020-02-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Wouldn't Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Fife, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewell Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Salary and non upper management was always willing to help me out or help me find something to do since I never really had training for the particular role I was assigned

    Cons

    I was brought onboard into a "created" position. There were no defined requirements for the role of Production Coordinator. The little training received was due to me seeking out work to do so I wasn't sitting idle all day. My "supervisor" was so focused on his own stuff that he had no time to work with me or fully train me on what I was supposed to be doing day to day. In time (2 months) I was brought aside and let go with reasoning being, "cut-backs" I wouldn't recommend this job to someone I disliked. The supposed upper management takes zero responsibility. When I was let go of, no one had the backbone to come to my office while I was cleaning it out so say anything to me. This company is a slowly sinking ship and looking back now, it was a blessing that I was let go of.

    Continue reading
    Bridgewell Resources2020-02-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible, unprofessional and unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Contractor Direct Division 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Bridgewell Resources full-time

    Pros

    A steady paycheck The friends I made

    Cons

    Upper and middle managers are gossipy and condescending. Management thrives off of humiliating other people and only cares about appearances in front of the traders. The sexism is out of control. Traders refer to female project managers and assistants as "girls". In trader-speak, "sharing a girl" means one project manager or assistant will manage projects for two traders. Nothing is done to stop this, and if you dared to complain you would be perceived as a whistleblower and slowly pushed out. I also heard numerous racist, homophobic, and politically charged comments. Everything is based off of favoritism. Poor communication between different teams. Very few consistent policies or procedures. People are generally scared to ask questions or stick their neck out in any way because doing so will result in being ridiculed by management. Double standard on work-life balance. The traders can watch YouTube, golf and ski all day while everyone else is expected to work through vacations, family emergencies, doctors appointments, etc. Leaving was one of the best decisions of my life.

    Continue reading
    Bridgewell Resources2019-09-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Just another boys club - run, don’t walk, from this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tigard, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewell Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My commute wasn’t bad Worked with some humorous people

    Cons

    This is all based on the Contractor Direct division. The rest of Bridgewell is great. Minus Human Resources. “Team building” events that were heavily driven by alcohol, which I guess is a good way to forget you’re working for this company. The vacation package wasn’t that bad, based on hours accrued. But good luck having a vacation free from work communication. Cult like followers. Caused mental health to deteriorate. Couldn’t go to the doctor/counseling because God forbid you leave to go to a doctors appointment during the 10+ hours you’re there every day. Severely underpaid for the position/title. Good luck not getting interrupted/talked over if you’re a woman. You’re only purpose is to assist.l and be quiet. Heard derogatory and racist things daily on the sales floor. Work life balance? Bridgewell doesn’t believe in that. Archaic company. Really needs to get with at least the early 2000’s to appeal to anyone who isn’t a baby boomer. Glad I got out when I did. Seems like a sinking ship.

    Continue reading
    Bridgewell Resources2019-09-25
  6. "Clueless CEO and ownership in Atlas."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trader/Executive Team in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewell Resources full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You can make a ton of money but you better be aggressive and take care of yourself and align with the right person/group internally. It’s defiantly a good old boy system and some of the good ol boys are worthless as business minds and the like. Particularly in the roles of CFO and CEO in the era I left. This company was worth it until about 2010. Since it’s days are numbered.

    Cons

    You have to deal with the ignorance of atlas and their hand picked clueless management team they set in roles they aren’t remotely qualified for. I’ve heard the main one has moved on which is positive but Atlas has destroyed the company. Unfortunate.

    Continue reading
    Bridgewell Resources2019-07-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fast Paced, Learn A Lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commodity Trader in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewell Resources full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Experienced teams in a sometimes fast-paced environment. Supportive management and coworkers.

    Cons

    For some it may be a little overwhelming. Work hard play hard style company.

    Bridgewell Resources2019-04-17
  8. "Challenging and rewarding workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewell Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Variety everyday, never get bored. Employees and managers are helpful and supportive. Fun and casual environment. Great group of people in the various departments. Good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Has a tendency to be fast-paced.

    Continue reading
    Bridgewell Resources2019-04-17
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Sink or swim....mostly sink."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bridgewell Resources full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent Pay Incentives to better lifestyle Health Challenges Fairly OK with time off for personal reasons Great co-workers

    Cons

    ZERO training Expectations through the roof VERY gossipy - Especially from management Adaptation time is also ZERO Day 1 they give you stuff to do...but don't really show you how to do it "Good Ol' Boys Club" atmosphere Very Cliquey...and they will make sure you know you are OUT Medium turnover

    Continue reading
    Bridgewell Resources2019-02-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic and Misogynistic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Bridgewell Resources full-time

    Pros

    Free coffee, occasional free lunches, and they allow time off for health and personal issues. Sometimes they hold an afternoon event like bowling or golf.

    Cons

    No structured training, sink or swim environment. HR is ineffective and seemingly only there for firing people, not helping. Lack of communication even within teams and people going around processes consistently creates chaos. Just a boys club. No female traders, only female admin. Traders are allowed to do or say anything. I heard epithets daily for people of different races or with mental disabilities. You have to be a yes man or woman to be successful here. Very gossipy and catty environment that lacks ethics. Customers have credits they're not given. Greed and ego are the driving forces here. It's like high school.

    Continue reading
    Bridgewell Resources2018-08-07
Found 16 reviews